The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • petitepup
    petitepupThursday, July 14, 2016 at 8:14 am
    I got this book for my birthday and it was really good! I recommend this book to girls who like, but aren't good and rollerblading.
    • squirmyloo
      squirmylooMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:21 pm
      Rating: 4 stars I recommend this book to confident girls who love to rollerblade.
      • squirmyloo
        squirmylooMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:19 pm
        This book is about the life of a girl who loves rollerblading and joins a rough and tough roller derby group.
        • magickitten
          magickittenFriday, May 27, 2016 at 8:21 pm55 stars
          This is a wonderful story about a young girl named Astrid that joins a roller derby camp in the summer after her mom takes her to a roller derby game. This is a very inspiring story.
          • cutesicles
            cutesiclesWednesday, May 25, 2016 at 7:13 am
            i got this book from my school book fair and it is awesome i finished it the next day though i wish her books were longer............................
            • cutesicles
              cutesiclesWednesday, May 25, 2016 at 7:15 am
              Rate: 5 stars
            • aub112705
              aub112705Saturday, April 23, 2016 at 9:09 am44 stars
              It is funny, happy, and determined, to make you like this book.
              • woodlandenwolf
                woodlandenwolfMonday, April 11, 2016 at 2:09 pm55 stars
                i so want this book!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • vanese
                  vaneseMonday, April 11, 2016 at 12:38 pm
                  i like this book
                  • dogopo
                    dogopoMonday, April 11, 2016 at 6:41 am55 stars
                    the theme of the story was good i cant say that i would recommend it for younger kids though i say from 8-18 so 10 age difference anyway good story 5 stars
                    • marcoc7
                      marcoc7Sunday, April 10, 2016 at 10:34 am44 stars
                      I must say, even though I'm not that interested in roller derby, I thought this was a great book. The illustrations were very good as well, and the writing was clever.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...