Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.645356
For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.

When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more important--trust themselves.
But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'hoole has ever seen.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545683041
ISBN-13: 9780545683043
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 2:42 pm55 stars
    This book is about two bear cubs named First and Second. Their Mother is taken prisoner by the Roguers, and the cubs are sent to a cousin, who they don't end up liking and they run away. This was a very good book, and I would definitely recommend it.
    • auntieb
      auntiebWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:29 am44 stars
      The Quest of the Cubs was a very enjoyable read once you get into it. I really enjoyed First and Second's ingenuity and how they went out on their own looking for their Da. This book also ended in a different spot in the story then what I would have thought so that was interesting.
      • happy_cat
        happy_catWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 8:00 am55 starsFeatured
        I rarely rate books 5 Stars, but I rated this one! It was so amazing, like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter, it’s about 2 polar bear cubs, First and Second. First is the male, while Second is the female. Their mother is taken as a prisoner - so much like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter - and then the cute twins have to try to save her. Let me just say, the ending is just... such a cliffhanger. I am so excited to read the next book! Thanks, DOGO, for hooking me up to this book. MUST READ!!
        • 30057
          30057Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 2:38 pm
          One of my top favorite animals is the polar bear, so when I spotted this book in the reading list, I knew immediately that I would want to read it. The Bears of the Ice sounds like a really interesting and catchy title, and the cubs in the cover page look so adorable. I am curious to see how just cubs go on a whole quest to save something. I am super excited to start reading!
          • mkid122
            mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:05 am22 stars
            The Quest of the Cubs follows two cubs on a quest of survival. The conflict of the story are the Roguers, a cruel cult of bears who ended the long peaceful rule of the polar bears. They take young cubs to kill and sacrifice. When the Roguers approaches the first and second cubs, their mother decides to go instead. Now the cubs most go live under a caretaker however she isn't a very good one and this causes for the cubs to run away and began the quest to save their mother. Along the way they encounter friends and enemies and learn to work together and learn acceptance. The idea of this book was interesting but the pace could be slow at times and just uninteresting. Not enough happened in the book for the cliff hanger ending and I expected way more action.
            • extrememsb
              extrememsbTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 3:36 pm22 stars
              Follow Stellan and Jyett on an adventure for a quest for their mother and father. Their mother get taken away by these people called Roguers. They take cubs and kill them to worship a clock. They think the clock is a god and that it is very powerful. Along the way Stellan and Jyett meet many friends. They have also seen some Roguers. This book was okay. They stop in the middle of the adventure and say that the quest continues in book two. Not much happened. I would rate this book two stars. I think it is not what you think the book is about. You should still read this book though. Maybe you will think differently.
              • beyourself
                beyourselfTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 4:32 am33 stars
                This is a story for animal lovers, and I love animals, but it didn't meet my expectations in a way. I liked it and sort of look forward to the next book in the series!
                • soyster
                  soysterSunday, July 1, 2018 at 2:58 pm55 stars
                  This book really drew me in. I thought it would be boring, but instead, I ended up liking it. This book is about 2 bear cubs named First and Second. Their mom, Svenna, got a visit from the Roguers, a group of bears who ignored all the rules in the bears' code of honor. They wanted to take away the cubs to sacrifice them to a clock who they worshipped as a god. Instead, their mom offered herself and sent her cubs to a cousin. The cousin was a terrible mom, so they ran away and found themselves alone. Second decided for them to find their dad. On the way, they met many different creatures, some friendly and helpful, and others being savage and ruthless, or just misguiding. They encountered many different problems, but for now, have come out on top. I can't wait to be able to read the second book, and hopefully, if you consider reading it, you'll like it.
                  • letscutitout
                    letscutitoutSunday, July 1, 2018 at 7:15 am44 stars
                    Photography really drew me into this book! I have read several book by Kathyrn Lasky & her style makes me want to continue reading her books. In this book. They are informative & appeal all my friends & brothers, even though we are different ages. I feel that the young polar bears had strength in this story. Lots of books show that the adults have the strength or power.
                    • awesomessb
                      awesomessbSaturday, June 30, 2018 at 12:40 pm33 stars
                      Bears of Ice: The Quest of the Cubs is a story about two cubs, first and second, and how they survive without their mother. For multiple generations, polar bears have ruled over the Northern Kingdom. However, a new cult was formed of bears who worship the Ice Clock. They sacrifice bears to the clock. When Roguers decide to take first and second, their mom decides to serve in their place. However, instead she tells her cubs that she is going to the Den of Forever Frost. When the cubs find out that their caretaker is who she seems like, they run away. They encounter many friends and foes on their journey, but also some traitors. This was an interesting book, but I was not hooked into the book. One thing I enjoyed about it was the photographs. It reminded me of the photographs in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, but they were not as life-like. This is not must-read, but a good book none the less. I recommend it for grades 4 and up

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255