Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.466657
This chilling NYT bestseller from Anthony Horowitz, "a master of edge-of-your-seat writing" (Booklist, starred) is "an exhilarating read" (Kirkus) that "should attract a strong following" (PW)

As punishment for a crime he didn't really commit, Matt was given a choice: go to jail or go live with an old woman named Mrs. Deverill in a remote town called Lesser Malling.
He should have chosen jail.
A strange and sinister plan is coming together made in Lesser Malling, with Matt at the center of it all. People who try to help him disappear . . . or die. It all ties to an evil place named Raven's Gate - a place whose destiny is horrifyingly intertwined with Matt's own.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on June 1, 2005 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439679958
ISBN-13: 9780439679954
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kltoad
    kltoadThursday, April 13, 2017 at 6:22 pm55 stars
    It is about a boy named Matthew Freeman ( AKA Matt Freeman ) who finds out he has powers and he has to find other kids with powers that can help fight shape-shifters called The Old Ones. I rate 5/5 stars.
    • langston_p
      langston_pMonday, January 25, 2016 at 8:16 pm55 stars
      I knew that this book was going to be good right when I saw it. It is about a 14 year old orphan named Matthew Freeman and he goes by the name Matt. His parents got killed when their tire popped and they died falling off a bridge. His mother's sister (or step sister) Gwenda adopts him. He eventually meets a guy called Kelvin and they start committing crime. They eventually get caught while trying to burgle a store and Matt gets a new foster parent. But when he gets to the place he finds out some very strange things and finds out that the people in his new village want to kill him. I am very thankful that I found this book and it was extremely great.
      • lamps
        lampsTuesday, January 12, 2016 at 1:47 pm55 stars
        why i love this book why because. what if you were like that character adopted by an old lady and the only reason she adopted you was just to kill you. witches and witchcraft non-believers and believers this is what this book is about
        • aboveben
          abovebenThursday, December 11, 2014 at 7:12 pm55 stars
          Anthony Horowitz is easily my favourite author all his books leave me wishing i was the main character. I found this book at school and decided to read it and i am glad i did! This book has horror and action. The story is about a boy named matt who is living with his aunt but then he gets sent to a foster home and strange things start to happen. I strongly recommend you read this book
          • lild11
            lild11Thursday, September 11, 2014 at 8:41 am55 stars
            This is one of my favorite books! It has a lot of action packed scenes and is a book with magic. It also has like fake things. Really it is about a kid named Matt who had been brought to a foster home and it was and evil town who wanted to sacrifice him to the old ones. The old ones are these evil beings that want to make the world ruined. Matt and four others have to keep the gates ,that the old one are trying to get through,closed. This black magic story is one that when you start reading it you can't put it back down.
            • alexistaumata
              alexistaumataThursday, March 28, 2013 at 6:44 pm55 stars
              this is a seriously amazing book and I have read them all but the last and they are worth the time it takes to read them I can almost guaranty it but I'm a real bookworm so you might feel differently to me.
              • alexistaumata
                alexistaumataThursday, March 28, 2013 at 6:14 pm55 stars
                THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!! It is the 1st in the series and probably the best but I don't know because I can't find the last book anywhere!!!!!!!!!!
                • spswitzer
                  Ms. SwitzerWednesday, January 2, 2013 at 8:46 am33 stars
                  The books has a lot of characters with intriguing qualities. Some readers may need to take notes about the character's names and roles. There are opportunities to explore related topics such as the geography of England, Nuclear energy, Pandora's Box, the legend of Merlin. Enjoy and read carefully as the book is laying groundwork for a series.
                  • nadiyah Friday, December 21, 2012 at 2:25 pm
                    ive read all of them and theyre great
                    • sierra2699
                      sierra2699Thursday, December 13, 2012 at 3:05 am55 stars
                      I think anyone who loves a story with mystery, drama, and adventure is in a shooin to love this book. Definately would recomend the series.