Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6R5.231056
After twelve-year-old Natalie writes a wonderful novel, her friend Zoe helps her devise a scheme to get it accepted at the publishing house where Natalie's mother works as an editor.
Paperback
Published on July 2, 2003 by Simon & Schuster Australia
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 6:04 pm44 stars
    This book taught me a lot about the world of book publishing. Natalie wants to be a writer when she grows up and writes a book called, The Cheater. Her friend, Zoe thinks the book should be published, so the girls hatch a scheme to secretly get it published officially.
    • njreader
      njreaderTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 2:38 pm55 starsFeatured
      I like this book because it shows how kid can do stuff they never thought they would do. I think you would like this book if you would like to know how friendship works and if you would like to be sitting on the edge of your seat.
      • 1kerrinejohnson
        1kerrinejohnsonThursday, January 19, 2017 at 6:22 am
        This book is AWESOME and you should read it.
        • fastfoxreader
          fastfoxreaderThursday, August 4, 2016 at 8:44 am55 stars
          This book is about a girl named Natalie, who is trying to publish her book. Since she's too young and her mom is a editor, she used her pen name, Cassandra Day. At the end, Natalie shows that she is Cassandra Day and they party! I loved this book!
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitThursday, June 2, 2016 at 2:14 pm33 stars
            This book teaches a good message which is to get out of your comfort zone and try new things, and to never give up.
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesFriday, November 6, 2015 at 10:53 am
              I'm trying to publish a book right now, but it's hard because my mother isn't an editor like Nathlie's. but you don't need to convince a lawer to publish a book for kids because there are Legal sites for kids to publish stories.
              • kittenslov
                kittenslovFriday, November 6, 2015 at 8:43 am55 stars
                I love the book it so awesome
                • maddyp18
                  maddyp18Friday, June 27, 2014 at 1:15 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is a great realistic fiction story. It is about a kid who writes a terrific story, and then tries to get it published. I think this book is meant more for girls then boys because the main character is a girl. This is my favorite Andrew Clements book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think the message in this book is ''Never give up''. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • otter
                    otterFriday, February 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm44 stars
                    This book is pretty good.
                    • Michelle123Wednesday, December 5, 2012 at 8:10 pm
                      This is the best book EVER! You HAVE to read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ash wrote:

                      Love this whole book series
                      Divergent (Divergent Series)

                      xxmystical_lady

                      this book is so good. j.k. rowl...
                      Who is J.K. Rowling?

                      littttqueen

                      ya it hasn't came out
                      The Terrible Two Go Wild

                      xxmystical_lady

                      the book is so good. it is mayb...
                      What Was the Great Depression?

                      Our Apps and Plugins