Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2048 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • willowfalls
    willowfallsMonday, June 29, 2020 at 1:53 pm55 stars
    this is the best book ever! (not personal) J.K Rowling never makes me feel, like , GET ON WITH THE STORY!!!! or like yeah, yeah. got it. hurry up, now. this book is a great book
    • willowfalls
      willowfallsMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:29 am55 stars
      this is a really, really, really great book I love when Hagrid busts down the door. I highly recommend this series!!!!!
      • lovelightning
        lovelightningSunday, June 28, 2020 at 8:11 pm55 stars
        love the movies and the books
        • wdwuniversal
          wdwuniversalSunday, June 28, 2020 at 5:24 pm55 stars
          This is the first book of the Harry Potter series. Harry discovered his past, which was hidden from home for more than a decade. If you want to read the Harry Potter series, you have to start with this.
          • unicornsprinkle
            unicornsprinkleFriday, June 26, 2020 at 11:31 pm55 stars
            Great books in the series and movies love them all
            • jackson613
              jackson613Friday, June 26, 2020 at 8:57 pm55 stars
              we all like harry potter and it is a great book
              • xxtashaxx
                xxtashaxxThursday, June 25, 2020 at 3:58 pm55 stars
                I absolutely LOVE this book. I gave this book five stars because it hooks you in and never once made me bored with it, it is also very descriptive (sometimes I feel like im really there). I just can't find the right words to describe how good it is. This book has a lot of lessons in it; like that friendship always wins and that it's okay to ask for help.
                • ravenclaw12321
                  ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
                  Young Harry Potter discovers the magical world his parents grew up in when he recieves a letter to go to the magical school of Hogwarts. He gets on the Hogwarts Express and meets Ronald and Hermione. They together help each other and find out what Fluffy, the three headed dog is guarding, the Sorcerer's Stone!! They manage to retrieve the stone and break it before Quirell, who is posesses by Lord Voldemort gets it. He battles and wins! Victory!!
                  • Nishi🌼Sunday, June 21, 2020 at 8:28 am
                    I love this book
                    • demigod3000
                      demigod3000Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:08 pm55 stars
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone takes readers into a magical world of wizards and muggles, with all kinds of twists and turns that expertly combine the world we thought we knew with the magical one. J.K. Rowling tells the story of an orphaned young boy, forced to live with his mundane Aunt and Uncle, and his cousin Dudley. But soon he is whisked into the enchanting world that is Hogwarts, where he finds where he truly belongs, making friends along the way.