From the New York Times bestselling author of The Mark of the Dragonfly comes a thrilling fantasy adventure about two magical friends living as refugees in a world that doesn't trust magic. Perfect for fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak and the School for Good and Evil series!

There was no warning the day magic died in Talhaven. It happened with a giant explosion and the arrival of a skyship full of children, all with magic running through their veins and no memory of home.

Rook and Drift are two of those children, and ever since that day, they've been on the run, magical refugees in a world that doesn't trust magic. Because magic doesn't die right away--it decays, twists, and poisons all that it touches. And now it's beginning to poison people.

Try as they might, Rook and Drift can't remember anything about their lives before Talhaven. But it's beginning to look like they're the only ones who can save their adopted world . . . if that world doesn't destroy them first.

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly :

"This magnetic middle-grade debut . . . [is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic. . . . Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot." --School Library Journal, Starred Review
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on July 3, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 110193316X
ISBN-13: 9781101933169
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • 30057
    30057Monday, July 9, 2018 at 9:49 am
    The Door to the Lost sounds and appears to be an amazing adventurous book, which are my favorite kind of stories. I love the cover of the book since it is full of curiosity and mystery. I am really looking forward to reading this and finding out the real question; What is in the Door to the Lost?
    • eybook2018
      eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:07 pm
      The Door to the Lost is a fun magical book full of magic inside it. I sometimes wish I was in the story and be part of it.
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverMonday, June 11, 2018 at 7:56 pm
        This book, once again, is very unique and interesting, and the book cover looks very exciting as well. it seems to be about another world and I am interested to read about wherever the Lost is. I also love books about magic and adventure as well, and seeing how this book seems promising I would really like to read about it.
        • belle252
          belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:10 pm44 stars
          This book is pretty interesting to read it takes a while to be pulled in and I almost put it down but later im glad i did not , it has those concepts like going back in time and it is pretty interesting.
          • applemango
            applemangoFriday, June 8, 2018 at 10:40 pm44 stars
            This is a good book! At Barns and Nobles when I first saw this book I thought it was one of the fictional fairy tales that I wouldn't like....instead when I read this book I found out that this book is full of twists and turns!!!
            • gia21
              gia21Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:24 am11 star
              I did not like this book. The vocabulary was too hard and I could not get into this story. basically the story is about two magical friends living as refugees in a world that doesn't trust magic. this book did not interest me at all.
              • kc17
                kc17Tuesday, May 29, 2018 at 6:24 am11 star
                This book is about the day magic died in Talhaven. It started with a giant explosion and the arrival of kids in a spaceship.The kids must save magic and the world only if the world doesn`t destroy them first. I would rate this book a five out of five
                • rrwwnn
                  rrwwnnSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 8:17 am55 stars
                  this book is about the day magic died in Talhaven. It started with a giant explosion and the arrival of kids in a spaceship.The kids must save magic and the world only if the world doesn`t destroy them first.
                  • icegoldmusic
                    icegoldmusicWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 5:13 pm44 stars
                    This book looks exciting I really think it is good I like fantastic books and this looks like one of the best books with very good pictures

                    Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                    April 22 - August 31, 2018
                    Terms and Conditions

                    Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                    Books being read:3568
                    Books reviewed:1449
                    Prizes won:378
                    Schools participating:92

                    Recent Members

                    Top Summer Readers

                    applemango
                    eybook2018
                    belle252
                    rrwwnn
                    happy_cat
                    awesomessb
                    spykitten
                    extrememsb
                    jso6
                    waterlily1255