Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.461156
This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don't miss Liesl Shurtliff's other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself." —People

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 9, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0307977935
ISBN-13: 9780307977939
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • paintlover13
    paintlover13Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
    In a world where names determine destinies, the orphaned Rump does not have a chance. But when Rump discovers a remarkable talent, he is entangled in a sticky web of magic. Before long, he begins on a journey both dangerous and wonderful that may just end happily ever after... Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin is a hilarious yet heartfelt tale of discovery and growing up suitable for all ages.
    • soyster
      soysterThursday, August 16, 2018 at 8:09 pm33 stars
      I found the story really intriguing. It was nice to read and I found the story sort of relaxing in its own way. It surprised me.
      • jwarne
        jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 4:56 pm55 stars
        I felt really bad for Rump. I didn't want him to get made fun of for his name anymore, and I was really sad that he lost his mom when he was so little. But, it has a happy ending! So I really enjoyed it.
        • lefty908809
          lefty908809Monday, August 6, 2018 at 4:56 pm55 stars
          I loved it. Shurtliff adds a lot more to the original rumpelstiltskin.
          • bailey2005
            bailey2005Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 9:26 am44 stars
            This was such a funny book! It's so different from other Rumpelstiltskin stories. I always think it's interesting when authors do spins on fairy tales.
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiMonday, July 30, 2018 at 10:04 am55 stars
              This is a fluffly fantasy that everyone should read. It's not like the ordinary. Sure it has magical creatures and a hero at the end, but there are twists and turns that I have never seen in a middle-grade fantasy novel before. This novel is about Rump, a boy who finds out that he can weave straw into gold. But every time he does so, he weaves himself into a curse. The entire plot just speaks to me. Fractured-fairytales have this, this thing that just attracts me to read it. Rump was this goofy character that was the, "Butt of everyone's joke." He keeps making these mistakes that his friend, Red (Little Red Riding Hood), keeps warning him about. And this Rumpelstiltskin meets Little Red Riding Hood concept going on is too much for my heart to handle. So yes, I love this book. And yes, I will read the rest of Liesl Shurtliff's fractured-fairy tale books.
              • happy_cat
                happy_catSunday, July 29, 2018 at 2:15 pm33 stars
                Um. I guess this book was okay, considering that it’s a fairy-tale fantasy kind of book. This book is about Rump, who I’m guessing is probably about 10 years old (I’m not sure if it said in the story). Rump found a magical spinning wheel, but soon discovers magic is dangerous.
                • snicker9
                  snicker9Friday, July 27, 2018 at 7:06 pm44 starsFeatured
                  This story is about 12 year old Rump-who was only given half his name before his mother died. In his town your name is your destiny - and his name is a joke. Orphaned young Rump lives with his elderly grandmother and must work in mines to find gold like everyone else. Then Rump discovers that he has inherited his mother's ability to spin straw into gold - something that his grandmother hid from him. Rump experiments with his magic, but soon find that a price comes with it. Soon Rump is forced to go on a journey and find his name and try to fix the mistakes his magic has caused. This book is a twist on the fairy-tale Rumpelstiltskin. I found it very entertaining, and there were plot twists at every corner-even though I was familiar with the classic tale and knew the general outcome of the story. The author was very creative in how she stayed true to elements of the original, but also put her own spin on the story. I recommend this book to anyone who loves fairy-tales and even those who don't. This book is great for middle grade aged kids who love adventures and fantasy, although I believe older people will also enjoy it. Overall, I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars
                  • cgwong908
                    cgwong908Sunday, July 22, 2018 at 2:21 pm44 stars
                    Rump is a 12 boy who has half a name. His mother said that his name was Rump…. , but she died before she could say the rest. Having a half name is a problem. Especially if you live in a place where your name is your destiny. Since he has half a name, he’s half his size. One day, he learns that he can spin straw into gold. Rump and his grandma are very poor. With his grandma sick, he has to do almost everything around the house. He spins tons of straw into gold to buy more food from the miller. The miller gives the gold to the tax person. Later, the king decides to visit their town to ask who gave the thread of gold as a tax. The miller tells him that his daughter, Opal, can spin straw into gold. She is taken to the castle to spin more gold for the king. However, Rump continues to spin straw into gold, but he doesn’t know that he is cursed because of the magic. To get break it, he asked his best friend’s(Red) granny. She told him to find a stiltskin. He travels to the castle to help Opal spin straw into gold. Each time, he gets a gift in return. For the first time, he received Opal’s pure gold necklace from her father, for the second time, he received her ring with an opal, and for the last time, he received her first newborn child. He leaves to find the stiltskin. He meets his aunts for the first time. They tell him part of his name, Rumpel. Rumpel tries to find the stiltskin until he finds out that he himself is the stiltskin. he pieces together his name, Rumpelstiltskin. He receives the newborn, even though he didn’t want it. He told her if she could guess his name in three days, he would give Opal her baby. On the third day she got it right and everyone got what they wanted. My favorite part is when he met his aunts. My favorite character is Rump. He wanted to find his name. so he did. He wanted to save Opal. So he did. Rump is my favorite character because he wants to help friends. I recommend this book to anyone who’s ambitious.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Saturday, July 21, 2018 at 12:29 pm44 stars
                      Rump is a boy with half of a name. His mother died after saying, "His name is Rump-" and so he is made fun of for being Rump. When he finds that he is somehow magic, and can spin gold out of straw, the only person he can tell is Red, his only friend.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3841
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins