Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.733697

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

As the three Baudelaire orphans warily approach their new home Prufrock Preparatory School, they can't help but notice the enormous stone arch bearing the school's motto Memento Mori or "Remember you will die." This is not a cheerful greeting and certainly marks an inauspicious beginning to a very bleak story just as we have come to expect from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, the deliciously morbid set of books that began with The Bad Beginning and only got worse.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 8, 2000 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408639
ISBN-13: 9780064408639
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
    This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
    • zoieTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:36 am
      One reason i liked this book was because it tells of the challenges the Baudaliers had at schools and homes . The kids meet two children that had another but lost . this is the battle of Carmileta and the head of the school that he runs and the librarian tries to help and jkoins the vfd and fall in love with a man in the vfd .
      • olliebob
        olliebobWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 starsFeatured
        I love A Series of Unfortunate Events! I think this is my favorite book in the series. The Baudelaires have been sent to an evil villain, a reptile enthusiast, a woman who's afraid of everything, and a man called Sir who apparently does not know what child labor laws are, and now they are sent to a wretched boarding school. Vice Principal Nero is a violin-obsessed, mimicking, and very, very rude person. The orphans are forced to live in a shack with ugly wallpaper, dripping fungus, and VERY territorial crabs. However, there is one good thing about the school. They make friends with two wonderful triplets named Duncan and Isadora, who are also orphans. But when Count Olaf shows up at the school in yet another ridiculous disguise, the orphans wonder how they can ever get away from this ruthless villain. Between S.O.R.E., comprehensive exams, and owing a terrible violinist MANY bags of candy, can the Baudelaires and their friends manage to stay out of Count Olaf's clutches?
        • fnafic
          fnaficMonday, May 7, 2018 at 11:36 am55 stars
          my fave book in the series
          • Alex S.Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:43 am
            AMAZING
            • Alex S.Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:43 am
              This book is really good and I really love this series. I even watch the show on netflix. This series is amazing i give it a 10/10.
              • fnafic
                fnaficMonday, May 7, 2018 at 11:38 am55 stars
                I've also seen the Netflix series and I love it
              • cowsarefat
                cowsarefatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:49 am55 stars
                This book is awesome!
                • cowsarefatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:45 am
                  Hi this book is sad.
                  • hole diggerTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:44 am
                    this was awesome book
                    • 23unicorncat
                      23unicorncatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:10 am55 stars
                      it was a really good book

                      More TopicsView in 3D