Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
Kids can have fun keeping up with our quickly changing world with the New York Times best-selling Almanac, packed with incredible photos, tons of fun facts, crafts, activities, and fascinating features about animals, science, nature, technology, and more. New features include three chapters on engineering and technology, space and Earth, and life sciences; a guide to New Orleans, just in time for its 300th birthday; an updated Fun and Games chapter filled with all-new games, jokes, and comics; all new weird-but-true facts, crafts, and activities; 18 Facts for 2018 feature in every chapter; updated reference material, and much more.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 9, 2017 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426327730
ISBN-13: 9781426327735
97 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rainbowbrite
    rainbowbriteWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
    I decided to read this book because I like to learn about different animals especially sharks like the great shark I have another book and I learned this, Did you know that dinosaurs didn't really die because of a meteor, they died because a volcano bursted and the lava balls came towards the dinosaurs and some of them died but even worse!!! The lava started to drip and all the lava catched up to the dinosaurs and they all got assassinated. The volcano I was talking about was a long time ago when the dinosaurs lived until it bursted. Thank you for listening to my informational book witch is me.
    • hanpink800
      hanpink800Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 8:14 pm44 stars
      Nice book about sharks. It has SO MANY shark facts. Its great for anyone one to read especially shark lovers. National geographic is amazing and always does an amazing job!!! THE shark pictures are so cool GET THIS BOOK!
      • sports_star
        sports_starThursday, August 16, 2018 at 10:59 am44 stars
        Hi! I liked this book, although it takes forever to read from cover to cover. Mostly, my favorite chapters were "Fun and games", "amazing animals", "history happens", and more! This book has games, fun facts, pictures, history bits, and little bits about different countries. It's very interesting.
        • jchen
          jchenWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 4:16 pm55 stars
          I always love reading the NatGeo's almanac every year. There are tons of interesting facts and I always learn something new each time I read it.
          • sp30
            sp30Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 6:02 am44 stars
            the book is good even though its almost the same as the 2017 edition
            • eaglegamer
              eaglegamerFriday, August 10, 2018 at 10:41 pm44 stars
              This isn't your traditional almanac. It's really a book of facts. I liked the chapter "History Happens" most and "Amazing Animals" and "Fun and Games" the least. Other chapters include "Your World 2018," "Awesome Exploration," "Going Green," "Engineering and Technology," "Wonders of Nature," "Space and Earth," "Life Science," and "Geography Rocks." This almanac has lots of interesting photographs and factoids, but it takes forever to read from cover to cover. In total, there are 338 pages to read.
              • coolgirlintown
                coolgirlintownThursday, July 12, 2018 at 10:32 am55 stars
                I really like this book because of all the activities to do in it. I've read the 2016 and 2017 as well as this one. I am also looking forward to reading the 2019 almanac. I love the activities, facts, games, and so on that they provide in these almanacs.
                • midnightluna
                  midnightlunaWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 4:33 pm44 stars
                  National Geographic is always interesting and the 2018 Kids version is no different! There are so many fantastic facts in this almanac, and you will definitely not be disappointed at all!
                  • flyingpineapple
                    flyingpineappleMonday, July 2, 2018 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                    I liked all the fun facts in this book. I learned a lot from reading this book.
                    • pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 7:24 pm55 stars
                      The first thing I wanna say is AMAZING !I love everything national geographic!(kids)and this book blew up my mind it says amazing facts about the world my favorite part was the trash breakup part I can't believe that a glass bottle takes 1million years to breakdown that's insane! And I love the wonderful maps thank you so much for letting me be a part of the summer reading!πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3841
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins