From the New York Times bestselling author of The Mark of the Dragonfly comes a thrilling fantasy adventure about two magical friends living as refugees in a world that doesn't trust magic. Perfect for fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak and the School for Good and Evil series!

There was no warning the day magic died in Talhaven. It happened with a giant explosion and the arrival of a skyship full of children, all with magic running through their veins and no memory of home.

Rook and Drift are two of those children, and ever since that day, they've been on the run, magical refugees in a world that doesn't trust magic. Because magic doesn't die right away--it decays, twists, and poisons all that it touches. And now it's beginning to poison people.

Try as they might, Rook and Drift can't remember anything about their lives before Talhaven. But it's beginning to look like they're the only ones who can save their adopted world . . . if that world doesn't destroy them first.

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly :

"This magnetic middle-grade debut . . . [is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic. . . . Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot." --School Library Journal, Starred Review
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on July 3, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 110193316X
ISBN-13: 9781101933169
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • evasivekid
    evasivekidThursday, August 16, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone because it has magic, mysteries, as well as fun and mysterious characters. If you like fantasy this is the book for you
    • soyster
      soysterMonday, August 13, 2018 at 9:07 pm44 stars
      I enjoyed reading this book very much. I like the concept the author had of the kids having special magic talents. If you like fiction books about magic, you should consider reading this book. It surprised me a lot and I liked the plot twists too.
      • jwarne
        jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 4:52 pm55 stars
        I love books about magic. I love portals to other dimensions too. This book is really fascinating. I love the world it exists in, and I wish there was magic in our world, too. The story was really interesting and I couldn't put it down!
        • catface7312
          catface7312Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 6:34 pm44 stars
          I really liked this book because personally, I could relate to the main characters. My favorite was Fox. I enjoyed that we get to travel with Rook as she tries to survive in Talhaven.
          • jso6
            jso6Wednesday, July 25, 2018 at 10:44 am55 stars
            Rook and Drift are two kids that are stranded on Talhaven with a lot of other kids. Rook and Drift lost their memories, and so they named themselves, as did the other kids. The people on Talhaven don't trust magic, and so they call the kids with magic like Rook and Drift "Exiles." I really liked this book, and it was really good.
            • 30057
              30057Monday, July 9, 2018 at 9:49 am
              The Door to the Lost sounds and appears to be an amazing adventurous book, which are my favorite kind of stories. I love the cover of the book since it is full of curiosity and mystery. I am really looking forward to reading this and finding out the real question; What is in the Door to the Lost?
              • eybook2018
                eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:07 pm
                The Door to the Lost is a fun magical book full of magic inside it. I sometimes wish I was in the story and be part of it.
                • georgiasilver
                  georgiasilverMonday, June 11, 2018 at 7:56 pm
                  This book, once again, is very unique and interesting, and the book cover looks very exciting as well. it seems to be about another world and I am interested to read about wherever the Lost is. I also love books about magic and adventure as well, and seeing how this book seems promising I would really like to read about it.
                  • belle252
                    belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:10 pm44 stars
                    This book is pretty interesting to read it takes a while to be pulled in and I almost put it down but later im glad i did not , it has those concepts like going back in time and it is pretty interesting.
                    • applemango
                      applemangoFriday, June 8, 2018 at 10:40 pm44 stars
                      This is a good book! At Barns and Nobles when I first saw this book I thought it was one of the fictional fairy tales that I wouldn't like....instead when I read this book I found out that this book is full of twists and turns!!!

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3841
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins