Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 4K3.6516
Scaredy Squirrel never leaves his nut tree. It's way too dangerous out there. He could encounter tarantulas, green Martians or killer bees. But in his tree, every day is the same and if danger comes along, he's well-prepared. Scaredy Squirrel's emergency kit includes antibacterial soap, Band-Aids and a parachute.

Day after day he watches and waits, and waits and watches, until one day ... his worst nightmare comes true! Scaredy suddenly finds himself out of his tree, where germs, poison ivy and sharks lurk.

But as Scaredy Squirrel leaps into the unknown, he discovers something really uplifting ...
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on February 1, 2006 by Kids Can Press
ISBN-10: 1553379594
ISBN-13: 9781553379591
7 Book Reviews
  • bfs_g1
    BFS Grade 1Monday, March 19, 2018 at 12:10 am55 stars
    Are you scared of sharks? Are you scared of bees? Are you scared of poisn ive? Are you scared of germs? I know a person who is scared of all these things. It is...scaredy sqirrel! He is scared of of poisin ivi, and sharks and bees and germs! Are you scard of Poisin Ivi and bees and Sharks and germs?Scardy Sqquirrel thinks the outside wold is a dangeris plase do you agree with him? Thank you for reading my Book! See you untill the next Book. Bye! And if/you Like it you can give me you can give me a thumbs up if you dont Like it you can gice me a thumbs down. -SM
    • bfs_g1
      BFS Grade 1Monday, March 19, 2018 at 12:08 am55 stars
      Are you scared of sharks are you scared of bees are you scared of posion ive are u scared of germs.Well i know a book that is scared of all of these things.Its is scaredy squirrel!I think taht is the best book because...he is so so so funny.He brings a kit every were he goes he brings fish in the kit for the sharks and he never ever EVER leaves its tree.He use benuclers to see if there is any bees, sharks, triantulas or anythings he is scared of. He calles the outside the unknown.He thinks outside is dangerouse do you agree with him.He told you his scaduel every day he even told you what he is scared of bees,sharks,triantulas posion ive germs and green alians.He tells you to stay in your house for safety.He tells you his escape plane he has four escape plane.He escape from the left tree and the right tree with his parasuit and he jumps out of out of the same way but down.You should read the book! -ID
      • progirlWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 8:46 am
        I love the book
        • holcombe
          holcombeWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 6:52 am55 stars
          I LOVED this book so good!❤️😸
          • sunray
            sunrayThursday, August 27, 2015 at 4:05 pm44 stars
            A third-person beginner to the Scaredy Squirrel series, Scaredy Squirrel is a great book for light reading, or for beginners in literature. The setting alone - that is to say, respectively, Scaredy Squirrel's nut tree, sets the plot structure, in which Scaredy must overcome his fears and come outside in order to rescue his beloved safety kit. A heartwarming picture book that shows young ones that maybe the unknown is inevitable but rewarding, this modern fable popularized Watt's other works, such as "Have I Got a Book for You?," "Chester," and the follow-ups in the collection, plus his Halloween and Christmas guides. I loved this book because of its humorous moral and simplistic graphics, and would encourage all critter-lovers, be them toddlers or tweens, but NOT GREEN MARTIANS, to read this Melanie Watt wonder.
            • blackbird4
              blackbird4Friday, June 19, 2015 at 2:56 pm
              It's good but not much words
              • swimming101
                swimming101Saturday, May 4, 2013 at 6:26 pm
                I liked this book.