The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 5)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.733697

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

As the three Baudelaire orphans warily approach their new home Prufrock Preparatory School, they can't help but notice the enormous stone arch bearing the school's motto Memento Mori or "Remember you will die." This is not a cheerful greeting and certainly marks an inauspicious beginning to a very bleak story just as we have come to expect from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, the deliciously morbid set of books that began with The Bad Beginning and only got worse.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 8, 2000 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408639
ISBN-13: 9780064408639
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • delbels73
    delbels73Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 1:27 pm55 stars
    This is one of my favorite books in the series! The principal is obnoxious, selfish, mean, and so much more. It is silly how Count Olaf disguised himself asa gym teacher and wore that ugly thing on his head. It was also silly how he pretended to prognosticate the future.
    • gilhoolihoopThursday, March 23, 2017 at 8:12 pm
      i have read this whole series and it is awesome. my favourite character is count olaf. i love how he dresses up in different ways... its HILLARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • hiThursday, March 23, 2017 at 6:24 pm
        good series
        • hiWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 3:11 pm
          I love this series! you should read it!
          • umanbro
            umanbroWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 9:59 am
            3 orthans were cast away to a academy they read the series to find out more
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesWednesday, February 1, 2017 at 1:59 pm
              Another miserable story in the Baudelaire lives...In this addition to the Series of Unfortunate Events Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Prufrock Preparatory School where they meet a handful of awful characters such as: Vice Principal Nero, Carmelita Spats, Mr. Remorta, Mrs. Bass, and Coach Genghis, who is really Count Oalf in disguise. But they also meet nice characters as Duncan and Isadora Quagmire who are also orphans who left behind a fortune when their home was burned down. Not only is the Baudelaire's new life at the boarding school extremely boring and the work tedious-a word which here means "extremely boring"-but the three orphans also have to take Coach Genghis- Count Oalf- S.O.R.E. programs where they spend the entire night running laps. With the help of Duncan and Isadora, the Baudelaires try to figure out what is the purpose of Count Oalf new plan while preparing for excruciating exams. With a crucial climax and tensious twists, i advise against reading this next chapter in the woeful lives of the Baudelaires.
              • Person365Friday, January 13, 2017 at 12:21 pm
                Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire have to go to the Austere Academy because their parents die. While they are there they meet new friends and a horrible man named Count Olaf who is trying to steal their fortune. Can the Baudelaire children stop Count Olaf before he gets their fortune?
                • eyp
                  eypFriday, September 23, 2016 at 9:13 pm44 stars
                  A mix of tragedy and comedy
                  • jasmint
                    jasmintTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 7:03 am44 stars
                    I enjoy reading this book I like the strategy of the author and also like the weird things that happen in the timeline, although principal Vice is a bad guy I think in his deepest heart he's the cutest person that brothers Baudelaires can meet, even when they eat shrimps with their hands they still have food. Touring orphan guys not always has to be like evil torturing like principal Vice does he every day give a recital for 6 hours everyone can hear how the violin strings are suffering the sound is not bad it's really bad. Hope the author can keep writing about them love the book.
                    • british ladyWednesday, April 6, 2016 at 6:16 pm
                      I would totally recommend this series for you. they may be sad, but they are really great

                      More TopicsView in 3D