The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events #8)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 12V6.937752

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

The Baudelaires need a safe place to stay—somewhere far away from terrible villains and local police. A quiet refuge where misfortune never visits. Might Heimlich Hospital be just the place? In Lemony Snicket's eighth ghastly installment in A Series of Unfortunate Events, I'm sorry to say that the Baudelaire orphans will spend time in a hospital where they risk encountering a misleading newspaper headline, unnecessary surgery, an intercom system, anesthesia, heart-shaped balloons, and some very startling news about a fire.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405266139
ISBN-13: 9781405266130
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 8:04 am55 stars
    I stayed up till midnight reading this! SO good!
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 8:04 am55 stars
      I ABSOULOTLY LOVED THIS ONE! Iloved the adventure SO much!! 10 stars!
      • addyl97
        addyl97Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 7:30 pm55 starsFeatured
        After escaping the Village of Fowl Devotees, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire arrive at a store to send a telegram to Mr. Poe, explaining their situation and pleading for help. The store's generous owner explains that a van of 'Volunteers Fighting Diseases' arrives once every day for a gas refill. The van arrives, and the Baudelaires, thinking it to be the acronym 'V.F.D.', escape into it after the owner recognizes them as the accused murderers in the Daily Punctilio, an unreliable newspaper series. The Baudelaire orphans find themselves in a hospital. They blend in with the volunteers fighting diseases. They get a job in the records department where they hope to find information that will help them prove that they are not murderers and tell them more about the evil Count Olaf. To find out what happens next read the Hostile Hospital. I give this book 5 stars because it is by far the most interesting one out of the Series of Unfortunate Events books I've read.
        • hedgeguin2
          hedgeguin2Monday, June 17, 2019 at 7:14 pm55 stars
          This book is very exciting and thrilling! It is filled with tons of detail and a little bit of horror, too. In this book, the Baudelaires are traveling across the desert to escape the V.F.D village. They come across a hospital and go inside. Count Olaf finds them, though, and when the Baudelaire children are trying to escape from Esmé Squalor’s clutches, who is Count Olaf’s girlfriend, Violet is captured and is scheduled to have a cranioectomy, but Klaus and Sunny are too clever for these villains! This book is recommended to people who are adventurous and like to read about the journeys of people!
          • kfjfjfFriday, June 7, 2019 at 8:26 am
            THIS IS VERYY LITTT
            • rovyjofu-155904856798
              rovyjofu-155904856798Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:07 am55 stars
              This is my favorite book series of all time. I love these books so much. I really don't want the series to end but it eventually will have too. I can't wait to read other books by Lemony Snicket!!!!!!!! (5 stars all the way)
              • rovyjofu-155904856798
                rovyjofu-155904856798Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:05 am55 stars
                This book series is my favorite book series iv'e ever read. I started this series like a year ago and that has been the only book iv'e read for a while. I DON'T want the series to come to an end, but it's going to eventually. Again I love this series and can't wait to read more of Lemony Snicket's books!!!!!!!!!!
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
                  This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                  • potterhead101Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 4:50 pm
                    For those who like mystery, adventure, and a tiny touch of creepiness
                    • cschubert
                      cschubertSunday, May 27, 2018 at 7:20 am55 stars
                      This book does not go light on the details. It is the 8th book in the series. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and mystery.