The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
42 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • marsha789
    marsha789Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 5:36 pm55 stars
    this book was amazing I can't be a spoiler but i can't tell some people but the cover is basically remans the story for you if you've already read it.
    • foodie11
      foodie11Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 5:16 am55 stars
      Super cute book about doing your best. It is about Astrid, a girl who wants to do roller derby but is not as good at it as she thought...
      • dogopoFriday, December 18, 2015 at 3:42 pm
        it is funny the illistations are good
        • lemonade11
          lemonade11Friday, December 18, 2015 at 3:03 pm
          this is a really good book! It is a graphic novel. This also looks like a great sport to try, and the author is very inspiring too! I TOTALLY recommend this book!!!!
          • readandeat
            readandeatMonday, September 28, 2015 at 4:32 pm55 stars
            Not only am inspired by the characters clothes, hair, and makeup, I'm inspired by the sport. It is an awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • alexis20
              alexis20Thursday, September 17, 2015 at 11:41 am55 stars
              It was amazing.
              • jenna22
                jenna22Friday, September 11, 2015 at 9:11 am55 stars
                this book is so funny
                • sunny128
                  sunny128Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 3:28 pm
                  I havent read this book yet but by reading the discription, this looks lika a REALLY good book!!
                  • nachonio
                    nachonioFriday, May 29, 2015 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                    I think this book was really good. I like drama and I think other people that are like me would like this book.
                    • dotiet
                      dotietWednesday, April 8, 2015 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                      This book is so good, definitely if you like drama, roller derby, and girl drama.I reccommend this to anybody who likes any of those things.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      Ok so this book was ok so what p...
                      Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      isaiahbird wrote:

                      i love it
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      isaiahbird wrote:

                      i love puppyyyyyyyyyyy
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      demosthenes

                      Not exactly my style of book. BU...
                      The 13-Story Treehouse (The Tree...