It’s a new kind of book for Babymouse! Fans of Dork Diaries, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and James Patterson’s Middle School books, this is going to be epic. . . .

For Babymouse, middle school is like a monster movie. You can never be sure who’s a friend and who’s an enemy, and the halls are filled with mean-girl zombies. Instead of brains, the zombies hunger for stuff—the perfect wedge sandals or the right shade of sparkly lip gloss—and they expect everyone to be just like them.

But Babymouse doesn’t want to fit in—she wants to stand out! So she joins the film club to write and direct a sweeping cinematic epic. Will making the film of her dreams turn into a nightmare?

Thanks to Babymouse, middle school gets schooled in this hilarious new series from bestselling authors Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on July 4, 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399554386
ISBN-13: 9780399554384
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • midnightluna
    midnightlunaMonday, July 16, 2018 at 12:58 pm22 stars
    Lights, Camera, Middle School was an decent book. I didn't find it as entertaining as it was made out to be. Middle School for Babymouse was quite different than I was hoping, but you should read it for yourself. Maybe you'd like it better than I did.
    • dybook2018
      dybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:58 pm
      Lights, Camera, Middle School! (Babymouse Tales from the Locker) I like how in the story babymouse becomes a directer and being a directer is a big job and big things comes great responsibility.
      • demigod3000
        demigod3000Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 1:43 pm44 stars
        This book is great for kids who loved Dork Diaries or Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Babymouse goes to middle school where she must deal with mean girls. So she joins the film club and has to direct a movie-but then trouble finds her!
        • 30057
          30057Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 9:41 am
          This story seems like a funny children's book about a mouse's strange life in middle school. Since I am in middle school, it would be cool to see a totally different character's perspective of life in middle school. I can't wait to read about the problems that would arise in such a comical story, so I am extremely excited to begin reading!
          • mkid122
            mkid122Friday, July 6, 2018 at 7:32 pm33 stars
            Baby mouse Lights, Camera, Middle School is a fun and spunky graphic novel. This book takes you on an adventure of baby mouse pursuing her passion of directing movies. Too stand out of the crowd baby mouse join the film club in her middle school. Of course things don't go exactly as imagined. She has a hard to work with crew and small budget. With a plot twist and graphics on every page this book is great for readers who want an easy to read book and more imagery.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 8:47 pm44 stars
              This book was really cute. I related to the main character a lot; I think everyone in middle school and in highschool has a hard time finding their place and finding out who their friends are. I'm pretty sure everyone at some point has always wanted to be famous. This was a cute, quick read that was worth the 30 minutes it took me to read it.
              • jso6
                jso6Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 9:46 am22 stars
                In this book, Babymouse wants to stand out in Middle School, so she joins a film-making club. She becomes the director, and works with her friends to make the movie of her dreams.
                • dorks_r_us
                  dorks_r_usMonday, June 25, 2018 at 1:48 pm44 stars
                  This is a funny book. All about a mouse named Babymouse and she joins the film club. She gets chosen as the director of a movie, then she trouble finds Babymouse!
                  • fluffyunicorn08
                    fluffyunicorn08Monday, June 25, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                    This book is about baby mouse and school I decided to read it because I love the baby mouse series and I really enjoyed it.
                    • jeffdaboss
                      jeffdabossFriday, June 15, 2018 at 7:14 am44 stars
                      Babymouse was a nice book to read. It's about the titular Babymouse, most popular for her graphic novels about her in elementary school, taking on middle school. She talks about how she wants to stand out in middle school but doesn't know how. Then, she joins the film club with all of her friends. She becomes the director of the movie that will debut at the middle school later on in the year. She takes on difficult tasks, like her diva actress or the insufficient setting, to make the movie of her dreams. But when she starts acting like a diva, her movie falls apart. She tries to save the movie, but she's not sure how. This book has good themes but the ending wasn't satisfying.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255