A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
605 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unigirl20283101
    unigirl20283101Thursday, July 30, 2020 at 5:49 am55 stars
    I really want to read this book.When I read the preview I was like I need to get a ebook of this I read all her books except Guts.
    • doogoo
      doogooTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 1:02 pm
      this book is a great book and i LOVED it
      • daredevil396
        daredevil396Friday, July 17, 2020 at 5:35 pm55 stars
        I really like this book because I personally can relate to it. I think you should read this book if you liked other stories by Rania Telemeier. Please read it.
        • RelisiaSunday, July 12, 2020 at 3:26 pm
          I love the preview I want to read the whole book . ⚠️ WARNING best book ever!
          • silkyterrier1
            silkyterrier1Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 8:27 pm55 stars
            I decided to read this book because I love the authors (Raina Telgemeier) books and comics! This one is more personal and cheers me up anytime! Raina gets bad phobias and now has a really big secret she doesn’t want anyone to hear. Among all she has so many other problems. This book reminds me of some of my life and how things will always get better! This is probably one of my favourite books from her! And like the book says. It is for anyone who feels afraid!
            • lovereading310
              lovereading310Friday, June 26, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
              Guts has become my favorite book. I had anxiety issues a few years ago, and I wish I had it then. I have Raina's other books, and I am a big fan. Now, i'm going to 5th grade in a few months and I am very excited. I can not wait for her next book!
              • ravenclaw12321
                ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 9:00 am55 stars
                Raina Telgemeier is a young girl studying fifth grade. She learns to conquer her worst fear, throwing up. She also deals with other problems along the way, like her friend moving away, bullies, food, gas, therapy. Raina Telgemeier is feeling queasy as she reveals her problems and she realizes that this is normal, going to therapy and having friends move away. Will she ever get over throw up? Read to find out!
                • ravenclaw12321
                  ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 8:54 am55 stars
                  This book is personally one of my FAV! This is about how 5th grader Raina Telgemeier learns to conquer her worst fear, throwing up. She has an adventurous journey with not only throwing up, but also her friend moving away, bullies, food, and more. Read and find out more!
                  • bookfan2008
                    bookfan2008Tuesday, June 23, 2020 at 7:07 am33 stars
                    This book was simply OK. I liked it but not as much as the other book she wrote. It was good but, I wasn't the bigggest fan of the plot :)
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 1:44 pm55 starsFeatured
                      In this electrifying sequel to Raina Teglemier's narrative nonfiction graphic novels "Smile" and "Sister," Raina's back with the stomach flu. She quickly gets over it, but even though her bout of sickness has passed, Raina constantly experiences the terrifying feeling of needing to throw up, causing her to stay from home and have to use the bathroom more than usual. As her fear of puke grows, so does her insecurity about her body. Raina doesn't want to be made fun of by class bully Michelle. She doesn't want to be excluded from the girl talks in the bathroom. She doesn't want to have to meet up with a private counselor about her feelings. But she does and is, and as puberty, rudeness, secrets, and friend drama show their abhorrence, Raina realizes that the key to trumping fear is to feel comfortable in your own skin.