Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3707 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • elle_the_cookie
    elle_the_cookieSaturday, September 21, 2019 at 7:41 am55 stars
    I have never Read the book but I have watched the movie and its a classic!
    • GoldenGamer156Friday, September 20, 2019 at 8:59 am
      I took 2 weeks reading carefully. It was a really good and sad book. Thank you whoever created it
      • hufflepuffcat
        hufflepuffcatWednesday, September 18, 2019 at 6:00 pm55 stars
        this book is really good, i liked it soooooooo much Choose Kind!!
        • AlexiaWednesday, September 18, 2019 at 11:11 am
          I love the book
          • Anoop sk sk sksTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 12:55 pm
            amazing I recamend it is realy good were all wonders
            • JosephTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 11:52 am
              cool
              • battyboo
                battybooMonday, September 16, 2019 at 6:19 pm55 stars
                This book is sooo good!I think this book is for any and every person who likes to read!It is so great!
                • buby
                  bubySunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:12 pm55 stars
                  I love this book so much and I read it over and over again.It's to good.
                  • HiFriday, September 13, 2019 at 11:26 am
                    I like it
                    • thebigbutt
                      thebigbuttWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                      itwas great, and i cant wait for the new ones

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi