Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.125209
Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect Father's Day read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?

Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.


"Warm, witty and wise"—The New York Times

"Awesomely strange and startlingly true-to-life. It makes you wonder what's possible." -- Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375870644
ISBN-13: 9780375870644
89 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bunny_ball
    bunny_ballSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 6:46 am44 stars
    This was a weird and fun book. I liked the little story at the beginning about her goldfish. The story was interesting and I enjoyed seeing what would happen next. I liked how the relationships between the characters changed throughout the book. It was a very different kind of story and I recommend it.
    • jaden07
      jaden07Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 12:55 pm
      This is a really cool book. i was amazed by how the grandpa turned into a teenager. a MOODy one.Somebody should study jellyfish so we could be immortal. I think it is funny when he tries to boss people around, and when he tried to drink red wine. he couldn't drink it because his body changed. great book!
      • dreambig100
        dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:37 pm44 stars
        The Fourteenth Goldfish is a wonderful book about girl named Ellie. When Ellie's grandfather turns younger with the help of a jellyfish. This makes him go the same school as Ellie, this helps them become closer. This is one of my favorite books and is truly worth reading.
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 8:50 pm22 stars
          To me, it read like the usual 21st-century slapped-together-in-a-hurry stuff that typically gets packaged for middle grade readers as a skinny chapter book. Wow, the author says girls can be scientists, give 'er a medal. About as deep and developed as your average Scooby-Doo episode.
          • kenziegirl2008
            kenziegirl2008Monday, July 2, 2018 at 9:58 am55 stars
            This book is about a girl named Ellie who`s grandpa found a way to turn young again. Ellie`s grandpa who is called Melvin in his 13/14 year old form is staying at Ellie`s house. Melvin with his 1950 taste decides to let Raj in on the secret that he isn`t a teenager. Together Ellie, Raj, and Melvin try to get the T.Melvinus from Melvin`s lab. The T.Melvinus is the newly found jellyfish that Melvin used to turn himself back into a teenager so Melvin can share his discovery with the world. At the end they do get the T.Melvinus back but Ellie realizes that all science has consequences and that if Melvin shared his discovery there would be no more grown ups. This book is an amazing and I hope everyone will get a chance to read it.
            • demigod3000
              demigod3000Friday, June 29, 2018 at 4:49 pm44 stars
              When a cranky teenager shows up on her doorstep, eleven year old Ellie doesn't know what to think. The weirdest thing is, he acts just like her grandpa, a scientist looking for the secret to immortality. Is it possible he found it? The Fourteenth goldfish is a book about life's meaning, going too far, exploring the unknown and possibility.
              • dreambig100
                dreambig100Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 9:45 am44 stars
                The Fourteenth Goldfish is a wonderful book about girl named Ellie. When Ellie's grandfather turns younger with the help of a jellyfish. This makes him go the same school as Ellie, this helps them become closer. This is one of my favorite books and is truly worth reading.
                • jso6
                  jso6Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 10:09 am22 stars
                  I sort of liked this book. In it, named Ellie has a grandfather who has found a way to make himself become younger again by using a jellyfish named T. Melvinus, and he moves in with Ellie and her family. Ellie helps him with his studies, and Melvin has to go to the same school as Ellie.
                  • esquay
                    esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 4:53 pm44 stars
                    I really want to read this book. Is it good?
                    • claire922
                      claire922Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 9:21 pm
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish is a great story! The main character ellie, is very brave, intelligent, and courageous. The Fourteenth Goldfish is a book worth reading for!

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255