Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R3.931368
A heartfelt and witty debut about feeling different and finding acceptance--beyond the rules.

Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability. She's spent years trying to teach David the rules-from "a peach is not a funny-looking apple" to "keep your pants on in public"-in order to stop his embarrassing behaviors. But the summer Catherine meets Jason, a paraplegic boy, and Kristi, the next-door friend she's always wished for, it's her own shocking behavior that turns everything upside down and forces her to ask: What is normal?
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on April 1, 2006 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439443822
ISBN-13: 9780439443821
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zzayumi
    zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 12:44 pm
    This book is really good! It is about a girl named Catherine. She wants a normal life, but she has a little brother named David. He has autism, so Catherine is always tired of him.
    • james Monday, January 14, 2019 at 6:15 pm
      i was really intreaged about this book as reading it at a younger age and will support this book and share it to people
      • zykelilahufuxe
        zykelilahufuxeTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 11:19 am55 stars
        Really good book
        • BigWinniePoohMonday, November 19, 2018 at 4:37 pm
          In this book, Catherine is really wanting a normal life. It shows how you should be kind to those who have mental diseases
          • 6graderead
            6gradereadSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 8:26 am
            should i read it
            • evaizabooknerd
              evaizabooknerdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 6:54 pm44 starsFeatured
              What if you had an annoying 7-year-old brother, and he had autism? What if their was a girl just your age moving next door? And what if your worst enemy was the girl's new best friend? Believe it or not, all of this happened to 12 year old Catherine. She always escapes in her drawings, trying to get away from the screaming and tantrums from her brother. Then at her brother's clinic she makes a new friend, Jason. The only catch is: He's a paraplegic and he can't talk. He has to point at the words in a book. Catherine starts making new cards to put in Jason's book, such as: WHATEVER, and STINKS A BIG ONE. Has Catherine finally made a forever friend, or will her longing to be with the girl next door get in the way? This uplifting, encouraging, sad, inspirational and informational book by Cynthia Lord, is definitely a book that will make you cry if you have to set it down. I give this book 4 stars and hope you will take the time to read and enjoy it.
              • evaizabooknerd
                evaizabooknerdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:33 pm44 stars
                I can't believe I got editor's pick!
              • turtlecake2610
                turtlecake2610Sunday, March 19, 2017 at 6:04 pm
                I love this book! I read it for book clubs in my class, and it Rules! See what I did there?
                • parikhgr8
                  parikhgr8Monday, February 13, 2017 at 6:40 pm55 stars
                  Rules was a magnificent book. It showed that even if you have to deal with someone that really annoys, which in this case would be David, you can come out of that and be happy.
                  • parikhgr8
                    parikhgr8Monday, February 13, 2017 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                    Awesome job, dude!
                  • leylush
                    leylushTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:47 am55 stars
                    I decided to read this book because the back of he book interested me ,but if you look at the front it does really look interesting .And then I started reading, it was about a girl ,whose name was Catherine.Catherine had a brother with autism ,which a sickness when a person doesn't communicate with other people .So she decides to make rules for her brother.As you can see I recommend this book to you .So read rules and enjoy!
                    • sunshine246
                      sunshine246Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 7:42 am
                      This was a really good book. It mixed sad, happy, and funny really well. The style kept you interested the whole time!