Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.461156
This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don't miss Liesl Shurtliff's other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself." —People

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 9, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0307977935
ISBN-13: 9780307977939
93 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jenny12345678
    jenny12345678Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 1:32 pm44 stars
    This book was very interesting; it's like a bunch of fairytales rolled into one book. In the beginning, Rump is always teased about his name, which means butt. His mom wasn't able to name Rump's full name since she died. In this book, Rump goes on a quest due to a curse from a spinning wheel.
    • auntieb
      auntiebSunday, July 15, 2018 at 8:01 am44 stars
      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin was a very interesting book depicting the background of the classic story of Rumpelstiltskin and why he stole the queens' baby? Read this book to find out why!
      • ajg15
        ajg15Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 12:32 pm55 stars
        Names have power, but what kind of power does 12 year old Rump hold? Every story about Rumpelstiltskin is about he spins gold and he is a greedy person who steals babies. But this story is completely different. You fall in love with the characters in many ways. Rump goes on an amazing adventure battling against Trolls, Pixies & a greedy/foolish Queen. Great book, thanks for reading - Ajg15
        • bobelly
          bobellySaturday, July 14, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
          Wow! This book was very good. It had adventure and magic and a quest to find a crazy name. It was also fun because there was friendship and danger and there were things that Rump and I thought we knew but that we found out weren't true.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Friday, July 13, 2018 at 12:52 pm44 stars
            The true story of rumpelstiltskin .So this was a great book !So dump is a 12 year old boy but he didn't know his whole name(his mother was dying as she said his whole name) the last thing of his mom is an old spinning wheel and he finds out it spins gold !(also he finds a friend called red)it was great I recommend it to 8 to 13 year olds I rate this 4stars it was very great -pizzagirl7😘
            • dolphin8
              dolphin8Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 6:57 pm44 stars
              This book was really good but it was pretty sad at one point,it made me really sad when someone past away All of the Dogo books I have read have been great .Spinning gold was one of my favorite parts of the story.
              • kruzingwithk9s
                kruzingwithk9sMonday, July 9, 2018 at 5:35 pm44 stars
                So i think most of you have read the story about rumpelstiltskin but have you read THIS story? This book was a little crazy but pretty good. I think you might like it.
                • 30057
                  30057Monday, July 9, 2018 at 9:45 am
                  When I first read the Rumpelstiltskin tale, I loved it, because it was so funny how the queen tricked Rumpelstiltskin, and found out his name, allowing her to keep her baby to herself. It was one of my favorite fairy tales, so when I saw this book, I know can't wait to begin reading it. I am really thrilled to see how the author creates another amazing version of this spectacular story.
                  • readingkendal
                    readingkendalSunday, July 8, 2018 at 12:35 pm55 stars
                    Rump is just your average 12 year old boy. He was raised by his grandmother and isn't exactly wealthy. One day Rump finds a spinning wheel. When he tries he finds out that he spins straw into gold thread his friend Red Riding Hood warns him it could be dangerous. Then the greedy king finds out and he thinks the miller's daughter did it. He promises her marriage is she spins her more golden thread. Rump soon finds out that every time he spins straw it gets him deeper into the curse.To break it he must go on a dangerous quest. Will he be stuck in the curse forever or will he become free?
                    • kenziegirl2008
                      kenziegirl2008Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 8:54 am44 stars
                      My name is Rump, well half of my name anyway. My mother and father both died as well as my gram. One night I found out my special talent spinning straw into gold. Soon enough the greedy miller found out and I got caught inside a rumpel. When you are caught inside a rumpel you can`t demand a fair price when meddling with bargains and you have to take whatever they offer. Soon enough the millers daughter had to spin straw into gold thanks to her fathers boasting. I felt bad for her so well I bet you can guess what happens next. Read my book to find out.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255