Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.125209
Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect Father's Day read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?

Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.


"Warm, witty and wise"—The New York Times

"Awesomely strange and startlingly true-to-life. It makes you wonder what's possible." -- Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375870644
ISBN-13: 9780375870644
103 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unicornboi22
    unicornboi22Friday, February 15, 2019 at 10:18 am55 stars
    I LOVE THIS BOOK
    • its_tcwgaming
      its_tcwgamingThursday, November 15, 2018 at 11:56 am55 stars
      This is one of the wackiest books ive ever read! so funny and clever! I'm so excited to read the next book "The Third Mushroom!
      • jungkookvibes
        jungkookvibesFriday, November 16, 2018 at 3:11 pm
        Do you think I should read this book? A lot of people talk about this book so I'm wondering if you could give me a brief book summary?
        • auntieb
          auntiebSunday, November 18, 2018 at 11:29 am55 stars
          You can read mine it is on page 3. :)
          • auntieb
            auntiebSunday, November 18, 2018 at 11:30 am55 stars
            And yes. This book is very good - there is a sequel too! The Third Mushroom.
      • applemango
        applemangoWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 6:23 pm55 stars
        Her grandfather walks into the door but, he is a boy! HE has created a special "thing" that makes him imortal!!!
        • readytoread
          readytoreadWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
          In this book, Ellie's grandfather found a way to make himself young again. He is now 13 and lives with Ellie and her mom. However, her grandfather has many complaints. In this book, Ellie makes friends with a boy name Raj, while discovery the answers to lots for her questions, using science, and realizing the world is not reading for some things, and there is a difference between a discovery that is for the good and a discovery that destroys. She also discovers who her 14th goldfish- an example of her lifestyle is. This book is very well written and every part is interesting.
          • bobelly
            bobellyWednesday, August 22, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
            This book was very, very funny. It talked a lot about Chinese food and it was about a girl named Ellie whose Grandpa desperately wants to find the key to eternal life because he is very sad about his wife Mona who died. This book has a lot of friendship, heart and family. In the end, everyone will like it.
            • jwarne
              jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:49 pm55 stars
              This book was really cool. I like all of the science stuff. I thought it was really funny, too, and really liked Ellie's grandfather Melvin. Especially when he was a kid. He was so funny.
              • strawberry1234
                strawberry1234Friday, July 27, 2018 at 3:08 pm33 stars
                I did not really enjoy this book. I don't think this was the best choice I made to read butI loved exploring the option. This book didnt have me hooked in the begging. Then I started getting intrested but I started getting bored.
                • lindsagatasabad
                  lindsagatasabadFriday, November 2, 2018 at 8:54 am
                  I like your hair, and I haven’t read this book but I think you should try to read Searching For David’s Heart. I certainly loved it, but my friend didn’t even finish the book. I hope you do read it, the ending is the best part. Have a nice life.
                • kwamilover
                  kwamiloverMonday, July 23, 2018 at 5:25 pm
                  It looks great and I want to read it!
                • armcginn
                  armcginnMonday, July 23, 2018 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                  Welcome to a world of possibility! (otherwise known as science) where the rare jelly fish known as T.Melvinus brings the fountain of youth to life!
                  • bunny_ball
                    bunny_ballSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 6:46 am44 stars
                    This was a weird and fun book. I liked the little story at the beginning about her goldfish. The story was interesting and I enjoyed seeing what would happen next. I liked how the relationships between the characters changed throughout the book. It was a very different kind of story and I recommend it.

                    Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                    April 22 - August 31, 2018
                    Terms and Conditions

                    Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                    Books read:3809
                    Books reviewed:1775
                    Prizes won:490
                    Schools participating:93

                    Recent Members

                    Top Summer Readers

                    applemango
                    jwarne
                    belle252
                    eybook2018
                    lumos
                    jso6
                    auntieb
                    spykitten
                    rrwwnn
                    awesomessb

                    Our Apps and Plugins