Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The Lion King meets Wings of Fire in the magical rainforest kingdom of Caldera in this new middle grade animal fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Caldera has forever been divided into those animals who walk by night and those who walk by day. Nightwalker panthers, like young Mez and her beloved sister, have always feared daywalkers as creatures of myth and legend. Until the eclipse.

Now Mez has discovered that she can cross the Veil and enter the daylight world. Her magical power has unknown depths, but she must rush to discover it after a mysterious stranger arrives at her family’s den, bearing warnings of a reawakened evil.

Saving Caldera means Mez must leave her sister behind and unite an unlikely group of animal friends to unravel an ancient mystery and protect their rainforest home.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 2, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062491075
ISBN-13: 9780062491077
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • happy_cat
    happy_catSunday, August 19, 2018 at 11:46 am44 stars
    Did you ever read “The One and Only Ivan” and really wanted a sequel? Maybe this isn’t a sequel - but it’s definetley amazing and similar to it! Adventure through the jungles that Mez, a young panther - experiences with magical powers to discover! This book actually made me cry (hint: a small, sad part of Mez’s sister and leaving her behind because she lost one of her paws). This is a great book recommended, you should DEF-IN-IT-LEY read this!
    • reader_red
      reader_redWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 7:14 am55 stars
      I really liked this story!! It had a couple creepy descriptions in it but oh well! Mez and her sister Chumba where born on the night of the eclipse. There mother dies because of it and the two sisters are brought up by their tough Aunt Usha. Mez has been having trouble sleeping. one day when everyone else was sleeping Mez sees the tiniest but of a Boa Constrictor. That next night, Aunt Usha finds and eagle dead right by their den. Chumba has strange attack marks on her. Mez is banished and leaves to go save Caldera from the great Ant Queen. She meets many friends that touch her heart.
      • readwriter
        readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 3:04 pm44 stars
        This was such a cute book! It was fun and easy to read, but was still a really good book! The pictures are also super cool!
        • jwarne
          jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:34 am55 stars
          Oh my gosh! This book is so funny. I didn't expect it to be as funny as it was. I thought it would be a really compelling fantasy story, but It made me laugh out loud so many times that my mom kept asking what was happening and we ended up reading it together.
          • armcginn
            armcginnWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
            Mez, a young panther rises to join the quest to stop the legendary ant queen, before the ant queen escapes and starts enslaving the animals of the jungle!
            • springchick114
              springchick114Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 8:09 am55 stars
              This book was full of secret fun facts, exotic animals, and spine tingling adventure! I totally recommend this book, only if you like crazy twists though. This is a good book to choose a favorite character, and I loved how it was so described, you could play it out in your mind! I really loved this book and I wish good luck to all those reading it! Also, anyone with a strong love of animals should TOTALLY read this book! :D HAPPY READING!!!
              • lees
                leesSunday, July 29, 2018 at 7:50 pm33 stars
                its about a panther named mez and a bunch of other animals that have poweres because of the eclipse. and they have to come together to defeat the Ant queen. i like it it is very interesting.
                • spykitten
                  spykittenSaturday, July 28, 2018 at 4:14 pm22 stars
                  I don't really like this book. It wasn't written well and I didn't care for the storyline. It is about a black panther (not from Marvel) named Mez who should be asleep during the daytime. Animals in the rainforest are separated from ones who walk at night and the ones that walk at daytime. She isn't asleep so she looks out her cave and sees a snake. And snakes walk at night. I don't recommend this book.
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
                    Mez is a black panther who lives in a rain forest named Caldera. The rain forest is split into the nightwalkers and the daywalkers. Between that is called the Veil. When a solar eclipse happens, Mez joins together with some of the solar eclipse animals.
                    • soyster
                      soysterSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                      This book is really captivating. It's about a black panther named Mez who lives in the rainforest called Caldera. Caldera's animals are split into 2 categories. Those who live at night and those who live at day. The time in between is called the Veil, and to cross it makes you an unnatural. But there are some animals born during the eclipse that have magical powers and are able to cross the veil. Mez joins together with other eclipse-born animals led in a group by a boa constrictor named Auriel. With betrayal arriving on Mez's doorstep, she must figure out how to stop the Ant Queen, who wants to rule the rainforest. It takes you on a series of twists and turns, and I liked the suspenseful moments.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins