Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12X6.057148
Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose 13th birthday has revealed her ""savvy""--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803733062
ISBN-13: 9780803733060
213 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • addglitter
    addglitterMonday, July 16, 2018 at 9:05 am44 stars
    This was an amazing story! It had everything: a little adventure, some romance, and great characters too. It makes you want to have your very own special savvy.
    • cgwong908
      cgwong908Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 11:13 am33 stars
      The main characters name is Mibs. She has a special family. When anyone in the family turn 13, they get a secret power. Her brother, Fish has the power to start hurricanes, her grandma can catch soundwaves and Mibs other brother, Rocket can keep the electricity flowing even during a blackout. On her 13th birthday, Mibs decides to find a way to get to Salina, Kanas because she needs to get to her dad(who suffered a car crash). She believes that her savvy is that she can wake things up. She sneaks onto a bus with Fish, Samson(her little brother), Bobbi and Will Junior(Mrs. Rosemary’s son and daughter). Later, a ALERT! MISSING! ALERT came up on the news. They meet the driver, Lester Swan. He has two tattoos. One that says Rhonda and another one that says Carlene. Right then, Mibs learned that she can read minds, only if the person has ink on them. Mibs could read Carlene and Rhonda fighting in her head. Little did Mibs know that it would take 1 day to get to Salina. Lester picks up a woman named Lill. She works in a diner with a very mean and rude manager. She loses her job and the manager gives her all the money from the cash register. The whole group finds a motel to sleep at. After that, Lester goes to give something to Carlene. Fish took Samson to the bathroom and returns. Carlene realized that Bobbi, Mibs, Samson, Fish and Will junior are the ALERT! MISSING! ALERT kids from the news. She starts to call the police while Samson hides. Everyone forgot about Samson and told Lester to hit the rode… until they realize Samson is back at Carlene’s house. They drive back and start looking for Samson. When they couldn’t find him, they asked Carlene. she told them that he was in the wall storage. The police came and told Mibs that she could go to Salina. In the end, everyone was happy. My favorite part is when Mib’s dad recovered from the accident. My favorite character is Mibs. Her Savvy is so cool. She can read minds!!!!! But, I also feel bad about her because of her dad. She had all these people bully her because of her name. I recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t give up.
      • dreambig100
        dreambig100Monday, July 9, 2018 at 7:48 pm44 stars
        The Book Savvy is wonderful book about family, adventure, weird abilities and love. When I read Savvy I magically got lured into the world of Ingrid Law. She is one of my favorite authors. I loved Savvy so much that I have even read Scumble which also another terrific book.
        • beyourself
          beyourselfMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:34 am22 stars
          This book was kind of confusing, so I had to start it over 3 times because I didn't get it. It was O.K, but it wasn't that interesting.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:27 pm55 stars
            I liked just about everything about Savvy. Interesting characters--Mibs, Fish, Lester, Lill, Will Junior, Bobbi, all well-developed. I really enjoyed getting to know these characters. I had high hopes for Lester, smiled when Lill brought out the best in him, and worried when trouble met the big pink bus. While the story concept is intriguing, it's Ingrid Law's writing that made the story shine. She has a wonderful savvy for words, if you will.
            • demigod3000
              demigod3000Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 12:42 pm55 stars
              Mibs Beaumont just turned thirteen and discovered her Savvy-a magical power that runs in the family. Although everything seems hunky-dory, her father has just been injured! Will she be able to figure out what her Savvy is and help her father?
              • soyster
                soysterWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 8:08 pm55 stars
                This book was really good. It revolves mainly around 4 kids named Will Junior, Bobbi, Mibs, and Fish. Mibs' dad gets in a car accident right before her 13th birthday, which is when in her family called the Beaumont family, they get their own savvy. A savvy is like a special power they get, but they don't know what it's going to be until their birthday. She wanted to go to her dad in a town named Salina, so she sneaked onto a bus that she thought was going to that town. Her brother, Fish, wouldn't allow her to go alone, and since Will wanted to go, Bobbi wouldn't let him go alone. The story gets all tangled up when the bus heads in the opposite direction of their intended place and they meet new people on the way. This book was really exiting and I really enjoyed it. I especially liked the character Samson, who was Mibs' and Fish's younger brother. I think that if you have the chance, you should read this book.
                • auntieb
                  auntiebTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 8:37 am55 stars
                  Savvy Is a book where 12-year old Mississippi "Mibs" Beaumont turns 13-years old and when she does like all the Beaumonts before she will get her savvy where she will have some talent whether it;s like her mother who is perfect, or her grandpa who can move mountains and create land. When her father gets into a car crash Mibs thinks her savvy can help him but on a long bus ride she discovers her savvy isn't quite what she thought
                  • Vbat24 Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 3:20 pm
                    This book is pretty good. It is one of the best.
                    • reader_red
                      reader_redTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 7:23 pm33 stars
                      This book is a hard one. I liked a lot of things about it, but I also disliked a lot of things about it. Overall I probably didn't really like it. They did some not so good things. I probably would not recommend this book for some ages.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255