Award-winning digital media star Zach King brings his unique brand of magic to the first installment of a lively, fun-filled trilogy about Zach, a middle schooler in search of his magical powers while navigating the crazy, confusing world of public school.

Big Nate meets DanTDM in a debut middle grade adventure by social media superstar Zach King. The book comes complete with a code for a downloadable app that brings Zach’s vibrant world to fully animated, three-dimensional life. Zach King: My Magical Life is also coming to theaters soon, as the project has been picked up by Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Entertainment.

Everyone in Zach King’s family has a magical power. His father can turn back time, his sister can turn invisible, and his mother can transform any object into something else. And Zach…well, he hasn’t found his magical power yet and his family is growing worried that he’s been “skipped.”

So his parents decide to stop homeschooling him in magical arts and send him instead to a regular middle school with regular kids. To Zach, it’s the worst news ever. Who wants to be ordinary when everyone around them is extraordinary?

But Zach quickly learns that going to regular school with regular kids isn’t all that bad. Who knew having real friends would be so much fun? And just when Zach least expects it, he discovers a pair of magical snapbacks that might just be the magical thing he’s been looking for his whole life. The only thing standing in his way is the school bully, Tricia Stands. She’s determined to make sure Zach doesn’t get more popular than she is, and so she plans a prank so awful, so evil, it could cause the biggest disaster Horace Greeley Middle School has ever seen.

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Timmy Failure, and DanTDM: Trayaurus and the Enchanted Crystal and anyone who’s ever wondered where they belong, this is the perfect book for you.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062677187
ISBN-13: 9780062677181
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • applemango
    applemangoTuesday, July 17, 2018 at 3:29 am33 stars
    Cool Book.........But I'm not really into this book....it is pretty good just not my style of fantasy....well I can't really express my feelings for this book it was kinda cool...
    • auntieb
      auntiebSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 11:50 am33 stars
      Zach King: My Magical Life is a lighthearted book that I enjoyed. When I first picked out this book I thought it wouldn't really be that great but I actually enjoyed it!
      • jso6
        jso6Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 9:59 am44 stars
        Zach King lives in a magical family. Everyone in his family has magical powers, except for him, so his parents decide to stop homeschooling him, and send him to a normal middle school called Horace Greeley Middle School.
        • bunny_ball
          bunny_ballMonday, June 18, 2018 at 8:27 am44 stars
          This was a good book. It is about a boy from a magical family but he doesn't know what his magical item is. I liked finding out what his magical item was. He was homeschooled but then went to school and I enjoyed reading about him making friends. There are little comics mixed in with the story and I liked looking at the pictures. I recommend this book.
          • happy_cat
            happy_catSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:58 am44 stars
            Do you know Zach King? Did you ever watch his amazing YouTube videos? If you don't know already, Zach King is a magician YouTuber who creates unbelievable (but fake!) magic. Zach's whole family have magical powers (like the book Savvy) except him, and they did not know why. I really am enjoying this book, and I am happy it is about one of my Favorite YouTubers on the face of the earth!
            • eybook2018
              eybook2018Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 7:22 pm
              Zach King: My Magical Life is a fun adventurous book about zack's "magical life". And its very fun to read and enjoy. It has many laughs in it too.
              • catface7312
                catface7312Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 9:01 pm33 stars
                The main character, Zach King, is 11 years old. He comes from a family that has generations of magic powers. Everyone in his family found their magical item when they were children, but unfortunately, Zach hasn't found his yet. So his parents send him and his sister to a non-magical middle school just in case Zach doesn't have magical powers. Zach learns a lot there and it's a fun book to read.
                • belle252
                  belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:04 pm55 stars
                  i like to watch his vines and reading his book is really interesting,I really love the flashlight part it really pulls the reader in, This book is so magical honestly it feels like you are in the book.
                  • spykitten
                    spykittenSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 10:46 am22 stars
                    I didn't like this book. I liked the idea of the story but not the writing style. It felt long and kind of boring. I thought it would be more interesting then it was. I read 1 chapter and I didn't want to read another. I liked the pictures and comics, though. It was about a boy named Zach and his whole family has a magical power, except Zach. I wouldn't recommend this book.
                    • kruzingwithk9s
                      kruzingwithk9sSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 9:03 am55 stars
                      This book is about a boy whose family has magic powers. But he does not have any so they think he may have been missed. A very funny book that you need to read.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255