Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.48377

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062399527
ISBN-13: 9780062399526
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • miniongirlSunday, December 30, 2018 at 7:40 am
    I read the shorter version for school
    • wirdsmile
      wirdsmileMonday, April 23, 2018 at 7:16 amFeatured
      Have you lost a loved one? Because Anna has. Anna is nice,kind and loving. But I don't think she was to fund of her brother Caleb until the book Caleb's Story. Also the setting is inside the house and outside of the house. Also in chapter 1 they started to write to Sarah. Another is in chapter 3 Anna and Caleb's dad left to get a girl named Sarah. This book reminds me of my dad he didn't die. But I have not seen him in a very long time. I like the book Sarah, Plan and Tall because it kinda gives me the perspective of people that have lost a loved one. I recommend this book to 4th and 5th graders because it might be to hard for 1st, second and third graders.
      • personWednesday, September 6, 2017 at 2:11 pm
        Its cool
        • mccarrollm
          mccarrollmWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:01 pm
          i love this book but it is so long!
          • tomeir
            tomeirWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 2:46 pm44 stars
            The book is sad but exciting
            • prettygirl1
              prettygirl1Saturday, September 6, 2014 at 11:55 am55 stars
              It might be long but it's good story
              • jhughes
                Ms. HughesMonday, November 4, 2013 at 12:25 pm55 stars
                Anna, the brother to Caleb and the daughter of Jacob tells a beautiful story of their life on the plains out west. Mama died after giving birth to Caleb and their happiness faded. There was no singing...until Papa put an add in the paper for a wife. Sarah takes a chance and responds back. This is the story of a family coming together against all odds imaginable. Does Sarah stay? Do they become a family? Do they sing again? This is a must reed book!
                • brmo
                  brmoFriday, October 12, 2012 at 7:01 am
                  it is goood
                  • lexyheart
                    lexyheartSaturday, September 1, 2012 at 8:01 am11 star
                    I hated this book. It was so boring! Never read it.

                    Our Apps and Plugins