The Island of Dr. Libris

The Island of Dr. Libris

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T4.336670
A copy of this book may be available in the school library.
{{availability[ebookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[ebookId].copiesOwned}} available
{{availability[audiobookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[audiobookId].copiesOwned}} available
New from the author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson! Celebrate the power of imagination with this action-packed New York Times bestseller that shows that sometimes the real story starts after you close the book!

What if your favorite characters came to life? Billy’s spending the summer in a lakeside cabin that belongs to the mysterious Dr. Libris. But something strange is going on. Besides the security cameras everywhere, there’s Dr. Libris’s private bookcase. Whenever Billy opens the books inside, he can hear sounds coming from the island in the middle of the lake. The clash of swords. The twang of arrows. Sometimes he can even feel the ground shaking. It’s almost as if the stories he’s reading are coming to life! But that’s impossible . . . isn’t it?

A wonderful tale. . . . This book is like no other I’ve read. It’s a complete original.” —James Patterson

"Kids will enjoy the cartoonish mayhem, especially given Grabenstein's breezy narrative voice and jaunty wit....as in 'Lemoncello', there is a winning generosity and sweetness to the story's telling."--The New York Times

"Chris Grabenstein gleefully plunders great works of literature for his cast of secondary characters . . . a madcap mash-up that 8-to-12 year olds will want to devour in big gulps." The Wall Street Journal

"Effortlessly readable and a whole lot of fun." Booklist Reviews
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385388454
ISBN-13: 9780385388450
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:26 pm55 stars
    This book was really cool. I wish an island like this could exist in reality. I love all the stories they chose for this book. Although I’d pick different but they aren’t classics .honestly read this and use tech to make. an island please
    • lawalex
      lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 10:29 am55 stars
      This book is a book about books! When Billy’s books he reads come to life, this is sure to be a very exciting story to read!
      • tori3ghoul
        tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 2:01 pm44 stars
        Billy is on vacation at a lakeside cabin and soon discovers an island where book characters come to life. This book involves a lot of classic literary characters, friendship, and a whole lot of imagination. Billy has quite an imagination himself, which I believe is very important in life.
        • ejvarga
          ejvargaSaturday, March 5, 2016 at 1:23 pm33 stars
          I want to read this book really badly. it looks like a good book.
          • foodie11
            foodie11Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at 4:48 pm44 stars
            I listened to this book in audio and it is cool. I like how book characters come to life!😱
            • michellek21
              michellek21Monday, January 4, 2016 at 5:40 pm55 starsFeatured
              Billy spend his summer in a lakeside cabin that belongs to a mysterious scientist, Dr. Libris. However, something strange is going on. Besides the security cameras everywhere, whenever Billy reads one of the books from Dr. Libris' s private bookcase, the characters from the book will appear on the island next to the cabin. He can hear the characters voice, the clash of swords, and the twang of arrows. After I read this book, I realise that having imaginations and creativity can make the world better. Imaginations creates our future and make impossible things into possible things. Like Billy, he uses his imaginations to create real live characters. Also, it can block all the reality and pressure, and make your life better.
              • RylanSaturday, May 2, 2015 at 11:30 am
                this book is good i got the uncorected proof so i had the unpublished virsion so i had to write a reveiw
                • pandy123
                  pandy123Saturday, March 28, 2015 at 2:13 pm
                  I met Chris Grabenstein in YWW, and he read the first few pages of this book to us last week. I can't wait to read this book!

                  Overdrive Log In

                  Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                  {{errorMessage}}
                  CancelSave

                  You have successfully checked out the book.

                  Do you want to read the book now?

                  NoYes

                  Error

                  {{errorMessage}}

                  Ok

                  Success

                  {{successMessage}}

                  Ok