An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozen’s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year. But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor . . . until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden.

There, they find a world in turmoil. The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other, the beloved unicorns have disappeared, and terrible wraiths roam freely. Scared, the girls return home. But when Sophie vanishes in the night, it will take all of Claire's courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns' greatest secret.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681192454
ISBN-13: 9781681192451
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
    I loved this book! I can't wait to read the next one! Sophie has always been brave. She was brave when she had an unusual illness. She was brave around her parents. She was so brave that she led her sister up the fireplace and into a whole new world. But now she's missing, and it's up to Claire to find her.She has to discover the secret of the unicorns to save her sister. How will she find that out? I think you should read this book! It will blow your mind!
    • reader_red
      reader_redMonday, July 15, 2019 at 12:42 pm55 stars
      Sophie is Claire's older sister who suffered an illness, but now things are back to normal. One day, however, the girls climb up a ladder in a fireplace at Windmere Manor. The ladder takes them to an enchanted World full of magic. Sophie disappears up the ladder one day and Claire has to hurry to try and find her.
      • ajg16
        ajg16Friday, November 30, 2018 at 12:39 pm33 stars
        The unicorn quest - 3 Stars - Claire & Sophie are two sisters and when there great-aunt Diana dies there parents decide they are all going to stay at there Great-Aunt Diana's mansion for the summer to clean up and go through all the stuff she had collected. When Sophie & Claire discover a ladder in the chimney they decide to explore but when they discover a strange world things change. But is it for the better or was it a bad idea to explore more? This book is filled with Magic, Unicorns, Monsters, And a daring quest with a surprise twist at the end. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Monday, August 27, 2018 at 3:57 pm33 stars
          The unicorn quest////// so I recommend this book to 4,th to 6th graders and I rate it 3 stars it wasn't bad but kinda dull spots but action idk I just didn't really enjoyed it if ya know what I mean anyways thank you so so so much for reading!πŸ˜‚ πŸ’œ πŸ’™ :-) πŸ’©πŸ˜ πŸ’› -pizzagirl7πŸ˜‹
          • ajg16
            ajg16Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:18 pm33 stars
            Claire & Sophie are two sisters and when there great-aunt Diana dies there parents decide they are all going to stay at there aunts mansion (that she left to them) and clean up and through all the stuff she collected. When Sophie & Claire discover a ladder in the chimney they decide to explore but when they discover a strange world things change. But is it a better or was is a bad idea to explore more? This book is filled with Magic, unicorns, monsters, and a daring quest with a surprise twist at the end. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
            • lumos
              lumosFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:37 am
              4 guilds of Magic. πŸ’œ πŸ’œ πŸ’œ πŸ’œ 3 mysterious Secrets. 🧑🧑🧑 2 sisters. πŸ’™πŸ’™ 1 great book.❀️ When Claire and Sophie discover a secret ladder to a magical place named Arden, they see things they wish not to see - unicorns in turbulent conditions, magic against magic. They return to the modern, right world, scared. One day, Sophie disappears. Completely. It is up to Claire to set things right, climb the secret ladder once more, be brave - and find her sister.
              • readwriter
                readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:21 pm55 stars
                This book was adorable! My sister and I really enjoyed reading it together! It was funny, sad, and heartwarming all wrapped up into one book!
                • jwarne
                  jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:02 am55 stars
                  The love between two sisters is so powerful. I love how close they are, and how she will stop at nothing to get her sister. Even meeting all kinds of crazy creatures!
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:15 pm22 stars
                    This book is about two sisters named Sophie and Claire. They are going into a different world, and there they find fighting. I wouldn't recommend this, because it wasn't that interesting.
                    • flyingpineapple
                      flyingpineappleMonday, July 2, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                      I really enjoyed this book because it is about unicorns and is around my reading level, so I was allowed to read it in school. I usually can't find any unicorn books at my reading level, so I think this book was fun to read and unique at the same time.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb