From the legendary creator of Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, and The Giving Tree comes an unforgettable new character in children's literature: Runny Babbit.

Runny Babbit is Shel Silverstein's hilarious and New York Times-bestselling book of spoonerisms—words or phrases with letters or syllables swapped: bunny rabbit becomes Runny Babbit.

Welcome to the world of Runny Babbit and his friends Toe Jurtle, Skertie Gunk, Rirty Dat, Dungry Hog, Snerry Jake, and many others who speak a topsy-turvy language all their own.

So if you say, "Let's bead a rook
That's billy as can se,"
You're talkin' Runny Babbit talk,
Just like mim and he.

And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, coming in fall 2017!

Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on September 26, 2006 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061130478
ISBN-13: 9780061130472
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • drama188
    drama188Saturday, April 16, 2016 at 9:04 am55 stars
    its so funny
    • nonstopreader
      nonstopreaderMonday, December 28, 2015 at 6:54 pm55 stars
      I love all of Shel Silverstein's books..they are all great,I rexcpmend this book to everyone who wants a good laugh!
      • chrystal13
        chrystal13Monday, June 22, 2015 at 2:15 pm44 stars
        This book is possibly for a slightly younger crowd than me, but I still like some of the poems, especially when the words are switched around and they make sense both ways. These are called spoonerisms, by the way, and they are fun to read and say!
        • danacreekside
          danacreeksideWednesday, August 20, 2014 at 10:11 am55 stars
          I loved Runny Babbot! i could never tet gired of it!
          • awesomekid1
            awesomekid1Monday, June 16, 2014 at 6:01 pm
            This Book was so funny,confusing,and weird
            • afine
              afineTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 1:49 pm
              i loved this book so much. I liked how the words were opposite of the other, which made it silly and funny
              • clemsongirl123
                clemsongirl123Tuesday, April 15, 2014 at 9:23 am55 stars
                I love this book
                • infinitydreams
                  infinitydreamsSunday, August 18, 2013 at 1:11 pm
                  I loved this book!!!! I read it a gazillion times but I still Love it! I recommend this book for ages from 9-15
                  • infinitydreams
                    infinitydreamsSaturday, August 17, 2013 at 10:09 am
                    I loved this book!!!! :) :p
                    • ocelot
                      ocelotSaturday, August 17, 2013 at 7:14 am
                      This book, as I agree, is a hard read. But understand it and read the poems that Shel Silverstein is trying to hide.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      dkmammula5697

                      love this book
                      Wonder

                      jasmine_panda

                      I absolutely LOVE this book, and...
                      Wonder