Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
For fans of Mr. Lemoncello's Library and the Secret series, and classics like Holes and The Westing Game , here is the first book in a hilarious new series about a girl, her brother, and some super-big globe-trotting adventures.

Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left:
* Samantha's sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
* Samantha's brother got the New York Yankees.
* And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN."

Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul.

After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they've shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message?

The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it's that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest.

The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524720003
ISBN-13: 9781524720001
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:15 am33 stars
    When Samantha's Uncle goes missing, Samantha gets a rusty red umbrella, while her siblings get better things. Later, Samantha's brother uses a magnifying glass and finds a map. I liked this book because it was interesting, and the plot was good.
    • applemango
      applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:58 pm33 stars
      The reason why, in the first place I decided to read this book is because the cover seemed interesting, I am not a cover judge but this time I just had to. This book was a fine book, and pretty fun but there was just something that was missing. I don't know if it was the plot or the dent of details or the blurry main idea but I just have to say that something was missing.
      • auntieb
        auntiebSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 10:38 am55 stars
        Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is a good book where a girl, Samantha gets a old umbrella from her mysteriously vanished Uncle Paul, meanwhile her sister gets over two billion dollars and her brother gets the New York Yankees, leaving Samantha to wonder what is so special about this umbrella. Watch out for the RAIN.
        • extrememsb
          extrememsbWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:18 pm44 stars
          Ever wanted to travel around the world? Travel with Samantha and Nipper for a journey across the globe. One day their grandfather mysteriously disappears. Her sister gets a check for $2,400,000,000, her brother gets to own the New York Yankees, and she just gets and umbrella that has a tag on it and says " Watch out for the RAIN!" She thinks that this was just unfair. Later her brother discovers some weird shapes on the umbrella. Samantha figures out that it is a map for secret underground passageways. She thinks that this would be the only way to find her uncle. Both of them travel around the world to places such as Paris and Egypt. The RAIN is actually a secret group of ninjas. The secret train they travel on is called the Magtrain. I really liked this book. It was one of my favorites. The end was like a cliffhanger that forces you to read the next book. This was one of my most favorite books!
          • tybook2018
            tybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:08 am
            Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is kind of like a spy and mystery book. I like the setting and the adventures that the characters take too.
            • nybook2018
              nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:38 pm
              Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is a fun book of secret stuff. When I first saw it at the library I thought it was boring. But later it turned out to be great!
              • eybook2018
                eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:53 am
                Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans Is a great book that enjoy. Its full of mystery and adventure to me. Me just looking at the title tells me that this book is very interesting and fun and i really enjoyed the book!
                • awesomessb
                  awesomessbTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 10:25 am33 starsFeatured
                  "The Rain is coming." That is the message Samantha Spinner received along with a old rusty umbrella after Uncle Paul went missing. Her brother got the New York Yankees team, and her sister got a check for two billion, four hundred million dollars. This makes no sense, because Samantha is sure Uncle Paul would've left more behind. But not everything is as it seems. In reality, the umbrella is a map containing multiple landmarks. The mailbox outside their house is a secret passage way to a mag train (a super fast train that runs on magnets. Today, such idea has been proposed, but in Samantha Spinner's world, it is secretly a reality.). The mag train leads to many different famous landmarks where they find clues to possibly solve the mystery of Uncle Paul and why they should keep away from RAIN. This was an interesting book. I enjoyed reading this book. However, I felt sometimes the puzzles or mysteries were too obvious. It was still a good read, but not a must read. A good book for grades 3 and up.
                  • bunny_ball
                    bunny_ballWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 11:03 am44 stars
                    I really enjoyed this book. The characters are fun. The kids have a weird uncle and he disappears and leaves surprises for them. Samantha thinks she got a bad surprise from her uncle but she ends up on a really cool adventure. I was always excited to see what would happen next in this story.
                    • emily800
                      emily800Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 5:06 pm44 stars
                      This book looks really good! I'm really excited to read it! Can anyone tell me more about this awesome book? It looks really good and I'm waiting for it at my library. Did you guys enjoy it? Is it good?

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255