Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2301 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • slushie
    slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:34 pm55 stars
    oh I love this series a lot I can't stop reading I have each book and I read it, again and again, these books are fun to read and entertaining!
    • soso17970
      soso17970Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:12 pm55 stars
      Ah, the first book in such a amazing series. Katniss Everdeen is a girl in the dystopian world of panem. She is responsible for her family (mom and little sister). In her world, every year, two teenagers (one girl and one boy) from each district (there are 12) are forced to fight each other to the death. When Katniss’s sister, prim is chosen, Katniss volunteers for her without hesitation. Katniss and the boy tribune from 12 are thrown (not literally) into a train that leads to the captiol. Before Katniss goes into the games, she first has to survive training and interviews. She meets many allies and enemies. Most importantly, she bonds with Peeta and their mento, Haymitch. She then goes into the deadly games. Life, love, trust and basic human morals are all juggled around as Katniss tries to survive. I love how Katniss changes so much throughout the series by learning from her experiences. The plot and details were simply amazing. This is one of my all time favorite series. Warning, this is a very violent book, so do not read it if you don’t like that stuff.
      • lalaThursday, April 11, 2019 at 6:23 pm
        good book
        • dvitab18
          dvitab18Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 4:46 pm55 stars
          This book is definitely one of the best I have ever read and it's a series, which makes it even better. There's tons of suspense and action. May the odds be EVER in your favor!
          • Arctic catWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 1:20 pm
            OMG best book ever! I am only in fifth grade abit inoproppriate though
            • katherina_8268
              katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
              It's practically the BEST book I've EVER read. Filled with action and adventure, although if you don't like bloodshed and murder, this is probably not the best book for you... This book is the first book in the series The Hunger Games
              • BookCriticWednesday, April 3, 2019 at 9:09 pm
                I just started reading it and I love it! Though the beginning is a bit confusing
                • thanoseries
                  thanoseriesSaturday, March 30, 2019 at 6:37 pm55 stars
                  i just got a record for the quiz!
                  • SomebooksTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 5:39 am
                    I will take this out of the library's!
                    • lovely klaasTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 6:06 am
                      omg,the hugergames are the best

                      Our Apps and Plugins