Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The Lion King meets Wings of Fire in the magical rainforest kingdom of Caldera in this new middle grade animal fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Caldera has forever been divided into those animals who walk by night and those who walk by day. Nightwalker panthers, like young Mez and her beloved sister, have always feared daywalkers as creatures of myth and legend. Until the eclipse.

Now Mez has discovered that she can cross the Veil and enter the daylight world. Her magical power has unknown depths, but she must rush to discover it after a mysterious stranger arrives at her family’s den, bearing warnings of a reawakened evil.

Saving Caldera means Mez must leave her sister behind and unite an unlikely group of animal friends to unravel an ancient mystery and protect their rainforest home.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 2, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062491075
ISBN-13: 9780062491077
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
    Mez is a black panther who lives in a rain forest named Caldera. The rain forest is split into the nightwalkers and the daywalkers. Between that is called the Veil. When a solar eclipse happens, Mez joins together with some of the solar eclipse animals.
    • soyster
      soysterSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
      This book is really captivating. It's about a black panther named Mez who lives in the rainforest called Caldera. Caldera's animals are split into 2 categories. Those who live at night and those who live at day. The time in between is called the Veil, and to cross it makes you an unnatural. But there are some animals born during the eclipse that have magical powers and are able to cross the veil. Mez joins together with other eclipse-born animals led in a group by a boa constrictor named Auriel. With betrayal arriving on Mez's doorstep, she must figure out how to stop the Ant Queen, who wants to rule the rainforest. It takes you on a series of twists and turns, and I liked the suspenseful moments.
      • eybook2018
        eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:26 pm
        The Lost Rainforest: Mez's Magic is full of adventure and animals. It's really fun to read and when I read it I sort of see a movie of what's happening.
        • belle252
          belle252Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:04 pm44 stars
          This is a good book if you are into animals and fantasy so it was the perfect combination for me, sometimes it got confusing like in the start but later on it was really good.
          • cobrazeus10
            cobrazeus10Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 3:28 pm33 stars
            I loved the concept, and enjoyed the story, but for some reason it just didn't interest me enough to want to continue to read the rest of the series. Recommended for those interested in the rain forest.
            • applemango
              applemangoWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 10:32 pm44 stars
              This is a very interesting book to read I would recommend it but sometimes the twists gets you mixed up.........over all I think this is a great book to read when you're bored!!!
              • mooncat
                mooncatSunday, May 6, 2018 at 9:18 am55 stars
                I loved this book because it was so interesting about how the black panther worked with the other special animals to defeat a person who she had trusted. It was unexpected that the snake was the one who tried to kill the other special animals that he made them trust him. Also I never knew that the Queen ant would be part of the story too. It was really exiting and strange about how the black panther saved all the other animals and realizes that if all the remaining animals work together, they could defeat the snake.
                • annette
                  annetteSaturday, May 5, 2018 at 1:57 pm44 stars
                  This book was really special. It had a unique plot and a captivating setting and characters. I've never read anything like this before. Its main characters were magical animals and the plot was funny and action-packed. I think many kids will like this book.

                  Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                  April 22 - August 31, 2018
                  Terms and Conditions

                  Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                  Books being read:3568
                  Books reviewed:1449
                  Prizes won:378
                  Schools participating:92

                  Recent Members

                  Top Summer Readers

                  applemango
                  eybook2018
                  belle252
                  rrwwnn
                  happy_cat
                  awesomessb
                  spykitten
                  extrememsb
                  jso6
                  waterlily1255