Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on June 23, 2009 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423124529
ISBN-13: 9781423124528
89 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • codybites
    codybitesWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 8:16 pm55 stars
    BTW I was a a 4th grader when I started.
    • codybites
      codybitesWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 8:15 pm55 stars
      I’ve read books 1-6 and they are amazing! They’re so good I’m going to read them again before reading book 7&8.
      • mrmars06
        mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:30 pm44 stars
        Great book, BTW
        • slytherinfan
          slytherinfanTuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:24 pm55 stars
          This intro makes me want to read it sooo bad!
          • mrmars06
            mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 1:10 pm44 stars
            This book is amazing! :)
            • ajg15
              ajg15Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 12:32 pm33 starsFeatured
              Artemis fowl is a twelve-year-old genius he is also a millionaire and a criminal mastermind (which is awesome! Not the criminal part the millionaire part haha). But even a genius like Artemis doesn't know what to do when he kidnaps Captain Holly Short who just so happens to be a fairy of the LEPrecon unit.. These aren't your run of the mill faries like tinker bell these varies can be dangerous!! Good book, recommended for 6-8 graders. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
              • mrmars06
                mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:29 pm44 stars
                I love your book and movie reviews @ajg15!
              • pizzagirl7
                pizzagirl7Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 12:27 pm11 star
                Artemis fowl/////ok so book is about Artemis fowl (the boy) and he is a millionaire and only 12 !(and a criminal mastermind l😂😂😂) I didn't enjoy this because it was wayyyy to confusing💩 I recommend to ages 15 and up and sadly I rate it 1 star 🌟😢😂
                • auntieb
                  auntiebMonday, July 30, 2018 at 11:11 am55 stars
                  Artemis Fowl is a wonderful book about a boy genius who is only 12-years old! And he is trying to regain his family fortune! I highly recommend this series!
                  • dreambig100
                    dreambig100Monday, July 23, 2018 at 4:23 pm44 stars
                    Artemis Fowl is a wonderful book about fairies and Artemis a 13 year old mastermind who has the knowledge of more than an entire state combined. Artemis is the antagonist of the book and is trying to capture fairies because they have gold. I have absolutely loved this book I can't wait to read the others in the series.
                    • nasuada
                      nasuadaSunday, July 22, 2018 at 5:01 pm44 stars
                      Artemis Fowl is a 12-year-old genius after the fairies' riches. He kidnaps a fairy officer and holds her for ransom, but the fairies retaliate. I, for one, love Eoin Colfers' take on magical creatures. (The fairies, dwarves, and other People have been forced underground by human civilization and pollutants.) The technology imagined in the book was interesting, and decoding the "Gnommish" message along the bottom of the text was fun. A great start to a unique series.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins