Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12X6.057148
Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose 13th birthday has revealed her ""savvy""--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803733062
ISBN-13: 9780803733060
229 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lightninggirl
    lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:43 am55 stars
    I read this the summer before seventh grade as a summer reading assignment. I absolutely loved the book! My librarian and I from middle school would discuss the book and during ravenous reads, our little book club, we would discuss the book. I am currently in ninth grade and I found this quiz to be a marvelous reminder of all the fun ravenous reads lunches and the novel.
    • slytherinfan
      slytherinfanWednesday, September 19, 2018 at 2:48 pm33 stars
      I read this book a couple of years ago, and it's amazing!
      • ellsworth2424
        ellsworth2424Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 10:15 am
        I really liked this book. I would say it's magical! It's about an entire family that have "savvy," which means special powers. The book is as adventurous and fun as the family it's about. Savvy makes you want to be part of the Beaumont family.
        • dolphin8
          dolphin8Friday, August 24, 2018 at 6:50 pm55 stars
          this is a rely good book it has lots of rely good things. in fact i got my new book today this book is about magic . the characters stop going to school when they get their magic and its rely neat.
          • at41569
            at41569Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 5:53 pm55 stars
            This was amazing and extremely suspenseful. I really loved it and highly recommend it! I really enjoyed the outcome(although I won't spoil it!). Thank You!
            • jso6
              jso6Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 11:03 am55 stars
              This book was great! It's about a girl who gets her magical power or "savvy" on her thirteenth birthday, just as her dad is injured. I enjoyed this book, and I'll probabaly read it again another time.
              • ajg15
                ajg15Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:16 am44 stars
                Mibs (Mississippi) Beaumont is going to be 13 soon, as if becoming a teenager isn't hard enough, 13 is when people in her family get there Savvy - one of her brothers caused hurricanes and another brother creates electricity - who wouldn't be nervous? Mine hopes for a really cool savvy, like flying or even X-Ray vision, but her poppa gets in a bad accident all she wants is a savvy good enough to save him. One thing leads to another and Mibs, her brothers Fish & Samson, Bobbi and her "brother" Will Jr. , To on a super fun/crazy adventure to go save Mibs poppa! What will her savvy be?? READ ON! Super great read, enjoyed every page. Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
                • yobo52Monday, August 6, 2018 at 5:00 pm
                  Great book must read
                  • lpro24
                    lpro24Monday, August 6, 2018 at 2:22 pm55 stars
                    This is like one of my favorite books and when I finished this book I just wanted to pick up the second book in the series savvy
                    • jwarne
                      jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:38 am55 stars
                      I wish I could get powers when I turn 13! I was so excited by this book that I kept wishing l was living in the world where this was possible.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins