Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.6n/a
Cora is a small mermaid with a BIG personality. But like so many mermaids in the third grade, she is struggling to truly be herself.

She wants to be like the Singing Sirens, the most glamorous swim team in the sea. Unfortunately, an annoying road--er, seablock--keep getting in her way.

When Cora fails her spelling test, her coach says she can’t be on the team unless she gets an A on the next one!

Can Cora conquer her spelling test, make the swim team, AND stay true to herself at the same time?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545918162
ISBN-13: 9780545918169
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:20 am33 stars
    This book is about a mermaid named Cora. She really wants to join the singing sirens, but she gets bad grades on her spelling test, and so her Mom gives her a journal. I only read this book for Dogo, but it was actually sort of good.
    • midnightluna
      midnightlunaThursday, July 12, 2018 at 9:08 am33 stars
      Third Grade Mermaid is a story of a mermaid named Cora who wants to be on the swim team but has sadly failed her spelling test. As someone who has struggled with spelling, I enjoyed Cora's struggle greatly.
      • kharigirl
        kharigirlFriday, June 29, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
        What a cute story about a little mermaid dealing with school and her mom.
        • auntieb
          auntiebThursday, June 21, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
          Third Grade Mermaid is a really quirky story of Cora who fails her spelling test so her coach tells her in order to be on the swim team she has to pass her next spelling test. Join Cora as she studies rescues a giant shrimp and more! I also really love the illustrations they were so darling! Even though I am pretty old to read this book I still really like it I could see reading it aloud to younger children!
          • unicornbrain
            unicornbrainTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 2:20 pm55 stars
            This book is great! I like mermaids and Third Grade Mermaid is about a really funny mermaid named Cora. Cora is really funny. She thought there was a trick to learn spelling words. So she asked her friends what is the trick to spelling, and they had no idea what she was talking about. Everyone knows you need to study to get better at spelling. It was hilarious that she thought there was a magic way to be a better speller. I also like that her friends support her like friends should! This has to do when one of the other mermaids was bullying her. Way to go friends! One of my favorite parts of the book is when she find a GIGANTIC shrimp and brings it home; and then her brother gets an allergic reaction. She did not know he was allergic to exoskeleton animals.
            • jwise
              jwiseFriday, June 15, 2018 at 4:09 pm55 stars
              I thank this book is a osme book and you should come this book because I thank it is a good book and I thank every body will like it so I hope you read this book and hope you have a good time reading this book and just an case I did not tell you I like it and I haveint told you all how money stars i give this and I give it 5stars with is a 100 thank you for reading hope you all have a great summer
              • dybook2018
                dybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:22 am
                Third Grade Mermaid is like a girly book but when you read it its for everyone to read and laugh. I liked to read it to and i hope you will to!
                • fasturtle
                  fasturtleWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 5:41 am33 stars
                  i thought is was funny
                  • eybook2018
                    eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:50 pm
                    Third Grade Mermaid is a very fun book that I read to my brothers and they really enjoyed it! I also enjoyed it. It's not really as like a girl book but a good read aloud kind of book.
                    • nybook2018
                      nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:26 pm
                      the Third Grade Mermaid was a great book when I read it. I don't like mermaids but I like the story of the mermaid in this story.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255