Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3496 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgedog
    hedgedogFriday, May 22, 2020 at 1:34 pm55 stars
    This book is really funny. I recommend it for anyone with a good sense of humor. You'll be laughing when you read a little bit of it.
    • cherry-blossom
      cherry-blossomThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:02 pm44 stars
      Smile is a wonderful book by Raina Telgemeier. I really liked it because it showed the true meaning of friendship, and what it truly takes to put a smile on somebody's face. Can be read by anybody, anytime.
      • alushi
        alushiThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:28 am55 stars
        i think this is amazing
        • doogoo
          doogooThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:04 am55 stars
          I have this book and it is AWESOME. you cannot ever get tired of it. It helped me get ready to have braces and now i have them. she changed my life.
          • queen_strong
            queen_strongFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:07 am
            I have a dance friend who got braces recently too!
          • mesodog
            mesodogThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:41 am55 stars
            This book is amazing! I have braces like Raina did. I like how she handled it. She's brave! And she went through a lot but she dealt with it. And stayed strong!
            • rina123aaa
              rina123aaaThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:08 am55 stars
              Again, Raina writes about one of her past stories. This is funny, a bit gross but a really good book that I definitely recommend! Everyone will enjoy it I think.
              • hedgedog
                hedgedogTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 2:51 pm55 stars
                This book is sooo funny!!!!!
                • ivywolf
                  ivywolfThursday, May 14, 2020 at 6:50 am33 stars
                  This is a true story about Raina Telgemeier about her injury to her two front teeth when she was in sixth-grade. She describes in this graphic novel the pain she went through, and how she doesn't let her smile affect who she is.
                  • csclittlefish
                    csclittlefishWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 3:18 am44 stars
                    This book is a true story about Raina. It all happened one night after girl scouts when Raina was racing her friends and she tripped. One of her teeth fell out and the other pushed up into her gum. She went to the dentist and they said that she would need braces. She hated that. You want to find out more, right? Then read this book!
                    • willthebest
                      willthebestTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                      This book is the best comic boo ever.It has many pictures to describe what they talk about and the life of Raina Telgemeier.I recommend this book.