The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks at Last is the final, flawless installment in the modern classic series from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall!

Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array of adventures--these are the things that have shaped Lydia's journey since readers first met her in The Penderwicks in Spring.

Now it's summertime, and eleven-year-old Lydia is dancing at the bus stop, waiting for big sister Batty to get home from college.

This is a very important dance and a very important wait because the two youngest sisters are about to arrive home to find out that the Penderwicks will all be returning to Arundel this summer, the place where it all began. And better still is the occasion: a good old-fashioned, homemade-by-Penderwicks wedding.

Bursting with heart and brimming with charm, this is a joyful, hilarious ode to the family we love best. And oh my MOPS--Meeting of Penderwick Siblings--does Jeanne Birdsall's The Penderwicks at Last crescendo to one perfect Penderwick finale.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 15, 2018 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 038575566X
ISBN-13: 9780385755665
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sirireads
    sirireadsWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
    This was the perfect ending to the perfect series!! The Penderwicks are funny, smart, sporty, and above all, loving. These have something for everyone. They taught me lots of things. Rosalind taught me to be selfless and caring. Skye taught me to speak your mind and NEVER compromise. Jane taught me to be whimsical and to learn from your mistakes. Batty taught me to be true to yourself, no matter who you are. Ben taught me to follow your heart, even when it points you in odd directions. Lydia taught me never to walk when you can dance. I will never tire of them. Ever. It broke my heart when it ended, even if it DID end well... - sirireads
    • kgbradshaw
      kgbradshawSunday, November 10, 2019 at 11:53 am44 stars
      I thought this book was very good at the beginning, and I loved it, except the author ended the book before she described what the book had been building up to the ENTIRE STORY: the weddings! So, overall, I liked the book, but I was extremely disappointed with the ending.
      • reader_red
        reader_redThursday, May 16, 2019 at 7:13 pm55 stars
        The Finale to The Penderwicks series. What's a better way to end this wonderful series than a wedding? Lydia, the youngest Penderwick, is delighted to go visit the place in her sisters stories: Arundel Hall. What a perfect way to end a series: right where it started.
        • gathegap
          gathegapSunday, January 13, 2019 at 4:27 pm
          i hope this book is as exciting as the others!!!! I LOVED them!!!! Hopefully my love will be pleased with this one too!!
          • adventure0329
            adventure0329Friday, June 22, 2018 at 11:40 am55 stars
            15 years.15 years ago rosalind was 12 and had a crush on cagney.15 years ago Batty was 4.15 years ago the cottage was a rental house.Now it's just a home for Cagney's familly.Now Rosalid gets a wedding and the perfect seires ends leaving readers loving it's final end.
            • bookworm 15Thursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:53 am
              I think this is the best penderwicks book yet. It is kind of unfinished but full of surprises.
              • eaglegamer
                eaglegamerThursday, May 31, 2018 at 11:04 am55 stars
                this is cool
                • bookworm 15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 9:52 am
                  I am currently reading this book as I have read the whole series. So far it is amazing. There are old characters new characters and many different surprises.
                  • epringles23
                    epringles23Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                    I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK SO BAAAD! I know I have not even read any of the reviews or anything, but if it is anything like the first ones, count me in!!!!! I recommend the first book, The Penderwicks, if you have not read any of them yet. It is always best to start at the beginning!

                    Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                    April 22 - August 31, 2018
                    Terms and Conditions

                    Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                    Books read:3809
                    Books reviewed:1775
                    Prizes won:490
                    Schools participating:93

                    Recent Members

                    Top Summer Readers

                    applemango
                    applemango
                    belle252
                    belle252
                    jwarne
                    jwarne
                    eybook2018
                    eybook2018
                    lumos
                    lumos
                    auntieb
                    auntieb
                    jso6
                    jso6
                    spykitten
                    spykitten
                    awesomessb
                    awesomessb