Ranger's Apprentice (The Ruins of Gorlan, Book One)

Book 1 of 12 in the Ranger's Apprentice Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10U7.068203
The fantasy adventure that launched the international bestselling series, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaks and shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger’s apprentice. What he doesn’t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Here is the fantasy adventure that launched the Ranger's Apprentice series, an epic story of heroes and villains that has become an international phenomenon. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on June 16, 2005 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399244549
ISBN-13: 9780399244544
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • izukumidoriya48
    izukumidoriya48Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:15 am55 stars
    Ranger's apprentice is a very suspenseful book that leaves you on the edge of your seat making you not want to stop reading. Ranger's apprentice takes place during the medieval times when knights and castles had existed. It starts out with an orphan Will (the main character) who is struggling to keep up with his fellow orphans who want to pursue their dreams of aspiring their perfect career for them, Will, one of the skinniest and shortest kids in the orphanage wants to go to battle school to aspire his dream. Sadly enough Will's dreams were crushed when the choosing ceremony took place, but then something remarkable happened...
    • senordorito949
      senordorito949Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
      Have you heard the term silent but deadly? Well, that's basically the rangers of Araluen. Do you love castles, knights, and sneaky spies? Then this is the book for you! Experience the optimistic, ever-friendly, determined ranger in training, Will! Also find the grim, grumpy, cold, ranger Halt! Many characters introduced are gems in the mine of this masterpiece! Find the rangers looking for ways to stop the evil Morgarath, Lord of the mountain of rain and night. And, most of all, keep the Kalkara away from the King! As this wonder unfolds before readers, many will be inticed on page one! John Flanagan is the author of this series and more. Keep on writing as we keep on reading, John!
      • bytimeci-158023957895
        bytimeci-158023957895Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:00 am55 stars
        The ranger's apprentice: ruins of gorlan is a thrilling book that will ked you on the edge of your seat. If you love a book that takes place in medieval times, then it is a great choice for you. The main. character, will. Lives in an orphanage known as the ward. In the ward, he was placed in a choosing ceremony. where masters choose their apprentice to mentor. When will goes up, he is not accepted by a single master. Accept the one that thinks there is something special about him.
        • milkling
          milklingFriday, May 31, 2019 at 8:42 am55 stars
          It's so good. Will who got picked as an Apprentice under Halt, one of the best trained Ranger's to help Will in times of evil and good.
          • raardvark18
            raardvark18Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 9:06 am44 stars
            I have not even passed the first chapter and this book is very detailed and I can imagine everything(Which I've never done before).
            • MiaSunday, December 9, 2018 at 9:36 am
              I found this book series the best one I have ever read! It just draws you in and you can't stop reading. I loved all 12 books but my favorite would have to be the last one. I'm bot saying why because then that would just spoil the book for other people. This was the first book I read in 4th grade I have always been an advanced reader and I love fantasy. The moment I saw that book I knew I was going to read the whole series, and I did! I'm looking for more books by this author. I've also always loved writing and this story has inspired me to make story like this!
              • J.KWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 9:14 am
                I found this book very intriguing. As an 8th grader i found that this book drew me in and i wanted more and more of this series. I fell in love with all of the characters and my favorite character is Halt. I enjoy Halt and his mean behavior, although he really cares about the people he cares about most. Will is interesting because he is just very caring and would do anything for his friends. Will is a great comrade to have in battle. Gilan is very... well let's say that he is very goofy, but he is one of the best trained rangers with amazing talent in not only the ranger field, but in the knight range as well. Horace's behavior at the beginning had me angry at him and my hate blossomed. Then whenever he began to act nicer as Will and him became friends. Then he got a taste of his own medicine in battleschool which made me believe that he would learn from it. I'm very happy that he did. I absolutely love this book and I enjoyed the entire series in general. I'm looking forward to more books coming out to the additional 16.
                • A.RFriday, November 23, 2018 at 7:11 am
                  Ranger's Apprentice :THE Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan The Ruins of Gorlan is a part fantasy and medieval times book. The story is about 4 main characters named Halt, Will, Gilan, and Horace trying to hunt the Kalkara. Rumors are that the Kalkara may have killed the general of Redmont Castle’s army. The author did a very good job of developing the characters. I felt like the characters were real and I could meet them. The action and story developed at a very good pace. The setting is in medieval times which makes it the best because it all fits together. The story line, weapons and the setting all fit together. I recommend you to be 10 or up to read this book. If you like fantasy, action or Medieval times I know you will like this book.
                  • lains24
                    lains24Wednesday, October 24, 2018 at 8:05 am55 stars
                    Sorry I haven’t been on lately! I was working on a project about this book! The Ruins of Gorlan!
                    • kittyreeree
                      kittyreereeTuesday, October 16, 2018 at 6:18 pm55 stars
                      Amazing! Two people recommended these books to me and I’m not disappointed.