Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043220
ISBN-13: 9781250043221
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dolphin8
    dolphin8Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 7:01 pm44 stars
    i am almoste done with this book, but i want to review it for summer. this made my mom cry the tree is the main person in the story and its about it. it gets to heer wishes for lots of things if you like wishes and trees and animals it good is
    • jwarne
      jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:38 pm55 stars
      This book made my mom cry. We read it together and it was really really beautiful. I thought about maybe making a wish tree in our yard, too.
      • strawberry1234
        strawberry1234Friday, July 27, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
        So far this has been a great book. I like the detail and how the story is very flowing . I hope more new things come and I get to enjoy this book as much I hope I will
        • happy_cat
          happy_catWednesday, July 25, 2018 at 7:46 pm55 starsFeatured
          This isn’t a good book, not even a great book. It’s an utterly amazing novel! <3 I don’t reallt like the author Katherine Applegate, but the style and perspective she wrote this book in - from the point of view of a TREE - was amazing. You will actually think she has experienced life as a tree. Enough complimenting. This book is about Red, a “wishtree”, meaning people write their wishes on a paper and tie it around Red. Red has animal friends, and has a peaceful life - u til the new family move in! A MUST READ!
          • llpanda
            llpandaTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:16 pm33 stars
            Trees can talk. Yes I know it sounds crazy but I should know. I just read a book written by a tree named Red. Red has an amazing story about the power of wishes. I also enjoyed the antics of Bongo the Crow, and the baby animals. This book is more for kids grade four and under.
            • dreambig100
              dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:32 pm44 stars
              Wishtree is a wonderful tale that is about friendship, hope, family, and most importantly wishes. Red is a 216 year old oak tree, or more commonly known as a wishtree. A wishtree is a tree that is known for granting wishes to help the people around it. Red has a secret because she can talk. Every animal and plant can talk. One day a 10 year old girl named Samar asks Red for a friend. Samar is not like everyone else in that town she is special and different. Samar comes to the tree every night to talk with the tree. Red finds a wanting to grant her wish because she sees something in Samar that is not in others. With the help of Red's best friend Bongo they might be able to help Samar find a friend. I really enjoyed how the author put this book in the perspective of a 216 year old oak tree. This book was so well written that you might even believe that trees can talk.
              • readingkendal
                readingkendalSunday, July 8, 2018 at 12:15 pm55 stars
                Red is the neighborhood wishtree. Every May 1st people adorn Red with pieces of paper tied with a string, pieces of fabric, anything with a wish written on it. When a new family moves into the neighborhood people ignore them. Then when the Red is threatened with the word LEAVE written on his bark. The animals that live inside of him get nervous and is going to be cut down it's up to new friends Stephen and Samar to save Red. Will they succeed? Or will Red be doomed?
                • ajg15
                  ajg15Friday, July 6, 2018 at 5:18 pm44 stars
                  Like all red trees, this one is no different...red is a beautiful tree that is 216 rings old almost her entire life she's been a wish tree. She was planted in a wonderful mixed neighborhood. But when an immigrant family moves into the neighborhood a mean boy carved "LEAVE" into her trunk the young girl and her parents think should move. With the help of a young boy (the girls new friend) and a few animals they help her family feel welcome. They even save red from meeting a terrible fate, by showing how amazing she really is. This is a real heart warming book. I loved it very much. -Ajg15
                  • pizzagirl7
                    pizzagirl7Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 10:05 am44 stars
                    This book was WONDERFUL! So red the neighborhood wish tree she is a red oak tree and people make wishes and tie any type of cloth on the tree. But throughout the book it's wonderful red has animal and human friends but a new family moves in and a boy that wasn't to nice... Wrote "LEAVE" right on her trunk but everything works out and the boy gets stopped but everything is fine. There is so much adventure. I love it SO much! I rate it 4 stars. I recommend for all ages. Everyone needs to read it! 😘
                    • armcginn
                      armcginnWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 5:01 pm55 stars
                      Kathrine Applegate weaves yet another beautifully told story, this time is told from a stunning perspective, a old red oak tree called Red! This book is full of wonderful surprises!

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3841
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins