This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062399527
ISBN-13: 9780062399526
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • personWednesday, September 6, 2017 at 2:11 pm
    Its cool
    • mccarrollm
      mccarrollmWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:01 pm
      i love this book but it is so long!
      • tomeir
        tomeirWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 2:46 pm44 stars
        The book is sad but exciting
        • prettygirl1
          prettygirl1Saturday, September 6, 2014 at 11:55 am55 stars
          It might be long but it's good story
          • jhughes
            Ms. HughesMonday, November 4, 2013 at 12:25 pm55 stars
            Anna, the brother to Caleb and the daughter of Jacob tells a beautiful story of their life on the plains out west. Mama died after giving birth to Caleb and their happiness faded. There was no singing...until Papa put an add in the paper for a wife. Sarah takes a chance and responds back. This is the story of a family coming together against all odds imaginable. Does Sarah stay? Do they become a family? Do they sing again? This is a must reed book!
            • brmo
              brmoFriday, October 12, 2012 at 7:01 am
              it is goood
              • lexyheart
                lexyheartSaturday, September 1, 2012 at 8:01 am11 star
                I hated this book. It was so boring! Never read it.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                aracha
                aracha wrote:

                This is one of my favorite books...
                The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                alestr1718
                alestr1718 wrote:

                I'd love to read this.
                Surviving High School: A Novel

                Jake Paul wrote:

                Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                I have that book already!!!?!
                The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...