Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 229 pages
Published on February 22, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410498778
ISBN-13: 9781410498779
763 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • 12121212
    12121212Monday, November 20, 2017 at 11:32 am44 stars
    great!!
    • 12121212
      12121212Monday, November 20, 2017 at 11:31 am44 stars
      actually, it's pretty good
      • 12121212
        12121212Monday, November 20, 2017 at 11:30 am44 stars
        it is great
        • fireninja7789
          fireninja7789Saturday, November 11, 2017 at 3:21 pm55 stars
          i have not even read it yet and i want to read it
          • alanna_smith
            alanna_smithWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:59 am55 stars
            I really love this book. And i hope that you will someday will love this book too
            • gekixejago
              gekixejagoMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
              Jeff Kinney is an amazing person. He's good good enough to even go on the news. Its like he can make thousands of Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. This book was really good.
              • soruvimutu
                soruvimutuThursday, November 2, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
                i loved this book so much it was really fun because every page made me laugh
                • dosebopoty
                  dosebopotyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:50 am55 stars
                  I think its a good balance of weirdness and realistic fiction
                  • sponge123
                    sponge123Monday, October 23, 2017 at 4:17 pm55 stars
                    It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. ... In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride.
                    • anthonynguyen
                      anthonynguyenWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                      also it's a good book

                      More TopicsView in 3D