Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1349 Book Reviews
  • doubletrouble
    doubletroubleFriday, May 14, 2021 at 8:56 am55 stars
    its so nice
    • vaehcorn
      vaehcornThursday, May 13, 2021 at 7:08 am55 stars
      this book is the best for me personly theirs enogh to were im not bored but there a whole bunch of words and thats even better
      • vaehcorn
        vaehcornThursday, May 13, 2021 at 6:53 am55 stars
        i love her books i want all of them but i have only one and read 5
        • shrika_1234
          shrika_1234Sunday, May 9, 2021 at 6:33 am55 stars
          I LOVE THIS SERIES they are soooooo goooood I am so addicted to her books 📚 anyway this book it super good you need to read it ❤ (ols follow I am super close to my goal)
          • doubletrouble
            doubletroubleFriday, May 14, 2021 at 8:57 am55 stars
            I love this book to it's to die for
          • kpopanimeluvr
            kpopanimeluvrFriday, April 23, 2021 at 8:56 am44 starsFeatured
            Personally, i think this book is pretty good. im in the 5th grade, and ive been reading since 2nd grade. (thanks to my older sister) alot of people dont like how the protagonist, Nicki talks alot about boys and crushes and romantic teenager problems. But personally i think its just sort of realistic, Nicki is not in the 4th grade, shes a teen. This book isnt technically about a fun adventure with no worrys or stress, its realistic "slice of life" book. it speaks about growing pains and i think its interesting since i like books with drama and realistic ideals, usually. even in manga i like it when for example, attack on titan isnt all just about the titans but also shows the characters personalities and personal goals and stuff like that, friendships being broken and stuff that hurts the reader because of how realistic it is, but also has fiction like titans. Back to dork diaries, this is one of the only non-manga books i like, i will say Nicki can get a bit whiny and makes it a bit less enjoyable but overall i really like the idea and plot of this book, no its not a Diary of the Wimpy Kid "rip-off", its different in its own way because its more grown-up and usually girls struggle alot more with growing up so its natural Dork Diaries feels grown. I love this book! It can be very stereotypical tho, just because Nicki is a new "nerdy girl" who gets picked on, and on top of that her enemy is Mackenzie Hollister, the most popular girl in school. I like how much the book has so many twist and turns.
            • corgiqueen45
              corgiqueen45Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 9:08 am55 stars
              Love this book! 👍😍
              • ami18
                ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 9:06 am22 stars
                Wimpy kid rip off! I like wimpy kid better because if am honest, Nicki (in the book) just thinks about crushes and boys. Am in grade 6 by the way.
                • ami18
                  ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 8:39 am22 stars
                  Its LITERALLY wimpy kid book rip off!
                  • vaehcorn
                    vaehcornThursday, May 13, 2021 at 6:56 am55 stars
                    i love wimpy kid to but dork diaries is diferent it talks about the difficulty of having little sisters and wimpy kid just says what happend with his brother but like i said i am into both in 5th grade
                  • penguinpop
                    penguinpopTuesday, April 6, 2021 at 5:07 pm22 stars
                    Our protagonist constantly moons over boys and complains about her HORRIBLE life. For example: her parents and sister loves her and she has two besties. BUT SHE DOESNT GET DESIGNER CLOTHES!!! how tragic. and then you have the stereotypical blonde rich girl who immediately hates the protagonist (sigh)
                    • goldenglar
                      goldenglarThursday, April 1, 2021 at 8:33 am33 stars
                      i like dork diaries but it's kinda a rip off of diary of a wimpy kid. dork diaries is more of a crush, boyfriend and dramatic life situation but diary of a wimpy is fun. Nicki Maxwell has a crush on brandon and so dose Makcaenzi and they fight. are they even allowed to have a crush?