Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
For fans of Mr. Lemoncello's Library and the Secret series, and classics like Holes and The Westing Game , here is the first book in a hilarious new series about a girl, her brother, and some super-big globe-trotting adventures.

Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left:
* Samantha's sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
* Samantha's brother got the New York Yankees.
* And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN."

Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul.

After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they've shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message?

The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it's that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest.

The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524720003
ISBN-13: 9781524720001
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • sports_star
    sports_starFriday, August 24, 2018 at 2:08 pm55 starsFeatured
    I got this book from my library. It took forever for it to come in, but it was worth the wait. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. I read it cover to cover without leaving my couch once. Samantha's uncle is missing. He was there Friday. And then - he wasn't! After a week, the Spinner family find a note in their waffle maker, explaining that Uncle Paul was actually a rich explorer. And he gives them some pretty big presents. Sam's sister gets $2,400,000,000, and her brother gets the New York Yankees. Sam can't wait to get her present. It must be big - exciting - expensive! But all she gets is an umbrella with a note attached to it. It says "Watch out for the RAIN". Sam spends a week moping around the house, when her little brother notices something weird about the inside of the umbrella... It's a map! Follow Sam and Nipper, her little brother, on their adventures around the world, and watch them battle ninjas with baguettes, go on white water rapids without a raft, and more! I recommend this book for kids 8-11.
    • readytoread
      readytoreadThursday, August 23, 2018 at 1:30 pm44 stars
      This is also one of my favorite books. It is interesting even from the beginning. What happens when Samantha's mysterious uncle disappears, leaving the kids with... Samantha's big sister, $2,400,000,000. Samantha's little brother, Nipper, the New York Yankees Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN." This book is exciting, filled with maps, tunnels, sneaking, and- ninjas! Just don't forget to watch out for the RAIN!
      • kruzingwithk9s
        kruzingwithk9sWednesday, August 22, 2018 at 5:23 pm55 stars
        The RAIN is coming, when Samantha's uncle goes missing, all he leaves her is an umbrella. She can't believe what she got because her brother and her sister got something better than her. until she noticed that the umbrella has drawings in it... This was a really good book and i think maybe you would like it too
        • happy_cat
          happy_catSunday, August 19, 2018 at 11:37 am55 stars
          Samantha Spinner got a red, ripped umbrella from her Uncle’s will.... You should always be grateful for what you get, but is it that fair when it turns out her sister got a 2 billion dollar check from her Uncle, and her brother gets a Yankees game ticket? But it seems that things aren’t as they appear - for the umbrella is giving hints and clues that Uncle is in trouble - but he’s not dead! This is such An amazing mystery - you HAVE TO READ IT!
          • AydenMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:57 pm
            Want to read
            • jwarne
              jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:54 pm55 stars
              The thing I liked the most about this book was the secret puzzles. I liked that I could read the story, which was really funny, but also solve the puzzles. I love things like this, and this book did it really well.
              • ajg15
                ajg15Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 2:05 pm11 star
                Samantha uncle Paul disappears and has left Buffy a check for 2,400,000,000, nipper the new York Mets and Samantha an old red umbrella with a note that says "watch out for the rain" didn't really like the book and couldn't really get into it. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's reviews
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 2:45 pm33 stars
                  Samantha, spinner and the super secret plans Samantha went searching for uncle Paul nobody had seen him for days ...............on Friday morning he made strawberry waffles and he helped everyone get ready for the day and went with them to the bus stop and walked there dog to the park and back after he got home from the dog walk he shuffled across the driveway in his orange flip-fools to his one room apartment above the garage that is the last time everyone saw him - now go read it if you wanna know the rest!There was so many clues!😝 it was ok I recommend to kids (haha) and rate it 3 stars-pizzagirl7
                  • readytoread
                    readytoreadFriday, July 20, 2018 at 5:09 pm44 stars
                    It is very interesting. It was written by an actually game maker. So it is packed with puzzles, secret websites, and mystery. The only part I didn't like is how Nipper didn't try to get his team back, and his parents didn't even do anything about it.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:15 am33 stars
                      When Samantha's Uncle goes missing, Samantha gets a rusty red umbrella, while her siblings get better things. Later, Samantha's brother uses a magnifying glass and finds a map. I liked this book because it was interesting, and the plot was good.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins