Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.362529
Infiltrate. Befriend. Sabotage.
World War II is raging. Michael O'Shaunessey, originally from Ireland, now lives in Nazi Germany with his parents. Like the other boys in his school, Michael is a member of the Hitler Youth.

But Michael has a secret. He and his parents are spies.

Michael despises everything the Nazis stand for. But he joins in the Hitler Youth's horrific games and book burnings, playing the part so he can gain insider knowledge.

When Michael learns about Projekt 1065, a secret Nazi war mission, things get even more complicated. He must prove his loyalty to the Hitler Youth at all costs -- even if it means risking everything he cares about.

Including... his own life.

From acclaimed author Alan Gratz (Prisoner B-3087) comes a pulse-pounding novel about facing fears and fighting for what matters most.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on October 11, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880165
ISBN-13: 9780545880169
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tjThursday, November 15, 2018 at 3:00 pm
    Awesome book! Suggest to anyone
    • gewudyzafihuwi
      gewudyzafihuwiTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 11:59 am
      He is a spy for the youth if he gets caught he will die. His parents are also spies from another state.
      • dwightschrute
        dwightschruteMonday, November 5, 2018 at 2:01 pm55 stars
        Project 1065 is a heart warming, electrifying, stay up all night reading kind of book. although it gets intense I would recommend this book to anyone. you need to read this story now!
        • Hard CriticFriday, December 15, 2017 at 3:01 pm
          This book is a great book, the writing style is undeniably perfect for people in 5th to 8th, but its spy plot is almost written as if it's a James Bond screenplay. It sometimes gets completely ridiculous! A lot of the parts of this book are great and extremely historically accurate, while some, (like the time the main character fights on top of a moving train on top of the Swiss Alps at just thirteen, not making this up), are total gibberish. It is a wonderful page turner that will instantly get you hooked, but calling this an accurate history novel is simply untrue in every way.
          • papertundra605
            papertundra605Sunday, March 12, 2017 at 8:36 am55 stars
            I really love this book. It's awesome i love the story about michael. And his friend friz spoilers alert and. At the end michael betray's friz and he. Die's best world war 2 book.
            • smiley4
              smiley4Tuesday, November 15, 2016 at 6:43 pm
              I have not read this book yet! I really want to! I read prisoner B 3087 and loved it. I have not been able to get it but I am really exited to read it!!!!!!!
              • harrypotter111Monday, November 7, 2016 at 8:40 am
                really good book, keeps you on the edge of your seat!
                • maddyp18
                  maddyp18Sunday, August 28, 2016 at 10:00 am55 stars
                  Michael O'Shaunessey is Irish. His parents are ambassadors to Germany, and right now the family of three lives in Germany. But, Michael's parents are spies for the Allies, and Michael is a member of the Hitler Youth, like all the other boys in Germany. Michael hates the Nazi's and he hates the Nazi's hatred of Jews. Michael participates in the Hitler Youth's terrible book burnings and their horrible idea of fun, so he can help is parents spy, and get secret information. Then, Michael and his family learn about Projekt 1065, from the British Jew they are hiding, and Michael has to prove how loyal he is to Germany, and Hitler, to go on a trip to save the lives of many, instead of killing them. Will Michael succeed and become a hero, or will he fail and die? I loved this book so much! Michael is brave, strong, trustworthy, and thoughtful. Michael was really brave when he faced his fear of heights and jumped of a two story building into a swimming pool! Also, the message in this story is that sometimes you have to sacrifice someone for the sake of the war. This is an action filled historical story, that both boys and girls will love! I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  booklover2017

                  OMG this sounds gooood
                  Storybound

                  booklover2017

                  Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                  Storybound

                  booklover2017

                  I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                  How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                  booklover2017

                  Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                  Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                  Our Apps and Plugins