Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.217705
The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • goofball2000
    goofball2000Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at 6:01 pm55 stars
    I love this book. its a really good book and it is also a graphic novel. i think if you like graphic novels and also like the books by Raina Telgimier, you will like this book
    • smiley6
      smiley6Saturday, October 8, 2016 at 5:31 pmFeatured
      Thsi book was awesome ! It about a girl named Astrid who is 12 years old . Her best friend was Nicole , but become better friends with Zoey , who she meets in roller derby camp .Astrid really wants to be a roler derby girl . She is inspired by Rainbow Bite .While in roller derby camp , astrid had a hard time and gets many bruisses and bumps ! This book inspired me by teaching me to work hard and follow by dreams ! I really loved this book !
      • tortoise
        tortoiseTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 11:21 pm55 stars
        I know. AWESOME!
      • isbethFriday, September 30, 2016 at 5:06 pm
        so cool
        • lay123
          lay123Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:42 am55 stars
          When I read the first page of the book I thought it was boring but when I keep reading It was actually a good book to read.
          • AlexiciaTuesday, September 6, 2016 at 5:44 am
            this is a good book
            • SaraMonday, September 5, 2016 at 8:28 pm
              Loved the book! Rainbow bite is cool!
              • petitepup
                petitepupThursday, July 14, 2016 at 8:14 am
                I got this book for my birthday and it was really good! I recommend this book to girls who like, but aren't good and rollerblading.
                • squirmyloo
                  squirmylooMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:21 pm
                  Rating: 4 stars I recommend this book to confident girls who love to rollerblade.
                  • squirmyloo
                    squirmylooMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:19 pm
                    This book is about the life of a girl who loves rollerblading and joins a rough and tough roller derby group.
                    • magickitten
                      magickittenFriday, May 27, 2016 at 8:21 pm55 stars
                      This is a wonderful story about a young girl named Astrid that joins a roller derby camp in the summer after her mom takes her to a roller derby game. This is a very inspiring story.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...