Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
288 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catella88Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 9:32 am
    wow. this book is amazing.
    • 4usa
      4usaSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:15 am44 stars
      This is a good book but not a favorite! Sophie has always wanted her happily ever after and on the one day that comes every four years she has hope her dreams will come true! On this day two kids one good and one evil are kidnapped and brought to a school to live out their fairytales! While Sophie is good and beautiful Agitha is dark and scary! They are both friends and are both kidnapped but Sophie ends up finding her self in the school for evil and Agitha in good! Their fairytale has started but the question is how will it end!
      • dragonyx
        dragonyxMonday, April 27, 2020 at 6:20 am55 stars
        I love this book. I finished it yesterday.
        • xxtomato_soupxx
          xxtomato_soupxxThursday, April 16, 2020 at 8:33 am55 stars
          This is an AWESOME book! I have read the entire series and i have officially named it #1 book. It’s about two girls, Sophie and Agatha who are kidnapped to go to the school for good and evil where adventure, sadness, and pleasure awaits them
          • this is such a Thursday, April 16, 2020 at 8:22 am
            this is such a good book!! i have read the entire series and it is REALLY good. its about two girls who are kidnapped to the school for good and evil, where many adventures await them.
            • jojo424kotlc
              jojo424kotlcSunday, April 12, 2020 at 1:06 pm55 stars
              This is such an amazing book! The story about two girls who've got switched up somehow and how a handsome boy named Tedros gets in the way. It's a beautiful story and I can't wait for the sixth book to come out. I'm not supposed to put links to other websites but anyone who loves this series can search up this and will find a website for this series. Sophie is a powerful girl and lets people know it, she wears whatever she wants and goes after Tedros even though she is a never. The coven: Hester, Anadil, and Dot, are Sophie's roomates and they eventually become frenemies and teach Sophie they're ways while Agatha has to deal with pink dresses, candy, and annoyingly handsome boys. The Storian decides to start their story and the story doesn't stop. Tedros thinks he's choosing Sophie, but really he's choosing poor Agatha. This is a page-turning book full of surprises and a series full of plot twists.
              • uni_lovestoread
                uni_lovestoreadFriday, April 10, 2020 at 8:19 pm55 stars
                I read this during 3rd grade and it was great!
                • Never Ethel Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 9:31 am
                  I think I'll be okay I don't know if it's for (PG),so I don't have to be surprised that I get too upset.
                  • sissi
                    sissiMonday, April 6, 2020 at 9:06 am55 starsFeatured
                    I read this book and the rest of the serie. And it's my favourite series of books. The storie is so twisted you can never know what will happen next. And one of the many things I love about it is how I feel so connected to the personages. People like Sophie who seem to have it all can relate because they get how tiring it can be to keep up appearances and people like Agatha who are more of an outsider get to feel what it feels like to be an insider. But the thing i love most about the serie is the ending. The way the author can make it seem like a happy and unhappy one with only one ending to work with. I strongly recommend everyone to read this book.
                    • NikaSaturday, March 28, 2020 at 7:43 am
                      I love this book it's great!! Try reading it.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb