Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.650485
You don’t choose the book—the book chooses you.

Sixth grader Spencer Lemon has a degenerative eye disease—and he’s rapidly losing his eyesight. So he has no idea why he was chosen to guard Pandora’s Book. When Ed, the old guy at the nursing home, hands over the book, he doesn’t get a chance to explain any of the rules to Spencer. Spencer only knows that the book contains famous dead people—people who can be brought back to life. Spencer and his autistic best friend, Gregor, soon figure out how to get people out of the book, but not how to get them back in. Then Ed disappears, and a strange man shows up on Spencer’s doorstep—and he seems to know a lot about Spencer and about Pandora’s Book. Is he one of the bad guys? Or is here to help Spencer unravel the secrets of the book? But there are others interested in Pandora’s Book, others who might use its powers to take over the world. And it’s up to Spencer, along with Gregor and Ed’s mysterious (and cute) granddaughter Mel, to protect the book—and save the world.

Hardcover, 294 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Two Lions
ISBN-10: 1477847162
ISBN-13: 9781477847169
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • asma234
    asma234Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 4:53 pm55 stars
    I can't wait to read this book.Judging by the cover and title (Something I shouldn't do) I think it's a cool mystery book filled with adventure and friendship.
    • cerulian
      cerulianSaturday, September 13, 2014 at 5:28 pm
      I would really like to read this book because I love to read. The title just drew me to it. I want to know the secrets of the book! Whatever book this book is telling me about I want to find out. This book just seems very intriguing and interesting. The 4 friends on the cover of this book must be in for some journey...
      • sweetheart352
        sweetheart352Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:42 pm55 stars
        My library just got this book and I can hardly wait to check it out and read it. My friend read it and said she loved it.
        • mustachegirl
          mustachegirlThursday, August 14, 2014 at 9:10 am55 stars
          6th grader, Spencer Lemon got chosen by a book. He is off to an adventure. Although the cover and title may be cheesy, this book is real good, and suitable for everyone.
          • tim0706
            tim0706Wednesday, August 13, 2014 at 5:34 pm44 stars
            This book was interesting and mysterious. It was very enjoyable. But the title was very misleading because there was no secrets except for the mystery.
            • r0shni07
              r0shni07Thursday, July 24, 2014 at 1:43 pm44 stars
              This book is a fun, interesting, and fast paced book. It is very interesting and i like how the author put allot of thought into writing this book!
              • loveeangelina
                loveeangelinaTuesday, July 15, 2014 at 1:39 pm44 stars
                So far this book has kept me hooked on the plot. I couldn't eat dinner on time because I had to the next chapter! If you're like me and like adventure books then you surely will like this one!
                • carlynicole
                  carlynicoleMonday, July 14, 2014 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                  So far, so good. Interesting snapshots of the personalities of the various famous figures are appealing and a number of appearances are very sly and amusing. So, a well handled tale, a enjoyable sense of funniness and liveliness, and appealing characters - a nice find for your middle grade reader. This mildly engaging fantasy features a magical book, famous figures from the past and a decidedly unheroic narrator who nevertheless manages with some help to save the world.
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileMonday, June 30, 2014 at 6:02 pm44 stars
                    This book was fun and fast pacing. It did lead you on most of the times and if not the book just got more interesting. The characters were perfect for the book, the transitions were perfect. I enjoyed how the author did not really lead you on a cliff hanger and was straight forward. This book did it's best to keep me interested and it did make me feel interested not one of those boring books. I hope to read more of these books from the same author.
                    • shiningstar
                      shiningstarSunday, June 29, 2014 at 10:50 am
                      This book sounds really good. I really want to read it.