Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 2 - 8W4.3n/a

"Red is the most wonder-filled fairy tale of them all!”—Chris Grabenstein, New York Times Bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Red is not afraid of the big bad wolf. She’s not afraid of anything . . . except magic.
But when Red’s granny falls ill, it seems that only magic can save her, and fearless Red is forced to confront her one weakness.

With the help of a blond, porridge-sampling nuisance called Goldie, Red goes on a quest to cure Granny. Her journey takes her through dwarves’ caverns to a haunted well and a beast’s castle. All the while, Red and Goldie are followed by a wolf and a huntsman—two mortal enemies who seek the girls’ help to defeat each other. And one of them just might have the magical solution Red is looking for. . . .

Liesl Shurtliff weaves a spellbinding tale, shining the spotlight on a beloved character from her award-winning debut, Rump.

And don't miss Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, "a delightful story of family, perseverance and courage" (Booklist).

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 12, 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 038575583X
ISBN-13: 9780385755832
11 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • brandonMonday, April 24, 2017 at 9:56 am
    i seen this book
    • destunyThursday, April 20, 2017 at 12:29 pm
      o my good
      • fatman200000000
        fatman200000000Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 12:25 pm
        cool i like it
        • vvMonday, April 17, 2017 at 8:39 pm
          loved it
          • valladaresu
            valladaresuFriday, April 14, 2017 at 12:20 pm
            I love it to goldeen
            • valladaresu
              valladaresuFriday, April 14, 2017 at 12:19 pm
              This a book that a little girl that was going to her Garland some food.you should the book
              • goldeenMonday, April 10, 2017 at 7:17 am
                this book is funny and I love it.
                • lildee08
                  lildee08Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
                  I wanted to read the book Red because it looked very interesting. I found out the only thing Red was afraid of was magic, which pops up just about everywhere in the book. This book is for people who like magic and fairytales.
                  • madimin05
                    madimin05Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:18 pm
                    i love magic books so this would be good for me
                  • fuzzle
                    fuzzleMonday, April 18, 2016 at 3:01 pm
                    M e too! I read the first few pages at my library, but another kid took it out! And never returned it!
                    • hollowitz
                      hollowitzTuesday, March 22, 2016 at 6:57 pm
                      I want to read it!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      nerdyunicorn

                      This book is filled with action....
                      The Shadows (The Books of Elsewh...

                      sydnaaaaaaaay wrote:

                      this is a really cute book i lov...
                      125 Pet Rescues: From Pound to P...

                      lokidaftr87

                      Its a very good book because my ...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...