Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.334902

A New York Times Bestseller!

Rose Howard is obsessed with homonyms. She's thrilled that her own name is a homonym, and she purposely gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein), which, according to Rose's rules of homonyms, is very special. Not everyone understands Rose's obsessions, her rules, and the other things that make her different – not her teachers, not other kids, and not her single father.

When a storm hits their rural town, rivers overflow, the roads are flooded, and Rain goes missing. Rose's father shouldn't have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search.

Hearts will break and spirits will soar for this powerful story, brilliantly told from Rose's point of view.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312643004
ISBN-13: 9780312643003
62 Book Reviews
  • daydolphin
    daydolphinMonday, May 3, 2021 at 8:07 am55 stars
    I really like the book rain reign because it is really sad but also really happy. Also Ann M. Martin gave a great sense of what the story was about and added great dialogue and detail. she showed the emotion in it, also when something sad happened and it makes the character sad it makes you sad.
    • purplepanda10
      purplepanda10Tuesday, January 19, 2021 at 3:06 pm33 stars
      good so far. 🐶
      • gold3nglare
        gold3nglareWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 10:57 am44 stars
        I straight up started bawling when I read this. Rose is an autistic girl who is into homophobes. This is a good book about autistic awareness. My nephew has autism, and I think h would be able to relate to this. My cousin also has autism.
        • shootingstars
          shootingstarsFriday, January 10, 2020 at 8:01 pm55 stars
          I read this book a while ago but fell in love with it! The reading level is about 3-5 and the count of pages is 34, 901. I would recommend this book! WARNING! SPOILER ALERT! This book is about a girl named Rose Howard. The character loves homonyms. A homonym is each of two or more words having the same spelling or pronunciation but different meanings and origins. For example, ¨Bye¨ can also be spelled like this ¨Buy, or ¨By¨. Each word means something different but the have the same pronunciation. The title and her name is a homonyms. She is does not have many good relationships, not her father, teacher or kids in her class. No one understands her or sees her in the way she does. She finds this dog named, Rain (homonym is Reign). One day a huge thunderstorm hits her town. Places begin to flood and Rain shows up missing! Rain has a phobia of thunder, lightning and storms. Can Rose find her dog? Is it too late? This book will break your heart and mend it back together. I assure you, you will be frantically be flipping through pages just to figure out what happens next. Read this book by Ann M. Martin and make sure to read more of her novels! -ShootingStars
          • Catlover2424Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 2:48 pm
            I honestly thought this book had a terrible ending. But the rest was very powerful and made me think.
            • bookworm15Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 10:03 am
              Love this book so far
              • meWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 10:05 am
                this book is so sad and amazing at the same time.
                • AlienBookThursday, February 22, 2018 at 6:15 am
                  This was an amazing book! So inspiring!
                  • AmazingCat9Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 5:19 pm
                    AMAZING
                    • AmazingCat9Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 5:19 pm
                      Amazing