Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3512 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gabriel123456Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:32 am
    this book kinda a drama comedy its pretty good
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
      Smile is about a girl who gets her teeth knocked out. This causes her to get braces. Not only that, but she has to deal with drama at school, and people she assumed were friends but maybe aren't as nice as she thought. This book was really funny, and the illustrations are very colorful. I think that this book can be relatable to many people. I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who enjoy other books written by this author. I also recommend this to people who enjoy the Baby Sitters Club series.
      • COCOKOWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 3:07 pm
        THIS BOOKS IS A AWESOME BOOKS I READ IT OVER AND OVER.
        • musy
          musyWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:06 am55 stars
          I loved it, amazing book
          • chargersfan976
            chargersfan976Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 4:32 pm55 stars
            I love the books by Raina Telgemeier, and Smile is one of my favorites, because I too had braces, so I can relate to her story. Even though I've never had my teeth knocked out!
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:39 pm55 stars
              At first an online comic that Raina Teglemier posted a few panels of every week, "Smile" is now one of the most famous graphic novels in America. This comic is narrative nonfiction, featuring none other than Raina herself, as well as her siblings and friends...or should we say, "friends." In this humorous and highly entertaining novel, Raina travels through her journey from middle to high school with a group of friends. Raina doesn't realize the true toxicity of the group until they finally overstep her boundaries, but what can she do about it? It turns out that only true courage and bravery could ever surmount this obstacle.
              • annafantastic
                annafantasticMonday, June 1, 2020 at 11:42 am
                great book! You should read this book it was a true story about the author!
                • animallover1456
                  animallover1456Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:33 am55 stars
                  I have to keep reading it OVER AND OVER AGAIN! Because it is soooooooooooooo good! I will give it 100 stars! (If i could!)
                  • mhkgc235
                    mhkgc235Monday, June 1, 2020 at 2:30 am55 stars
                    It's amazing!! It's all about Raina's history of braces. It's really good, honestly. I couldn't recommend it more. It's a 10/10 from me. Soooo good!!
                    • ak366
                      ak366Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:59 am55 stars
                      Amazing book, very funny great book to read