An enchanting, exciting fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blending the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozen’s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood.

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year. But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor . . . until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden.

There, they find a world in turmoil. The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other, the beloved unicorns have disappeared, and terrible wraiths roam freely. Scared, the girls return home. But when Sophie vanishes in the night, it will take all of Claire's courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns' greatest secret.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681192454
ISBN-13: 9781681192451
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • flyingpineapple
    flyingpineappleMonday, July 2, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
    I really enjoyed this book because it is about unicorns and is around my reading level, so I was allowed to read it in school. I usually can't find any unicorn books at my reading level, so I think this book was fun to read and unique at the same time.
    • spykitten
      spykittenThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:50 pm33 stars
      This was a good book but it is not meant for little kids. There are monsters in the book and they talk about them being all scary. It is about sisters Sophie and Clare going to a different world. I wouldn't recommend this book.
      • bunny_ball
        bunny_ballThursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:47 pm
        I liked the idea of this book but when we read it, it was scary. I was excited to read about unicorns but there are also monsters in the book. I recommend this book for older kids. I will try it again when I am older.
        • eybook2018
          eybook2018Monday, June 18, 2018 at 11:58 am
          The Unicorn Quest is a good boo that I read. And the thing is that I really like the beginning because i like the way it starts with a poem and a great start to the story.
          • reader_red
            reader_redSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
            This book is now probably one of my favorite books. It was full of surprises! I got a little mad in some parts, but that's to be expected. I think it is awesome! I would really recommend this for fantasy readers.
            • misslily777
              misslily777Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:13 am55 stars
              Claire Martinson has always wanted to stay inside the lines, while her sister, Sophie, has been the adventurous one. But when they find a ladder in the fireplace of their great-aunt's mansion and Sophie leaves for the world they find inside it, Claire has to risk everything to save her sister - and the magical world of Arden. I LOVED this book. From the storyline to the characters to the magic, it is a five star book on every page. I would recommend it to girls ages 7-15 who like magic and fantasy.
              • bookgator
                bookgatorThursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:03 am44 stars
                I love anything about unicorns. I was interested in reading the Unicorn Quest and it was a good book. I like the adventure and trying to find her sister.
                • annette
                  annetteWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 5:46 am44 stars
                  This book is about two sisters who move into Windermere Manor after the oldest recovers from a mysterious illness. They discover a magical land full of unicorns and other mystical creatures, but this world is in deep trouble because the unicorns are disappearing! When the oldest sister vanishes in the middle of the next night, the youngest must brave this scary, magical land and find the unicorns and her sister. This book put a smile on my face and I think everyone should read it!
                  • cookieplayer
                    cookieplayerTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 5:35 pm44 stars
                    The Unicorn Quest involves journeying into the forest on a Quest to find a Unicorn. Out of all the creatures in the world’s deepest forests and jungles, the unicorns are among the most noble and beautiful. This book was really great however, it was not one of my favorite books.
                    • cookieplayer
                      cookieplayerMonday, May 28, 2018 at 4:22 pm44 stars
                      The Unicorn Quest involves journeying into the forest on a Quest to find a Unicorn. Out of all the creatures in the world’s deepest forests and jungles, the unicorns are among the most noble and beautiful.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255