Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that’s perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw!

Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can’t possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California—the Bigfoot Capital of the World—where she’s forced to live with a grandfather she’s never met after her mother passes away.

Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, they set out on an epic adventure to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film. But along the way, Lem and Tobin end up discovering more than they ever could have imagined. And Lem realizes that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all.

"I love books about feisty girls and nerdy boys. Melissa Savage's astoundingly good debut novel is packed with humor, mystery, friendship, family secrets, and even Bigfoot! I think you'll love it, too." —Karen Cushman, Newbery Medalist for The Midwife's Apprentice

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by Crown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524700126
ISBN-13: 9781524700126
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 9:21 am44 stars
    Lemonade (Lem) meets Tobin when she moves to her grandfather's house after her mother died. Tobin lets Lem join his Bigfoot Detectives Inc., and they set out together to find Bigfoot. This is a fun and interesting book.
    • bookwormilg
      bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:58 am
      I am SO excited to read this book! I read the summary and reviews and it seems like a great summer read! As soon as I order a copy, or get one from my public library, I am going to dive in! Seems SO fun, and enjoyable!
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:22 pm55 stars
        I finished this a couple of hours ago but I feel good saying that this has become one of my favorite books of the year and of all time! This was such a beautiful, hilarious, heartbreaking, and heartwarming read and I want anyone who is reading this review to go get yourself a copy now because this is a book every reader needs in their lives and on their shelves. I'll have a lot more to say in my Book Thoughts video for this but goodness was this an epic read.
        • auntieb
          auntiebFriday, June 15, 2018 at 12:24 pm55 stars
          Lemons is a fun read about a girl named Lemonade who has recently lost her mother.And then has to move to her grandfather she's never met, where she meets a boy named Tobin who is searching for the bigfoot! And doesn't know where his father is. Join them as they hunt down bigfoot together!
          • tybook2018
            tybook2018Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 5:29 pm
            lemon is a sour book that is really fun to read. I like it because its full of adventure and fun. And I also like it because of it really sour too!! ha ha ha
            • eybook2018
              eybook2018Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 5:06 pm
              Lemons is a very fun and adventurous book that I enjoy reading very much. It made me a bit sour just thinking about the sourness of the lemon.
              • springchick114
                springchick114Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 9:14 am55 starsFeatured
                I LOVED LEMONS! It made me hungry at first, and I had to go get some lemon meringue pie and lemon juice. I started reading the book and got SO INTO IT! I couldn't put the book down. I loved how it had a little romance, a lot of adventure, and some parts where you think, "Have I had lunch yet?". I recommend this to 5th graders and above, because there are some tough words in here. I loved this book and I am so glad I was able to read it! It is a great book for book reports, because the story is very informative and descriptive. HAPPY READING!
                • extrememsb
                  extrememsbTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 3:11 pm44 stars
                  Ever wonder if Bigfoot is true or not? Follow Lemonade ( Lem) Liberty Witt and Tobin Sky on an adventure that awaits about Bigfoot. As you see Lem's mother died right in front of her eyes. Now she is sent to live with her grandfather in Willow Creek.When she reaches her new home, she meets this unusual boy named Tobin Sky. Tobin is the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc. later she becomes assistant of Bigfoot Detectives Inc. They get a lot of calls from their neighbors regarding Bigfoot sightings. They find a footprint which they believe to think is Bigfoot's footprint. They also find fur. They also believe that the fur also belongs to Bigfoot. They were even on Channel Four News! She later figures out that Tobin's dad was in the army. He was missing in action. She also figured out that Tobin misses him a lot.At the end she learns to make some good happen when bad things are going on. I thought that this was a very meaningful book. It contains a very important message. You can put the message this way: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. this book was awesome! It was probably one of my favorites!
                  • georgiasilver
                    georgiasilverMonday, June 11, 2018 at 7:56 pm
                    This book looks intriguing and funny at the same time. Im interested to see why the boy is holding binoculars, and the girl is holding lemons to her eyes. I would loveeee to read this if only I could try to find it. I have a lot to read this summer! :)
                    • casgirl
                      casgirlFriday, June 8, 2018 at 8:42 pm44 stars
                      This is a heart warming book about finding your place in the world and finding where you belong. Lemonade Liberty's mama passes away and she goes to stay with her grandpa and a Bigfoot detective. At first she thinks that they are both loony. But in the end she ends up liking, even loving it there.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255