Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
A special middle grade debut of magic and courage in a world of witches, written with the charm and enchantment of Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary.

Arianwyn has flunked her witch's assessment: She's doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch-- much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.

With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch--even if she's only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride . . . for Arianwyn and the entire land.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 1338118587
ISBN-13: 9781338118582
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • auntieb
    auntiebThursday, August 16, 2018 at 1:20 pm55 stars
    The Apprentice Witch is a book about a girl named Arianwyn Gribble, who fails her witch's evaluation and has to go to a little town named Lull and she thinks the town won't be exciting. But all to soon the town erupts in chaos because......well you should read the book to find out!
    • jwarne
      jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:44 am55 stars
      I really like the world of this book. I was sad when Arianwyn didn't pass her test. I also really like her name. But she didn't let it get her down, and she kept going. That was really cool. And it was timed really nicely, so I never wanted to stop reading.
      • catface7312
        catface7312Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 6:47 pm11 star
        I didn't really enjoy this book. I honestly think that it's a bit strange. First of all the main character, Arianwyn puts her foot in her mouth a lot of the time. Arianwym is a young witch in training. She's the only one in her class to completely fail her magic assessment, so she is sent to a remote town to practice her magic.
        • spykitten
          spykittenSunday, July 15, 2018 at 10:36 am22 stars
          No, this is not my kind of book. I mostly like books about witches but this just wasn't my thing. It is about a girl who fails her test to become a witch. I wouldn't recommend this book.
          • bunny_ball
            bunny_ballSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 6:44 am22 stars
            I did not enjoy this book. I usually like books about witches but this one was less interesting than others I have read. The chapters seemed so long and boring. I just did not get engaged in the story and characters. I do not recommend this book.
            • armcginn
              armcginnWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 12:45 pm55 stars
              full of witchcraft, magic, creatures beyond the limits of imagination, fantasy, and adventure The Apprentice Witch by James Nicole is one excellent book! This book means excitement for all ages!
              • eybook2018
                eybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 4:13 pm
                The Apprentice Witch is about When a girl, Arianwyn, flunks her witch test, she is placed as an apprentice in a small dreary town, but strange things start happening plus her archival decides to spend vacation here to cause trouble for Arianwyn.
                • applemango
                  applemangoSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 8:24 pm55 stars
                  I thought, well at first that this book was one of the books that just held there sitting in the corner not being read by anyone! Well, that was until part of my mind told me to read this book! It just kept tugging at my mind little by little my hand reached the book and clasped it. I slowly unfolded the book and began to read....at the middle of the book my mom called me to go home...I had exactly 3 chapters left! I begged her and I somehow convinced her to let me stay. And now I know that this book will be one of my favorite books in my lifetime!!!
                  • belle252
                    belle252Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:06 pm44 stars
                    So i read this book and was amazed it is so imaganitive and so creative with word play i do not want to spoil the book to much but the book is so interesting.
                    • annette
                      annetteMonday, May 28, 2018 at 10:21 am44 stars
                      This is a fun fantasy story with lots of magic and witches. When a girl, Arianwyn, flunks her witch test, she is placed as an apprentice in a small dreary town, but strange things start happening plus her archrival decides to spend vacation here to cause trouble for Arianwyn. There is a lot more a stake than her pride when a dark evil starts to haunt her. I think this is a great book, with an interesting plot.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins