Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1897 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jini0710
    jini0710Friday, September 20, 2019 at 4:52 pm55 stars
    This is so good. I finished the series!!
    • chupacabra
      chupacabraFriday, September 20, 2019 at 6:13 am55 stars
      Well i have red all main stream harry potter books and this has always been the best one beacuse well it has the most action and everyone gets a moment to shine!
      • hermionekarisma
        hermionekarismaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
        Hermione is the best. I am quite like her so I can relate
        • hermionekarisma
          hermionekarismaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
          This is the best book ever. It is about a wizard who is older than me ,11, (Im only 10.) who gets a letter to a wizarding school of a platform that he doesn't know exists. Then he finds out about everything about the wizarding world and he loves it. then he finds out about an evil called voldemort. Then he has to fight him to get hold of a powerful sorcerers stone. Eventually dumbledore destroys it and nicholas flamel dies.
          • lily4610
            lily4610Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:35 am
            It is a very intresting book about how harry potter came to be.It also is very sweet and simple and is the one of the best books in the world.
            • cutiecupzThursday, August 22, 2019 at 8:01 am
              i love it so much
              • Ginny weasley Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 1:40 am
                This book is amazing Ginny weasley is my favourite
                • Sorting hatWednesday, August 14, 2019 at 1:15 pm
                  So amazing!! My fav character is hermione!
                  • kiapaint
                    kiapaintFriday, August 9, 2019 at 12:04 pm55 stars
                    I have seen both the movie and the book they are so good I don't even know what to say!
                    • cue
                      cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:41 pm
                      I know lots of people love harry potter, but I really don't think that it is all that. It is entertaining but lets be real the story of kid wizards isn't original. However, it was worth the read, but I think the movies are better entertainment.

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi