Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.887661

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth's fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai's, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world's future.

Marissa Meyer on Cinder, writing, and leading men
Which of your characters is most like you?
I wish I could say that I'm clever and mechanically-minded like Cinder, but no―I can't fix anything. I'm much more like Cress, who makes a brief cameo in Cinder and then takes a more starring role in the third book. She's a romantic and a daydreamer and maybe a little on the naïve side―things that could be said about me too―although she does find courage when it's needed most. I think we'd all like to believe we'd have that same inner strength if we ever needed it.
Where do you write?
I have a home office that I've decorated with vintage fairy tale treasures that I've collected (my favorite is a Cinderella cookie jar from the forties) and NaNoWriMo posters, but sometimes writing there starts to feel too much like work. On those days I'll write in bed or take my laptop out for coffee or lunch.
If you were stranded on a desert island, which character from Cinder would you want with you?
Cinder, definitely! She has an internet connection in her brain, complete with the ability to send and receive comms (which are similar to e-mails). We'd just have enough time to enjoy some fresh coconut before we were rescued.
The next book in the Lunar Chronicles is called Scarlet, and is about Little Red Riding Hood. What is appealing to you most about this character as you work on the book?
Scarlet is awesome―she's very independent, a bit temperamental, and has an outspokenness that tends to get her in trouble sometimes. She was raised by her grandmother, an ex-military pilot who now owns a small farm in southern France, who not only taught Scarlet how to fly a spaceship and shoot a gun, but also to have a healthy respect and appreciation for nature. I guess that's a lot of things that appeal to me about her, but she's been a really fun character to write! (The two leading men in Scarlet, Wolf and Captain Thorne, aren't half bad either.)

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250007208
ISBN-13: 9781250007209
146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ragestargate7
    ragestargate7Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 2:07 pm55 starsFeatured
    This book is incredible. Marissa Meyer puts her own spin on the classic tale of Cinderella with Cinder. It is a futuristic and (slightly) dystopian fiction novel. The story follows Cinder, a looked down upon, abused, and bullied cyborg. When the prince meets her and develops a crush for her, her life is turned upside down. The death of her only human friend and step-sister steels her resolve to escape. To find somewhere to live happily. Her jealous, angry, and heart broken step-mother volunteers her to be tested for a deadly disease, which only the Lunar people of Luna holds the cure. Lunars are humanoid looking creatures who can control people and change their appearance at will. Upon learning she is immune, and that there is a plot to kill the prince after his decision to enter into a doomed one-sided marriage alliance with the ruthless queen of Luna, Levana, she sacrifices her safety to save him. Her only companion is a lovable, loyal, prince smitten android named Iko desperate to be human. Her only weapons are her brain, metal fist, and sharp tongue. Cider succeeds in slowing the announcement of the engagement, but learns a shocking secret. A DNA test reveals that she isn't human. She is a Lunar who's gift had been suppressed. Gaining access to her powers comes at a cost. She is the missing princess and the rightful heir to the Lunar throne!! Marissa Meyer is a wonderful author, who will leave you reading all 4 books in the Lunar Chronicles time and time again.
    • sweetcheese
      sweetcheeseSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 9:39 pm
      My mom and cousins keep talkin about it, so I want to read it
      • beachbreeze14
        beachbreeze14Friday, March 8, 2019 at 7:36 am55 starsFeatured
        I mean, wow! Marissa Meyer just transformed the classic, childish Cinderella tale into an amazing novel that seems like a mixture of action, fantasy, sci-fi, and romance all-in-one! Based in the future after WWIIII in New Beijing, 16-year-old Cinder, her cruel stepmother Adri, her stepsisters Pearl and Peony (who is the only one that is remotely nice to Cinder), and a spunky android named Iko struggle to survive under overcrowded conditions while a deadly plague ravages the city: leutemosis. However, there is one more twist you need to know--Cinder is a cyborg due to a car crash that killed her parents, but that she also remembers nothing about. Although she is shamed for her metal hand and leg, the cybornetics in her brain have made Cinder the best mechanic in all of New Beijing, and it is in her mechanic booth that she attracts the attention of a certain (very handsome) Prince and soon-to-be-Emperor, Kaito (Kai). And since this IS still a Cinderella story, of course Adri had to go and do something as horrible as send Cinder off to a facility that test leutemosis cures, none of which have been successful i might add, on cyborgs. But then, why doesn't she get sick after the leutemosis is injected into her? Read the book yourself to find out more about the mysterious Dr. Erland, another whole race of mind-controlling people who live on the moon--Lunars--and their tyrannic queen, why Cinder is immune to leutemosis, and a death that will send you reeling. Trust me, you will be begging for the next book in the series as soon as you finish this one!
        • bookstory13
          bookstory13Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 1:15 pm55 stars
          I loved your review beachbreeze14!! Especially the part about begging for the next book! It's totally true! I could really hear your personality in your review!
          • beachbreeze14
            beachbreeze14Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at 6:56 am55 stars
            Aww thanks a ton! I'm pretty sure yours is still better tho ;) You're a great writer!!!!!
        • bookstory13
          bookstory13Thursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:31 pm55 starsFeatured
          Think you know Cinderella? Think again. Enter Cinder. Cinder lives in futuristic New Beijing, after the fourth world war. And *BING* Cinder is a cyborg. She is 36.64 (or something like that) NOT human. She remembers nothing from before the accident. The blinding, searing pain. The crash. The splintered bones. She emerges with a metal leg, metal hand, and toughened personality. Now Cinder is sixteen. The Queen of the Lunars (or people from the moon) is ready and waiting to take over Earth. A deadly disease is spreading through New Beijing. And cyborgs are being sacrificed to find the cure. When Adri, Cinder's evil stepmother (and one of the only things that makes this remotely like the story of Cinderella), volunteers her for "testing". Cinder knows she won't live through it. But then a miracle happens. Cinder is immune to the disease! But she's more special than that...deadly special. *DUN DUN DUN* And the plot thickens from there! You'll have to read the book (a very amazing book, might I add!) to find out more! Okay, now to why I love this book. I love the EXCELLENT plot. Marissa Meyer did the best job of writing! This is officially on my top three list! The book Cinder was filled with absolutely NO language, and had no inappropriate scenes. It sparked my imagination and left me wanting to read more! I would give this book (if I could) FIFTEEN out of five! I love it!!!! --BKS reviews
          • shootingstars
            shootingstarsFriday, January 11, 2019 at 10:14 am
            What an amazing review @bookstory13!
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Friday, January 11, 2019 at 6:05 pm55 stars
              Thanks so much! It was truly an awesome, amazing, wonderfully surprising and fast-paced book! I would recommend it to all ages! I LOVED IT! 😍
            • ajg16
              ajg16Friday, January 11, 2019 at 9:49 am44 stars
              @Bookstory13 - Amazing Review! Written perfectly great job on your editors pick!
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Friday, January 11, 2019 at 6:06 pm55 stars
                I was reading through my review, and I mentally banged my head. I forgot the % sign after 36.64! Lol!
            • ajg16
              ajg16Saturday, December 22, 2018 at 8:03 pm44 stars
              This book blew me away, I cannot wait to read the rest of this series
              • GRFBTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 2:18 pm
                This book is by far the worst book I have ever read which is really ironic considering the fact I've read some awful ones. The plot twists in this book is just down right bad. It ends on a bad cliff hanger that doesn't want for more or make me want to read the second book. The book takes Cinderella and gets rid of everything that makes it a classic fairy tale. The overall lack of detail also doesn't help its case. And the villain doesn't get introduced in person early enough to allow us to enjoy her. Its opening is subpar and the only decent part is the ball. Loving books so much it's a mystery to me on why anyone would like this one
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Thursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:20 pm55 stars
                  Are you kidding? This was the best book ever! I loved the plot twists (except for Peony!) and I really want to read the second book because of the cliff hanger at the end! She ISN'T Cinderella, she's just Cinder. Just Cinder. She's not a fairy tale, she's not a fair maiden. She's a tough, smart, caring street girl who isn't afraid to get dirty (like grease). I think Queen Lavana got introduced just in time! If the author wanted us to know more of her, he would keep the story going. All in all, I loved this book! It was the best I have read for a long time!
                • queen_luna
                  queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 4:36 pm55 stars
                  This a a fantastic book! It takes the old Cinderella fairy tale that everyone loves and gives it an exciting reboot that is sure to have you on the edge of your seat. This book is a captivating mix of adventure and romance that leaves you breathless and begging for more. Cinder's character is an inspiring figure for people of all ages.
                  • girlpower4ever
                    girlpower4everSaturday, October 27, 2018 at 1:39 pm55 stars
                    This is an awesome book and retelling/spinoff of the classical fairytale, Cinderella. In this amazing text, Cinder, though a robot, fights her own feelings. She can't be in love with Prince Kai, can she? She has other things to worry about--such as the fact that Adri, her owner, hints that she wants to give Cinder away for letumosis testing. Chock-full of adventure, emotions, romance, and mystery, I give this book a 100 out of 5 stars!!
                    • esquay
                      esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                      I like Cinder but hate Kai.
                      • linhcinder
                        linhcinderMonday, July 23, 2018 at 10:43 am55 stars
                        This book is so great. There is lot of adventure but also amazing romance. I really recommend this book.

                        Our Apps and Plugins