Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1875 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sillylily
    sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:50 am55 stars
    I have always loved the movies, so I decided to try and read the books finally! I really loved this book. It was very action-packed and watching Harry and his friends try and solve the mystery of the sorcerer's stone was fun! I recommend this book to anyone who likes magic and mysteries.
    • rrwwnn
      rrwwnnSunday, June 23, 2019 at 10:13 pm44 stars
      I am not exactly a Potterhead, but I can see why people love the Harry Potter series. It is full of magic, magic that we can only dream of possessing. Reading the Harry Potter series is even better than dreaming about it, since is has a fantastic story line too.
      • noahmrich
        noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:06 pm11 star
        This is a book about a boy named Harry Potter who learns he is a wizard. I did not like this book because I was reading The Hobbit at the time and I hated Harry Potter.
        • 😵😵😵😵😵😵😵Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 2:45 am
          I love it I have not finish the book
          • ymajr17
            ymajr17Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:06 am44 stars
            one of my favriotes
            • limeThursday, June 20, 2019 at 4:50 pm
              harry potter is great book for magic lovers it is a realy fun book
              • 3bears
                3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 11:07 am44 stars
                I am not exactly a Potterhead, but I can see why people love the Harry Potter series. It is full of magic, magic that we can only dream of possessing. Reading the Harry Potter series is even better than dreaming about it, since we have a fantastic story line too.
                • uytdfghjkldsxch
                  uytdfghjkldsxchTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 11:10 am55 stars
                  Call me a Harry Potter geek, but....Harry Potter is probably the best book series ever!
                  • lawalex
                    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:13 am55 stars
                    This classic story of a boy named Harry, who turns out to be a wizard, is a fun read and will have you rooting for the Gryffindor quidditch team. If you like books with magic, you will like this book. This is a lighter read than the rest of the series.
                    • zellydia
                      zellydiaMonday, June 17, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
                      It is such mysterious book. you will never want to put it down. There are parts that are funny, especially with the Dursleys. the whole series.