Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys--an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp, and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves.

Because Jonathan has done something terrible. And he's willing to accept whatever punishment he has coming.

Just as he's getting used to his new situation, however, a freak accident leaves the troubled boys of Slabhenge without any adult supervision. Suddenly the kids are free, with an entire island to themselves. But freedom brings unexpected danger. And if Jonathan can't come to terms with the sins of his past and lead his new friends to safety... then every boy on the island is doomed.

Dan Gemeinhart's most gripping novel yet, this is a tale of misfits and outcasts at odds and in peril, and a redemption story that shines a light on dark truths to reveal that the strongest prisons of all are the ones we build for ourselves.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on January 3, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338053841
ISBN-13: 9781338053845
10 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cblocksurprise
    cblocksurpriseThursday, July 6, 2017 at 7:14 pm44 stars
    I think the book was good. It shows a lot of what happens when people have power and when people are left on there own. Also it shows how big and old a rat can be. I would rate 4 stars.
    • ScarIslandMonday, May 22, 2017 at 4:17 pm
      sry forgot about this
      • ScarIslandMonday, May 22, 2017 at 4:16 pm
        amazing
        • ScarIslandMonday, May 22, 2017 at 4:16 pm
          amazing. astonishing. only took me all day
          • ScarIslandMonday, May 22, 2017 at 4:15 pm
            amazing. took me all day but i loved it
            • lrohne2005
              lrohne2005Monday, May 15, 2017 at 5:47 pm55 starsFeatured
              Johnathon Grisby has gotten in trouble. Big trouble. As a punishment, he has to go to an island with nothing but torture. He has to suffer for 1 1/2 days, doing work and having punishments than shouldn't even be considered for a 12-year-old. After those 36 hours of suffering, all the adults are killed when they are struck by lightning. All the kids who are at the island are free to do whatever they want! Soon, they realize that doing whatever they want and making their own rules isn't as fun or easy as they realize. Johnathon must rebel against a boy who is taking charge, battle rats, and try to stay protected against an angry ocean that wants to swallow the whole island. I would recommend this book to boys and girls ages 10+. It is a great page turning book, and you WILL NOT want to put it down. PS: A shoutout for Dogo Books for giving me this book!
              • jo13
                jo13Friday, April 7, 2017 at 11:45 am55 starsFeatured
                When Jonathan Grisby goes to Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys, little does he know just what is in store for him. After being tortured by the grownups for 1 and a half days, they all die from lighting when they are lecturing the boys about how they are "no goods". After the grownups are out of the way, Jonathan and his new found friend, Colin, must battle bullies, rats and the ocean which wants to swallow up the island. When a hurricane hits, will the boys get off the island in time before being swallowed up by the sea? Read this book to find out! BTW: Thank you so much iDogo books for giving me this wonderful book! I would definitely rate it 5 stars ALL THE WAY! A Must-read for everyone! Warning: Once you start reading, you won't want to stop! #lol
                • dictionary
                  dictionarySaturday, April 1, 2017 at 8:09 am55 starsFeatured
                  Jonathan Grisby has done something horrible. And he's willing to accept whatever punishment is coming his way. That made him get in Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys. Not really a school; an ancient island. In Slabhenge, you don't write essays about your summer. You don't have recess. You don't read books. You don't have science labs and classes- all you do is work, work, work. And what I mean by ''work'' is cleaning the bedrooms, cleaning the bathrooms, cleaning the kitchens, and scrubbing the floors. But then something abrupt happens. All the adults get stuck by lightning and die. So now that they have freedom, they plan to wait for the boat, explain what happened, and go home. But Jonathan has other ideas. He tells the boys, why don't we stay here? We can live on our own, no rules, and nobody will look at us and think ''troublemakers''. First, the boys think it's a crazy idea. But then they think about it. But first of all- they need a new name- ''Scar Island''. When Sebastian, this kid who also agreed to the idea, starts acting like he's the boss, he gets angry at Jonathan for making him look bad. They make Jonathan go do one of the chores, but he discovers a library. ''You cannot leave a library. Without a book.'' But when a terrible hurricane comes, Scar Island is going under water. The librarian told them to use the lighthouse. So now they would get saved and go home. This book is so good! I feel the characters and this book actually connects a bit to my life. I could feel the way Dan Gemeinhart was expressing his characters. I definitely would give this book a 5/5 rating. Highly recommended.
                  • iloveunicorns
                    iloveunicornsWednesday, January 18, 2017 at 7:04 pm
                    i dont like scary
                    • cool girlWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 9:11 am
                      it is scary

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...