Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series)

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SAYANFriday, August 16, 2019 at 7:11 am
    l think this book is very very nice and cool
    • imabookworm3
      imabookworm3Friday, August 9, 2019 at 8:24 am55 stars
      I decided to read this book because it is about a different culture. I thought it was pretty good because she has to save the world and she meets friends along the way and there is a lot of suspense. Overall this book was really good.
      • kitkat4
        kitkat4Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 5:11 pm33 stars
        Exciting, funny.
        • JoliaSunday, June 23, 2019 at 1:39 am
          I bet it's cool super cool right eveyone?
          • JM The GreatFriday, June 7, 2019 at 11:39 am
            Amazing
            • marshmallow21
              marshmallow21Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 8:00 pm55 stars
              AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • Derpy Girl 13Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 3:48 pm
                O M G !Rick Riordan is one of my all time favorite authors and if you loved this book I totally recommend Percy Jackson, Heros of Olympus,and basically all of his other books.
                • mysteryturtle24
                  mysteryturtle24Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:09 am55 stars
                  I read this book because I heard from somebody about the Rick Riordan Presents Series, and I couldn't wait to see how the books were. When I finally found this, I was not disappointed in the least. I loved how the author kept the same style of humor that Rick Riordan usually injects into his books, and that it was still solid with tons of information about the culture and mythology. This is a great book to read if you liked anything by Rick Riordan, which is kind of hard not to. So what are you waiting for? Go read this book!
                  • hiWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:08 pm
                    This book is amazing. It's hilarious and when I read it I couldn't stop. I would definitely recommend it. The book had everything!!
                    • athlete08
                      athlete08Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:09 am
                      OHHHHHHHHHHHH, this looks so GOOD!! Thanks for telling me which grade it should be rated monstergalaxy! Really Helpful.

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi