Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And she has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Except really, it's for black girls. From "bad" neighborhoods. And just because Maxine, her college-graduate mentor, is black doesn't mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on February 14, 2017 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681191059
ISBN-13: 9781681191058
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • auntieb
    auntiebSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 7:56 pm33 stars
    Piecing Me Together was a very interesting book. Some of it did leave me a little confused. I would also say that this is definitely a book for older children! And better suited towards girls.
    • applemango
      applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:19 pm22 stars
      This book just isn't the type of book that I really like it's just meh. At times this book did get pretty exiting but it wasn't a book for me, I know that my friend said that it was okay so I read it but it wasn't my type.
      • belle252
        belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:16 pm55 stars
        This book is so inspirational i would love to read this book again but i had to return it, this book is literally about struggles and how it forms something big it is amazing
        • bookgator
          bookgatorThursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:05 am44 stars
          Piecing Me Together was a good book. I like how she took every opportunity available to her and that she tried to teach the women.
          • waterlily1255
            waterlily1255Wednesday, June 6, 2018 at 3:04 pm55 stars
            I highly recommend this book. It is very realistic, and is so captivating, making it a very quick read. I highly recommend that anyone who has the chance to read this book to read it!
            • happy_cat
              happy_catSunday, May 27, 2018 at 6:23 pm55 stars
              Wow! I am reading this book now, and I am sure happy I am! Only about 7% of the books published in 2012 were about people of color and the times of slaves, says owner of We Need Diverse Books! This book is one of them, and the overall effect is like- Bazang! Amazing, about a young woman of color who is accepted in a mostly white school, a private school. This is a huge accomplishment.
              • catface7312
                catface7312Friday, May 4, 2018 at 1:11 pm33 stars
                This book is really inspirational. A girl named Jade gets into a college where there are mainly white people. Jade joins a program that connects young black teens with older and successful black women. Jade finds it difficult to connect with her older woman (Maxine) because Maxine grew up wealthy. I enjoyed reading this book because I'm white, and I learned a lot about diversity in this book. It wasn't my type of book, but I still enjoyed reading it. I recommend this book to mainly the older kids, but I feel like anyone could read it if someone explained it to them.

                Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                April 22 - August 31, 2018
                Terms and Conditions

                Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                Books being read:3568
                Books reviewed:1449
                Prizes won:378
                Schools participating:92

                Recent Members

                Top Summer Readers

                applemango
                eybook2018
                belle252
                rrwwnn
                happy_cat
                awesomessb
                spykitten
                extrememsb
                jso6
                waterlily1255