Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.645356
For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.

When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more important--trust themselves.
But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'hoole has ever seen.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545683041
ISBN-13: 9780545683043
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hanpink800
    hanpink800Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 8:06 pm22 stars
    I LOVE polar bears but I didn't LOVE this book. It was fun to read at times but needed way more action! I recommend you read this book if you want to see polar bears go on an antarctic adventure to rescue their mom from bad polar bears. It has a cliff hanger which was disappointing!
    • snicker9
      snicker9Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 10:40 am33 stars
      "The Quest of the Cubs" is about two polar bear cubs, named First and Second. In order to protect them, their mother is forced to join the mysterious and brutal Rogues. She makes arrangements for her cubs to stay with her cousin, but soon First and Second realize that staying is just as dangerous for them. They set off on a journey to find their mother and their father, whom they have never met. Unknown to them the entire polar bear society is collapsing as a group of power-hungry bears wrestle for control. I enjoyed seeing the connections between this book and the Guardians of Ga'hoole series as they are set in the same world. This book was darker than I thought it would be when I picked it up. Probably the biggest thing was that a group of bears that were sacrificing baby cubs. There were also several near-death incidents as First and Second fight to survive. Because of that I probably would recommend this to middle grade students and up. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
      • heghog
        heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
        this is one of the best books that i have ever ever read it is so good because they have to survive on there own and they saved third and named them self.
        • readwriter
          readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:30 pm55 stars
          Kathryn Lasky never fails to write a heart-wrenchingly beautiful book. The suspense keeps your curiosity peaked through the very last word while the characters keep you turning the pages to make sure they're ok.
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
            I tried reading this book too fast I think and I got a little lost. I think I'm going to reread it though because I loved the drama between the bears, and I loved the idea of the darkness closing in. It was thrilling.
            • catface7312
              catface7312Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:18 pm11 star
              This is the first book in a series. I didn't really enjoy it that much. The plot was kinda confusing and it just wasn't my type of book. This book talked about murder and death a lot, which just broke my heart. There was graphics of it too, which made it even worse. I don't really recommend this book to anyone, especially elementary school students (I'm sorry for the really negative review, it was just that bad of a book).
              • georgiasilver
                georgiasilverMonday, July 23, 2018 at 10:06 am
                This book looks so cute! It seems like a unique and compelling story about bear cubs. I would love to read this book if I am able to find it! ^ ^
                • jso6
                  jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                  This book is about two bear cubs named First and Second. Their Mother is taken prisoner by the Roguers, and the cubs are sent to a cousin, who they don't end up liking and they run away. This was a very good book, and I would definitely recommend it.
                  • auntieb
                    auntiebWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:29 am44 stars
                    The Quest of the Cubs was a very enjoyable read once you get into it. I really enjoyed First and Second's ingenuity and how they went out on their own looking for their Da. This book also ended in a different spot in the story then what I would have thought so that was interesting.
                    • happy_cat
                      happy_catWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 8:00 am55 starsFeatured
                      I rarely rate books 5 Stars, but I rated this one! It was so amazing, like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter, it’s about 2 polar bear cubs, First and Second. First is the male, while Second is the female. Their mother is taken as a prisoner - so much like SEEKERS by Erin Hunter - and then the cute twins have to try to save her. Let me just say, the ending is just... such a cliffhanger. I am so excited to read the next book! Thanks, DOGO, for hooking me up to this book. MUST READ!!

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3841
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins