Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.48377

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062399527
ISBN-13: 9780062399526
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • salezyto-157667470811
    salezyto-157667470811Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 10:15 am55 stars
    I recommend this book because Sarah is this girl who end up living with these people named Jacob Anna and Caleb and they lost there mom after Caleb was borne and she end up staing with them at the end. She lived buy the sea then at the parry and that why i recommend this book.
    • reader2009
      reader2009Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:13 pm55 stars
      This is a great book. If you like books like Little House on the Praire, or Caddie Woodlawn, you will enjoy this book a lot!
      • spacepenguin
        spacepenguinMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:19 pm55 stars
        This book was really good. I like that Sarah was going to have a wedding soon and become Anna and Caleb's new mom. This is a book about like family. Anna's mom had a baby. The next day after she had the baby Caleb, she died. They were trying to find a new mom, and they found Sarah. Sarah might be their new mom. Sarah came to visit for one month. At the end of the book, she "brought the sea," which was blue, gray and green colored pencils to Anna and Caleb. Sarah is from Maine, which is by the sea. At the end of the book there is going to be a wedding soon - Sarah and Papa's.
        • jj512
          jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:54 pm22 stars
          After the death of a mom a kind dad wants to start dating again. Sarah will come for 1 month to try their place out, but the kids are busy picking up all of the clues about if Sarah will stay or leave! I found this book plain because nothing big happened and it is a book made around no big action.
          • EricTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:23 am
            This is a amazing book
            • miniongirlSunday, December 30, 2018 at 7:40 am
              I read the shorter version for school
              • wirdsmile
                wirdsmileMonday, April 23, 2018 at 7:16 amFeatured
                Have you lost a loved one? Because Anna has. Anna is nice,kind and loving. But I don't think she was to fund of her brother Caleb until the book Caleb's Story. Also the setting is inside the house and outside of the house. Also in chapter 1 they started to write to Sarah. Another is in chapter 3 Anna and Caleb's dad left to get a girl named Sarah. This book reminds me of my dad he didn't die. But I have not seen him in a very long time. I like the book Sarah, Plan and Tall because it kinda gives me the perspective of people that have lost a loved one. I recommend this book to 4th and 5th graders because it might be to hard for 1st, second and third graders.
                • personWednesday, September 6, 2017 at 2:11 pm
                  Its cool
                  • mccarrollm
                    mccarrollmWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:01 pm
                    i love this book but it is so long!
                    • tomeir
                      tomeirWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 2:46 pm44 stars
                      The book is sad but exciting