The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381477
ISBN-13: 9780141381473
1418 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • theodd1sout1
    theodd1sout1Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 9:48 am55 stars
    this book is action packed and really good. There is tension with comic relief along the way. And riordan has a way to slowly unravel the prophecy and put the reader behind the eyes of percy jackson. Also this book teaches you a lot about greek mythology. Zeus : king of gods and lord of the sky Posieden : Zeus's older brother and lord of the sea Hades : posiedens's older brother and lord of the under world Athena : Zeus's daughter and goddess of wisdom and war Artemis : Zeus's daughter and goddess of the hunt and night Apollo : Artemis's twin brother and god of music and sun Ares : god of war and son of Aphrodite Hera : queen of the gods and goddess of marriage and family and Zeus's wife and sister Aphrodite : goddess of love Dionysus : god of wine Hepheastus : god of the forge Hermes : god of merchants and thieves Demeter : goddess of agriculture
    • fantasyreader65
      fantasyreader65Friday, May 22, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
      Percy Jackson is one of my favorite book series. Except that the Movies are NOTHING like the books. I still love them though. Rick Riordan is awesome.
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaThursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:41 am55 stars
        I love this book! It is very magical and makes me feel like I'm really with Percy Jackson. I recommend this book because anyone will like it and it actually teaches you a bit of Greek Mythology
        • fantasyreader65
          fantasyreader65Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 10:26 am55 stars
          This book was an awesome thrill seeking book with lots of good twists. I love Percy Jackson because i am a syfy geek. if you love this book then you would like J.K Rowling's Harry Potter.
          • EastonWednesday, May 20, 2020 at 8:39 am
            This is one of my favorite series of all time! It is super funny and anybody should read it.
            • starsinthenight
              starsinthenightTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 6:44 pm55 stars
              Percy Jackson is an amazing book series with THE BEST characters and an amazing plot. If you like Harry Potter or books like that I highly recommend all the books by Rick Riordan! The Percy Jackson characters are relatable to kids with ADHD and Dyslexia, however they are also very interesting and fun to read about.
              • bookexplorer
                bookexplorerSunday, May 17, 2020 at 11:51 am55 stars
                I really like the first book of this series, “The Lightning Thief”. It is humorous and adventurous at the same time. If you are like me, and love Greek mythology, you will probably love this book as well.
                • sjsj
                  sjsjWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 8:00 am55 stars
                  The first book in the series of "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" starts off the series well! Percy (also known as Perseus) does not know about his father. Suddenly, things take a turn for the worst, and he finds his mom dead (or so he thinks). Percy also finds himself in a strange camp called Camp Half-Blood. There, he receives a quest from the Oracle, and starts off on his quest, with his companions, Annabeth and Grover. They encounter Medusa, a guy named Crusty, and unravel a dreadful secret. Who stole the lightning bolt that Zeus is missing? Find out in this amazing book!
                  • legolover2008
                    legolover2008Monday, May 11, 2020 at 1:38 pm55 stars
                    Such a good book!
                    • extrememsb
                      extrememsbFriday, May 8, 2020 at 10:42 am44 stars
                      This book is the first book in the Olympians series. It is about a boy named Percy Jackson. One day he realizes that he is a half blood. That means that he is half human and half Olympian. He is the son of Poseidon. He is being framed that he stole Zeus's lighting bolt. I liked this book because you could learn a lot about Greek Mythology. I also liked the adventure in this book.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb