From the New York Times bestselling author of Hungry Heart Jennifer Weiner comes a laugh-out-loud funny and painstakingly real tale of friendship, furry creatures, and finding the place where you belong.

Alice Mayfair, twelve years old, slips through the world unseen and unnoticed. Ignored by her family and shipped off to her eighth boarding school, Alice would like a friend. And when she rescues Millie Maximus from drowning in a lake one day, she finds one.

But Millie is a Bigfoot, part of a clan who dwells deep in the woods. Most Bigfoots believe that people—NoFurs, as they call them—are dangerous, yet Millie is fascinated with the No-Fur world. She is convinced that humans will appreciate all the things about her that her Bigfoot tribe does not: her fearless nature, her lovely singing voice, and her desire to be a star.

Alice swears to protect Millie’s secret. But a league of Bigfoot hunters is on their trail, led by a lonely kid named Jeremy. And in order to survive, Alice and Millie have to put their trust in each other—and have faith in themselves—above all else.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481470744
ISBN-13: 9781481470742
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bunny_ball
    bunny_ballTuesday, August 14, 2018 at 6:41 am44 stars
    I like this book. It was interesting to learn about how the bigfoots live so close to the people. I liked Alice, too. She is a nice girl who just doesn't fit in. This was a sweet book and I always wanted to keep reading to find out what would happen next. I recommend this book.
    • jwarne
      jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:03 am55 stars
      I felt so bad for Alice. Her family doesn't want her around, and they send her off. I'm so glad she finds a friend, though. I just really wish her family hadn't been so mean.
      • spykitten
        spykittenTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 8:33 am44 stars
        I really like this book. It is about a girl named Alice who has something special about her but no one can find it. I think this book was written very well and I recommend it.
        • catface7312
          catface7312Monday, July 23, 2018 at 1:02 pm22 stars
          This book is really sad because the main character, Alice, is a poor little rich girl and she's been neglected by her parents. Alice has moved to a ton of schools, so it hasn't really worked out for her. She meets Millie, which she becomes best friends with. I didn't really enjoy this book that much, I thought that plot wasn't very good.
          • shopkingirl
            shopkingirlFriday, July 20, 2018 at 5:36 pm55 stars
            I think this book is very sweet. My favorite character was Millie. She was a very adventurous little bigfoot, or Yare.
            • jso6
              jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 2:45 pm44 stars
              This book is about a kid who saves a bigfoot from drowning and becomes friends with it. When some people start hunting the bigfoots, she tries to hide him.
              • armcginn
                armcginnWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 7:30 am55 stars
                This book is a tale of one amazing friendship, told from the three perspectives of Alice, Millie, and Jeremy. read the littlest bigfoot to find out what happens!
                • kenziegirl2008
                  kenziegirl2008Monday, July 2, 2018 at 4:13 pm
                  Alice has always felt like she hasn`t fit in. Her parents are not like Alice at all and Alice has always imagined different parents running up to her crying. She has been through 7 different schools, none of them being a good fit for her. But one school changes everything...
                  • belle252
                    belle252Friday, June 29, 2018 at 9:35 pm55 stars
                    This is such a cute book I loved it the little girl was adorable and it was a once more type of book I would really recommend it to everyone it's for all ages because it's so touching
                    • wolfdog
                      wolfdogFriday, June 15, 2018 at 8:46 am55 stars
                      This is a wonderful book! I was sad when it ended.. good news is there's more to follow!

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins