Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
A special middle grade debut of magic and courage in a world of witches, written with the charm and enchantment of Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary.

Arianwyn has flunked her witch's assessment: She's doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch-- much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.

With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch--even if she's only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride . . . for Arianwyn and the entire land.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 1338118587
ISBN-13: 9781338118582
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • spykitten
    spykittenSunday, July 15, 2018 at 10:36 am22 stars
    No, this is not my kind of book. I mostly like books about witches but this just wasn't my thing. It is about a girl who fails her test to become a witch. I wouldn't recommend this book.
    • bunny_ball
      bunny_ballSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 6:44 am22 stars
      I did not enjoy this book. I usually like books about witches but this one was less interesting than others I have read. The chapters seemed so long and boring. I just did not get engaged in the story and characters. I do not recommend this book.
      • armcginn
        armcginnWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 12:45 pm55 stars
        full of witchcraft, magic, creatures beyond the limits of imagination, fantasy, and adventure The Apprentice Witch by James Nicole is one excellent book! This book means excitement for all ages!
        • eybook2018
          eybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 4:13 pm
          The Apprentice Witch is about When a girl, Arianwyn, flunks her witch test, she is placed as an apprentice in a small dreary town, but strange things start happening plus her archival decides to spend vacation here to cause trouble for Arianwyn.
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 8:24 pm55 stars
            I thought, well at first that this book was one of the books that just held there sitting in the corner not being read by anyone! Well, that was until part of my mind told me to read this book! It just kept tugging at my mind little by little my hand reached the book and clasped it. I slowly unfolded the book and began to read....at the middle of the book my mom called me to go home...I had exactly 3 chapters left! I begged her and I somehow convinced her to let me stay. And now I know that this book will be one of my favorite books in my lifetime!!!
            • belle252
              belle252Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:06 pm44 stars
              So i read this book and was amazed it is so imaganitive and so creative with word play i do not want to spoil the book to much but the book is so interesting.
              • annette
                annetteMonday, May 28, 2018 at 10:21 am44 stars
                This is a fun fantasy story with lots of magic and witches. When a girl, Arianwyn, flunks her witch test, she is placed as an apprentice in a small dreary town, but strange things start happening plus her archrival decides to spend vacation here to cause trouble for Arianwyn. There is a lot more a stake than her pride when a dark evil starts to haunt her. I think this is a great book, with an interesting plot.
                • rrwwnn
                  rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:15 pm55 stars
                  Arianwyn has flunked her witch's test She's a goner. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in shame, she may never become a witch, her enemy, Gimma loves that. But Lull is not as boring as it seems. Weird things are found in the forest, a dangerous invasion of hex creeps through the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.
                  • soccergirl93
                    soccergirl93Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 6:53 pm55 stars
                    This book was amazing! It was so creative I couldn't stop reading it. The detail was so perfect for the story. I completely recommend this book to anyone because it is so good.
                    • kana
                      kanaMonday, May 21, 2018 at 9:20 am55 stars
                      The Apprentice Witch is a very interesting story. Arianwyn failed her witch' s test much to her rival's happiness. She becomes an apprentice and is sent to Lull. It is mysterious and full of adventures. During the story, she discovers her abilities and powers but as well overcomes many of her mental and emotional obstacles. I definitely recommend the book.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255