Roll of Thunder Gift Set: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry; Let the Circle Be Unbroken; The Road to Memphis

In the deep south of the 1930s and early 40s, Cassie Logan and her family are confronted with the ugly faces of racial hatred and violence. But no matter how others may try to degrade them, the Logans stand together and stand proud, proving that courage, love, and understanding can defy even the deepest prejudice.
Paperback, 1 pages
Published on September 1, 1996 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0147743478
ISBN-13: 9780147743473
9 Book Reviews
  • neenee715
    neenee715Thursday, September 17, 2015 at 12:51 pm
    Roll of thunder, Hear My Cry is a great book. I didn't read it for school, I read because my dad bought it for my sister and I after suggesting we read it. He said that he didn't read a lot back then, but he read this over and over again
    • ikyra_marie
      ikyra_marieFriday, February 14, 2014 at 8:22 pm
      This story is about a 9-year-old girl named Cassie Logan who lives with her three brothers,Stacey,Christopher-John,Little Man,Papa,Mama,and Big Ma.Everday,the kids have to face racial injustice,rudeness,getting splashed with mud and dust by a bus carrying white children on purpose and other things.This angers everyone, especially Little Man who is a neat freak.The story goes on and characters like Uncle Hammer and Mr.Jamison come into play.During the Great Depression in the 1930's.Historical Fiction
      • ikyra_marie
        ikyra_marieFriday, February 14, 2014 at 9:23 am
        I really liked these books because it tells you how history was back then
        • raddude33
          raddude33Wednesday, March 6, 2013 at 2:45 pm55 stars
          It really tells how hard times were back then.It will drag you in!!!
          • bobcat4
            Mr. LeBlondSunday, August 19, 2012 at 10:25 pm55 stars
            A piece historical fiction that made me see the unfathomable from a fresh point of view. Hard to believe that this reflects US history. I will read it again, and again.
            • panda2335
              panda2335Sunday, August 5, 2012 at 2:59 pm
              this book is really good I had to read it for school it was awsome if you read it your going to love it.It sounds boring but it's really good if you like books about things that happen in history this is the book.
              • horseluver
                horseluverWednesday, January 11, 2012 at 11:24 am55 stars
                so many people think this is a "bad book" because it talks about negros and some of the white people call the black people niggers. i don't understand why. i mean that is part of life. this did happen and we shouldn't forget it so that it won't happen again. i think anyone can and should read this book. the girl in the book is curious and wants to know why she i treated differently than the white people. in the end whites and blacks have to come together to save a farm and no one is segregating!! i recommend this book to anyone of all ages!!!!!!
                • teacher_1655
                  Shannon RubinTuesday, December 27, 2011 at 7:21 am
                  From Curtis: It is about this poor family during the great depession and the family gets really segregated. Favorite quote: "That old snaggle- tooth- chicken- legged- cross!!" I recommend this book to a higher level reader.
                  • teacher_1655
                    Shannon RubinTuesday, December 27, 2011 at 7:21 am
                    From Curtis: It is about this poor family during the great depession and the family gets really segregated. Favorite quote: "That old snaggle- tooth- chicken- legged- cross!!" I recommend this book to a higher level reader.