The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • aub112705
    aub112705Saturday, April 23, 2016 at 9:09 am44 stars
    It is funny, happy, and determined, to make you like this book.
    • woodlandenwolf
      woodlandenwolfMonday, April 11, 2016 at 2:09 pm55 stars
      i so want this book!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • vanese
        vaneseMonday, April 11, 2016 at 12:38 pm
        i like this book
        • dogopo
          dogopoMonday, April 11, 2016 at 6:41 am55 stars
          the theme of the story was good i cant say that i would recommend it for younger kids though i say from 8-18 so 10 age difference anyway good story 5 stars
          • marcoc7
            marcoc7Sunday, April 10, 2016 at 10:34 am44 stars
            I must say, even though I'm not that interested in roller derby, I thought this was a great book. The illustrations were very good as well, and the writing was clever.
            • jigglypuff
              jigglypuffTuesday, February 23, 2016 at 11:33 am55 stars
              i also am excited about this bluebonnet it is about a girl named Astrid and her best friend Nicole and how all Astrid wants to be in a roller durby
              • pinkiep
                pinkiepThursday, February 18, 2016 at 7:26 am
                This is a great book!! It's about a girl nammed Astrid and she is best frenids with a girl named Nichole and they were best frenids until they aren't.
                • marsha789
                  marsha789Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 5:36 pm55 stars
                  this book was amazing I can't be a spoiler but i can't tell some people but the cover is basically remans the story for you if you've already read it.
                  • foodie11
                    foodie11Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 5:16 am55 stars
                    Super cute book about doing your best. It is about Astrid, a girl who wants to do roller derby but is not as good at it as she thought...
                    • dogopoFriday, December 18, 2015 at 3:42 pm
                      it is funny the illistations are good

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      endergamer116 wrote:

                      by the creator of captain underp...
                      Dog Man: A Tale of Two Kitties: ...

                      lw12345
                      lw12345 wrote:

                      You got tooo read it
                      Sunny (Track)

                      happy_pineapple

                      Amanda and Leo have been best fr...
                      11 Birthdays

                      goosy_grow_200

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson...