The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • vanese
    vaneseMonday, April 11, 2016 at 12:38 pm
    i like this book
    • dogopo
      dogopoMonday, April 11, 2016 at 6:41 am55 stars
      the theme of the story was good i cant say that i would recommend it for younger kids though i say from 8-18 so 10 age difference anyway good story 5 stars
      • marcoc7
        marcoc7Sunday, April 10, 2016 at 10:34 am44 stars
        I must say, even though I'm not that interested in roller derby, I thought this was a great book. The illustrations were very good as well, and the writing was clever.
        • jigglypuff
          jigglypuffTuesday, February 23, 2016 at 11:33 am55 stars
          i also am excited about this bluebonnet it is about a girl named Astrid and her best friend Nicole and how all Astrid wants to be in a roller durby
          • pinkiep
            pinkiepThursday, February 18, 2016 at 7:26 am
            This is a great book!! It's about a girl nammed Astrid and she is best frenids with a girl named Nichole and they were best frenids until they aren't.
            • marsha789
              marsha789Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 5:36 pm55 stars
              this book was amazing I can't be a spoiler but i can't tell some people but the cover is basically remans the story for you if you've already read it.
              • foodie11
                foodie11Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 5:16 am55 stars
                Super cute book about doing your best. It is about Astrid, a girl who wants to do roller derby but is not as good at it as she thought...
                • dogopoFriday, December 18, 2015 at 3:42 pm
                  it is funny the illistations are good
                  • lemonade11
                    lemonade11Friday, December 18, 2015 at 3:03 pm
                    this is a really good book! It is a graphic novel. This also looks like a great sport to try, and the author is very inspiring too! I TOTALLY recommend this book!!!!
                    • readandeat
                      readandeatMonday, September 28, 2015 at 4:32 pm55 stars
                      Not only am inspired by the characters clothes, hair, and makeup, I'm inspired by the sport. It is an awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hydythegreat

                      Really good. Love how it switche...
                      A Dog and His Girl Mysteries #1:...

                      hydythegreat

                      I love it so far! A story of two...
                      The Unwanteds

                      thequackster

                      I have all books by this guy min...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...

                      horsegirl2017

                      It isn't as good as the others b...
                      Harry Potter and the Cursed Chil...